We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't fault it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cambridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Couldn't fault it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I stayed for 2 nights and had an excellent stay: the room was clean and comfortable, everything worked, the staff were helpful...I was even greeted with a smile and 'Good morning' at 6.30am. My room overlooked the carpark but I didnt hear any late-arriving guests. The evening meals were excellent value: perfectly-cooked steak and chips for instance. The free wi-fi was a pre-requisite for my stay and worked well with a little help from the staff. The taxis arrived promptly but it costs £10 to get into the city. I will be happily staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 946JJ19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    286
    141
    34
    18
See reviews for
130
202
27
171
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for one Sunday night after a wedding. On entering we we spoke to a very nice lady behind reception. Our room was on the first floor. Having only paid £52 for the room, with breakfast included, I was most impressed. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was lovely. The one thing I wall say is if you are looking for a city centre hotel this may not be the best for you. To get a cab in to the city centre costs about £10 so you are looking at a £20 round trip.
I would stay he again and the hotel has changed my girlfriend opinion of Holiday inn express hotels.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Expensive enough but I wasn't paying - probably one of the best business hotels in Cambridge - sorry travelodge!
Room great - very functional, big telly, very comfortable bed, nice sofa, decent bathroom, though the toilet was smelly. Shower warm - all the soap supplied. No fridge

Staff friendly and helpful
Little understaffed at Brekky - often no cutlery to stir stuff - restocking of empty areas etc.
Free breakfast was good. Hot option a bit dull after 1 day. Fried eggs, boiled eggs, bacon, anything other than Sausage, scrambled egg and beans would be good for variety.
No comp water was disapointing - seems pretty standard these days.
Free internet was slow - which is poor for a business hotel

Docked 1 point because of Internet, water and hot breakfast variety (sorry)

Was on business. Spent a week in the hotel - arrived and was given early check in. The staff were really helpful giving details on how to get to Cambridge (about 2 miles away).
Got to walk on an closed cycle path(scary at night but safe I guess), followed by a walk down the interesting Mill Road into Cambridge center.

I didn't eat dinner in the hotel based on the breakfast - hint to hotel -> supply a better breakfast and reap the reward at dinner time.

The reception folk were really helpful ringing taxi and also ringing the airport at checkout.

All in all good quality hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor - if are fit enough to get up the stairs! You might see the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights, checked in by a very pleasant lady i think her name was Roxana?
Room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was good and there is free wifi throughout the hotel.
Good location, pretty central. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sally d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

After reading reviews, I was somewhat hesitant about booking here, however, it was an "only option" decision and so I was impressed when I arrived to find friendly staff and a clean hotel. I was offered a complimentary cup of coffee while I waited for my room and the staff were friendly and helpful.

The room was quite large, the bed was big, fresh and clean and I had no problems here whatsoever.

The only downside is that it's a little out of the city centre and the price is a little high for a Holiday Inn.

All in all though, a decent night's sleep.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EatMyArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I should have researched better myself but the inn is far from the sights I wanted to visit. But the staff were rude when I asked transport questions and would look away rather than pay attention when I walked up to the reception desk - it was too hard for them to help me find out information to make my stay enjoyable. I cannot recommend - and the food was indeed very ordinary,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCambridge, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Elizabeth B,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am so sorry to hear that the service and meals were not to your expectations. I am very concerned regarding the service from the reception desk as we do have a wide selection of maps and recommendations on Cambridge attractions, and this is certainly not representative of our normal standards from our friendly team.
Regarding our dinner menu, we do have a menu which changes seasonally including a variety of options such as Steaks, Burgers, pasta dishes, curries etc.We will always try our best to accomodate any requests that you may have, should you visit us again.
Once again thank you for your feedback, Kind Regards Kate and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.3 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#13 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,618 reviews
1.8 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#4 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cambridge City East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cambridge

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
Address: Unit 15-17 Coldhams Business Park Norman Way | Norman Way, Cambridge CB1 3LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cambridge 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a peaceful stay at the modern Holiday Inn Express Cambridge hotel, just 2 miles from Cambridge city centre. Holiday Inn Express Cambridge is a good-value choice with free Wi-Fi, newly refurbished bedrooms with comfort cooling, free onsite parking, a daily complimentary continental breakfast with hot items served in our sociable Great Room and discounted local fitness centre rates. Our handy location means you are just 15 minutes from the heart of historic Cambridge with its river punting and university buildings. Host a presentation in one of Holiday Inn Express Cambridge's 3 naturally lit meeting rooms, all with free wireless Internet. We're easy for your delegates to reach, just 24 miles from Stansted Airport on the M11 and 1.5 miles from Cambridge train station. It's just a short walk from the hotel to meetings with companies based in Coldhams Business Park. Cambridge's focal point is its beautiful university campus, packed with medieval college buildings and the Gothic King's College Chapel. Sail along the tranquil River Cam by punt for a city tour with a difference, passing picturesque parks and beautiful bridges. After a day's sightseeing, sink into a leather sofa in Holiday Inn Express Cambridge's welcoming Great Room, where helpful staff will take your order for dinner. The Great Room opens out onto a peaceful terrace and garden and you can mingle over drinks till late in our sociable bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Cambridge Holiday Inn
Express Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing