We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rated very good for the lounge area and the breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Rated very good for the lounge area and the breakfast”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

On the plus side:
No noise, air conditioning, coffee/ tea in room, free wifi, nice big lounge area where breakfast takes place, rabbits outside the lounge area, very good breakfast, good coffee, nice big fluffy towels in the bathroom, soap dispenser (saves on soap), coffee/ tea in room. Also nice location, not too far from the centre of town.

On the negative side:
Staff always seem to be very/ too busy, frazzled. They were pleasant but always running. The bartender in particular was tending bar in the evening, taking orders for the restaurant, was also the waitress, and was also the cash register for the snacks, so I ended up waiting quite a while just to pay for a chocolate bar.

Very small room - we had a double bed and the sofa bed was open (equivalent of another double bed) and we couldn't pull the chair to the table, and once our suitcases were on the floor there was about 8 inches to navigate between the bed and the suitcases. Everything was bolted down so we couldn't move things around to try to arrange the space a bit better. Small tv on the wall.

I also noticed dust on the tables in our room, as well as at the bottom of the elevator doors when they close. So could be a bit cleaner, but I should say that the breakfast area was spotless, there is someone in the morning taking care of the area and they do a great job, tables are cleaned immediately when customers leave, the breakfast area is always clean, we came in at the end of breakfast time and there was plenty of everything available.

Other:
From reading other reviews where this seems to matter to people, there is only a shower, no bath - I like taking showers so this doesn't matter to me.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank busymothertoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    301
    147
    33
    19
See reviews for
137
209
28
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed in a family room, which was fine for our needs (exploring Cambs for a weekend). Junior loved her fold out sofa bed and slept well.

The breakfast was fine there was more than enough food, and a nice choice of food for breakfast, the coffee machine was a little disappointing. It would be nice if a pot of filter coffee could be available instead of the Kenco machine with what tasted like instant coffee in various guises. But I was pleased to see fresh fruit was available.

Sadly Both hubby and I sadly slept terribly, we could both feel the springs in the mattress - ouch!! And it was far too bouncy/soft, we rolled into a dip in the middle, and thus both slept teetering on the edge of the mattress to stop rolling into the middle all night long.

I left feeling like I need an appointment with the chiropractor sadly.

However the staff were lovely, the rooms were clean and it was a good base if driving/ bussing in and out of Cambs.

No problems from the airport, it was very quiet actually.

Room Tip: Rooms at the beck have a nice view of a lake and trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCambridge, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Clare,

It is disappointing to read in your review that you had an uncomforatble nights sleep. Our hotel received new beds last summer however following your comments we will certainly look into the comfort of our mattresses provided so we can provide the best experience possible. It is really nice to hear however that you enjoyed the lovely service from our team, and of course that the younger member of your family liked the sofa bed! Thank you for taking the time to post the feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you and your family again soon! Kind Regards Kate and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed here overnight on way back from France. Hotel was typical H.I Express, very clean with a good breakfast selection. Only drawback was that our room overlooked the kitchen so we had to put up with noise from the kitchen extract fans all night.

Room Tip: Avoid room 201 as it is above the kitchens
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCambridge, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Derek,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay. I am pleased to hear that you found the hotel in a convenient location on your journey! Regarding your comment on the room you stayed in, I am sorry that you were disturbed by noise from the kitchens. This is something that we will take on board and monitor to ensure that the fans are not producing an excessive amount of noise. I hope that you will visit us again as we are more than happy to allocate a room in your preferred area, Kind Regards Kate and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Firstly, upon arrival, I found that the central reservation centre had cancelled my 3 day booking and not notified anyone. Lucky they had a room available, however it is only a twin.

Room is clean and bright, if not a little small, with no bath.

By 19:30pm, they had run out of BBQ ribs, which was the only appealing meal on a very basic menu. I ordered a pork starter which somehow left the kitchen looking more like a plate of coal. The charcoal was flaking off into my mouth as I bit into the 'meat', so I returned it and skipped to my main. The manager was agreeable that the dish was over-cooked and did take it from my bill and provide a free drink.

The steak main was tasty although the peppercorn sauce was lumpy and sat in a puddle of oil......

The staff are great, especially at front desk, but the chef badly let's them down. The bar/restaurant is small and depressing.

This is somewhere to rest your head, but a million miles away from home.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon1Jon1Jon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCambridge, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. I am really sorry to hear about the inconvenience caused during your check in, and regarding the quality of the evening meal. Please be assured this is not our normal standard, and your feedback will be taken on board and discussed with team members so that we can ensure our meals are enjoyed by our guests.
It is pleasing however that our team on duty resolved your concerns at the time and thank you for your feedback about the service and the cleanliness of the room. I hope that we may get another chance to see you in Cambridge again,Kind Regards Kate and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Booked at fairly short notice with limited options available for a family of 5 but no regrets. Interconnecting rooms and sofa beds always welcome bonuses. Service from check in onwards was first class, great wifi etc. On the edge of town, best to have a car.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Several issues here. Firstly location..at the end of a very busy airport runway, and a 10-15 UK pound taxi ride from Cambridge town centre. Lifts not working when we stayed, and the room rate for our dates for arrival on the day 200 UK pounds. Way way over priced!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCambridge, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear MarkC,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am sorry to hear that the lift was out of order during your stay. This was due to a mechanical fault which has now been rectified. In the meantime, our team were offering assistance with luggage so I apologize if you were not aware of this service.
Regarding our location, we are 2 miles outside of the city centre and although there is a small airport a mile away from the hotel, this does not normally cause a problem as aircraft only fly in/out twice per day. I do understand that in Cambridge the prices are generally quite high for hotel rooms, there is a discount available if you book on our Advance Purchase rate- I hope that you will visit again and give us another chance to meet your expectations, Kind Regards Kate and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed here during Graduation time when the prices of hotels virtually double, or worse (we were offered rooms in other hotels at 3 times what we paid for this). Ok it's a bit out of town, but it's clean and tidy, the beds are very comfy, the staff are helpful and the inclusive breakfast is excellent even though you have to go and get it yourself. Only downside was that the lift still wasn't working and we were on the 2nd floor! You can get away with a £10 taxi fare into the city centre but if you go at busy times (which basically is all day till around 9pm) you'll pay a lot more. This is more than outweighed by the savings on the hotel price and all in all we were very pleasantly surprised at how well everything worked out (apart from the lift that is!)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeandAlyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCambridge, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear GeorgeandAlyson,

Thanks for your lovely review of our hotel! It is great to hear that you liked the staff and breakfast, and the convenient short taxi journey into the city centre. The whole team will be delighted to hear your positive comments despite our issue with the lift during that time, and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Cambridge soon! Kind Regards Kate and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#13 of 36 in Cambridge
1,020 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
1.6 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
1.7 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#3 of 36 in Cambridge
422 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cambridge

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
Address: Unit 15-17 Coldhams Business Park Norman Way | Norman Way, Cambridge CB1 3LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cambridge 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a peaceful stay at the modern Holiday Inn Express Cambridge hotel, just 2 miles from Cambridge city centre. Holiday Inn Express Cambridge is a good-value choice with free Wi-Fi, well-equipped bedrooms with comfort cooling and free onsite parking. A continental buffet breakfast with hot items is included for all guests and is served in our sociable Great Room. Our handy location means you are just 15 minutes from the heart of historic Cambridge with its river punting and university buildings. Host a presentation in one of Holiday Inn Express Cambridge's 3 naturally lit meeting rooms, all with free Wi-Fi. We're easy for your delegates to reach, just 24 miles from Stansted Airport on the M11 and 1.5 miles from Cambridge train station. It's just a short walk from the hotel to meetings with companies based in Coldhams Business Park. Cambridge's focal point is its beautiful university campus, packed with medieval college buildings and the Gothic King's College Chapel. Sail along the tranquil River Cam by punt for a city tour with a difference, passing picturesque parks and beautiful bridges. After a day's sightseeing, sink into a leather sofa in Holiday Inn Express Cambridge's welcoming Great Room, where helpful staff will take your order for dinner. The Great Room opens out onto a peaceful terrace and garden and you can mingle over drinks till late in our sociable bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Cambridge Holiday Inn
Express Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing