We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel will be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Merseyside
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel will be back”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in this very modern and clean hotel. The staff were, very polite, helpful, and always took time to smile and say hello. The room was great very clean and very tidy. The breakfast was ample, lots of choices and everything on there was fresh and always fully replenished! The position of the hotel is great and the park and ride into Cambridge itself is great! Overall experience was lovely would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank doubledlite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    296
    146
    33
    19
See reviews for
136
204
28
177
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed for one night as we wanted to look around Cambridge. It was around a 30 min walk to the centre or you park in one of the multistory car parks. Prices extortionate !!
Nice big room, clean bathroom, comfy bed, tea and coffee. Breakfast was fine, some not available Although no bacon, no choice of fruit either but OK and most of what you expect for breakfast.
Staff very good and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueMiller58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Two night stay whilst visiting Cambridge. The hotel is modern and clean. Staff pleasant and very helpful. Rooms basic but all there. Breakfast adequate, we did not try the Dinner. The position is on a modern industrial / retail park close to the airport, although we did not notice any noise.
Only real downside was the lack of an adjacent bus route to Cambridge City Centre, although taxi fare was only £10 each way which was fine for four people, and only took approximately 15 minutes.
Best summed up as functional without frills.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sumptners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Great room and facilities. Inclusive breakfast very tasty.

Free wifi and rooms cleaned daily. Can't complain, great value.

Loses 1 star for:
No batteries in tv remote.
Cards to enter rooms needed reprogramming 3 times (pain).
Elevator out of service whole stay.

Would strongly recommend.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kieran D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCambridge, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Kieran,

Thanks for your recent review of the hotel, and it is great to hear that you enjoyed our inclusive breakfast and Free Wi-Fi. I hope that our team were able to assist you with the issues you have mentioned during your stay and I am sorry again that our lift was out of order during your visit. I hope this does not deter you from choosing our hotel in the future, and thanks again for your feedback. Kind Regards Kate and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed for two nights whilst visiting family in the area found the hotel to have a friendly atmosphere especially the female staff who were always smiling and happy to help. The breakfast was adequate with a great choice, fresh, ample and replenished during busy times. Bedroom was clean, quiet (car parking facing) and comfortable and adequate for our needs. Would definitely stay here again on our next visit

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCambridge, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Greg,

Great to hear you had an excellent stay with us recently! It is brilliant to hear that you found the room clean and comfortable, and that you enjoyed our Express Start Breakfast Buffet. I will make sure your feedback is passed onto the female team members that you mentioned were helpful and smiley during your stay,although I am sure they have already seen your review! Hopefully we will see you again soon, Kind Regards Kate and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Present from our daughter what a brilliant stay. The staff were very helpful, polite and friendly. The free breakfast was extensive and very filling. The room was clean, fresh and very comfortable. After a tiring day we had dinner in their restaurant once again excellent service and lovely food especially the white chocolate ice-cream bombe. Best nights sleep we have had in a hotel for ages. Tucked quietly away but nice and close to Cambridge and local tourist spots. Definitely coming again one night not long enough. Well done Holiday Inn

Room Tip: We had a twin bedded room which was very spacious with good facilities overlooking a lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1maghop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCambridge, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
On behalf of the whole team, thank you very much for your lovely feedback following your stay with us. I am really pleased to hear that you found the hotel convenient for sightseeing in the city and of course that you enjoyed the dinner service and inclusive Express Start breakfast buffet. We look forward to your next visit to Cambridge! Kind Regards Kate and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I attended the Cambridge Folk Festival with my husband and adult son and as the hotel was within a half hour walk of site this was a suitable choice. Very new and clean,friendly staff and good value for money. Buffet breakfast on the first day was very busy and we had to wait for a table but the other 3 mornings were quieter. The breakfast was adequate but the pastry and bread products were of a disappointing quality. Our son slept in our room on a sofa bed so there was little room to move around but this did not matter as we spent little time there. Good pillows and bedding and the bed was comfortable but the sofa bed was not so good. I felt that 1 tea bag each was a little mean (although you could request more from reception) and why such cheap toilet paper? Seems false economy to me when everything else was good. Excellent for a one or two night stay but with little hanging space for clothes the room couldn't cope with all our clothes!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCambridge, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Andrea,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay during the Cambridge Folk Festival. It is great to hear that you and your family found the room and services suitable for your visit. I am sorry to read your feedback on the quality of the Croissants, and I will pass the comments onto our Breakfast team to ensure we monitor this. I will also take your feedback on board regarding the comfort of the sofa bed in the rooms. However I am pleased to hear that our Reception team were able to assist with providing extra teabags for you, we are always available 24 hours a day.
I hope that myself and the team will be able to welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit to Cambridge, Kind Regards Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#12 of 36 in Cambridge
1,000 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
1.6 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
1.7 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
410 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cambridge City East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cambridge

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
Address: Unit 15-17 Coldhams Business Park Norman Way | Norman Way, Cambridge CB1 3LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cambridge 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a peaceful stay at the modern Holiday Inn Express Cambridge hotel, just 2 miles from Cambridge city centre. Holiday Inn Express Cambridge is a good-value choice with free Wi-Fi, newly refurbished bedrooms with comfort cooling, free onsite parking, a daily complimentary continental breakfast with hot items served in our sociable Great Room and discounted local fitness centre rates. Our handy location means you are just 15 minutes from the heart of historic Cambridge with its river punting and university buildings. Host a presentation in one of Holiday Inn Express Cambridge's 3 naturally lit meeting rooms, all with free wireless Internet. We're easy for your delegates to reach, just 24 miles from Stansted Airport on the M11 and 1.5 miles from Cambridge train station. It's just a short walk from the hotel to meetings with companies based in Coldhams Business Park. Cambridge's focal point is its beautiful university campus, packed with medieval college buildings and the Gothic King's College Chapel. Sail along the tranquil River Cam by punt for a city tour with a difference, passing picturesque parks and beautiful bridges. After a day's sightseeing, sink into a leather sofa in Holiday Inn Express Cambridge's welcoming Great Room, where helpful staff will take your order for dinner. The Great Room opens out onto a peaceful terrace and garden and you can mingle over drinks till late in our sociable bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Lastminute, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Cambridge Holiday Inn
Express Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing