We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ashley Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Cambridge(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
US$115
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Helen Hotel(Cambridge)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$235
US$227
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Felix(Cambridge)
US$171
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$269
US$242
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Regent Hotel(Cambridge)
US$206
US$155
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$113
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Cambridge (A14, J32) Hotel(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
US$103
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
US$56
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveller rating
32
98
41
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
98
41
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarundel hotelsister propertycity centrejesus greenfree parkingsend someonecar park at the backcooked breakfastnice hoteltea and coffee making facilitieslovely big roombreakfast was excellentfull englishthe riverleave the carplenty of parkingsingle bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 196 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We have stayed at the Ashley many times as it is very clean, large rooms with en suite.
The staff are always eager to please and friendly.
The car park is free with plenty of space.
Th Ashley is well located for the city centre with a 10 minute scenic walk.

Very cosy. We can't wait for our next stay!
Oh and the full English breakfast is lovely!!

Room Tip: Facing the car park, lovely views of the slated roofs and tall chimneys. Quieter facing the back.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Ashley for four nights with an infant, while she was attending an academic conference related to her work. The place has charm (if outdated) and the staff are quite nice, creating a warm atmosphere.

However, they need to work a bit more on service and accommodation. For example, there was no staff member on duty at reception for much of the day, creating a set of problems (e.g. wait to check in, nowhere to leave bags). The shower drain and one window closure were broken, there were no drawers to put clothes in, and no clock in the room. It wasn't uncomfortable, or seriously problematic, and was relatively inexpensive, but these seem to me to be little things that could and should be easily remedied.

I should add, that the hotel location is quite good, with easy access to the center of the city and all the sights, and although we couldn't partake for dietary reasons, the traditional English breakfast that is served in the morning looked excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MKChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

After reading some of the reviews on Trip Advisor I was slightly apprehensive about visiting the Ashley hotel. However I was pleasantly surprised as the room was large and spacious. The bathroom had excellent facilities - the shower was brilliant. It was great value for money - the breakfast was made to order and the my tastes were accomodated for. The only slight down side was that some of the staff were slightly unhelpful. In all in all it was a great place to stay and we would definately recommend this hotel.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
Thank JanA2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

There were a lot of black hairs next to the pedestal in the shower room which wasn't very nice. The catch on the fire escape window had the screws coming out and neither window had any type of security lock on it and as a builder I know these are very simple to slide the catch across to enter our room, we therefore had to take our valuables out of the room and back to the car. I noticed other windows did have extra security of which there are many varieties. We could not park in the car park so after carrying all our cases to the hotel I then found I had to carry them all through one side of the hotel across and up the other side, nobody thinking to tell us an easier way. No instructions for the safe, a tiny television with a note saying it would be changed 2 months ago, this was also unplugged from the aerial and the lead was not connected properly to the transformer, all of which I didn't really
want the trouble of figuring out. All of these things added to it not being a pleasant stay. We were told we could check out at the ashley but there was nobody there and the shutters were down so we had to go back up to the room to leave the key card.
All in all not worth £75 a night. The security they mention is nothing more than a car park attendant. I complained twice and got no response whatsoever, which just about sums up their customer services. There are plenty of other better hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hotelinspector5659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Comfortable, small guesthouse. Arrived in Cambridge with no accommodation booked. Found the Ashley through enquiries to the Arundel Hotel which was booked out. Our room was basic but comfortable and clean and we stayed for a further two nights. It was a short walk into centre of Cambridge and so we left our car in the carpark at the rear of the guesthouse. Staff appear to be on duty only in the morning but this was not a problem for us. Cooked breakfast was available, served up by very pleasant and friendly staff. We thought it was good value for money and would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greenguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews