We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stupid way to book into the hotel”
Review of Ashley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ashley Hotel
Ranked #21 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Cambridge
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Stupid way to book into the hotel”
Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

When we buzzed on the intercom we got told we had to travel to the sister hotel "Arundel Hotel" which is quarter of a mile up the road to collect the keys. It should be staff meeting me, not me packing my bags into the car to drive up the road. Room was everything you'd want but think we got the smallest room so not worth the money. Breakfasts was nice and staff (when there) fast and efficient. Overall, I think we could have got somewhere better for the same price.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wpage68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    89
    38
    12
    9
See reviews for
25
97
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aussie
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We had 2 nights a the Ashley and found it most enjoyable. Our room was quite large and was well appointed. Bathroom was clean and quite adequate. It was good to have car parking within the hotel grounds. Breakfasts were lovely. Hotel is well situated and we where able to easily walk to many of the attractions Cambridge has to offer. A slight negative was that we had to book in via a nearby hotel and then make our way across to the Ashley. This added extra pressure as we had had a long day of traveling. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone who was visiting Cambridge.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieSuzie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We arrived in Cambridge in the afternoon and spent hours hunting for a hotel. Everything was full. We were about to drive out of Cambridge when we drove past the Ashley. Fortunately they had a room that could accommodate our family of four. Checkin was down the road at their main hotel.

The rooms were very clean and comfortable. It was a minor hassle to get our bags to the room due to the layout of the hotel - this is obviously two individual buildings that have been merged and so to get to the far side room requires traversing two staircases between the basement crossover.

Breakfast was very good. There is good off-street parking at the rear of the hotel.

Overall this is a clean and comfortable hotel which is well suited to anyone with a car. Pricing was very reasonable for family accommodation that included a full breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedDogAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night had 2 rooms. You have to check in at another hotel about 5min walk away as there is no reception at this hotel which wasnt really a big issue. When we got to the Ashley only 1 of our rooms was actually ready the other room hadnt been cleaned at all, the housekeeper was very apologetic and got it ready as quickly as possible. Requests that we had made had not been met which was a rather annoying. If you wanted to eat then again you have to go to the other hotel down the road. Other than that the rooms were spacious and clean the bed was very comfy. We were at the front of the hotel and had no issues with noise from outside at all. Once they have finished the refurb im sure it will be very nice. I have stated in the title that i do feel it was over-priced considering lack of facilities there but thi may be due to the olympics

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelle190281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I read through the reviews for this hotel before we travelled and have to confess was a bit troubled! However I need not have worried we were greeted by a friendly member of staff who was very efficient. We are a family of three (2 adults and one tall11 year old) we were delighted with the size of the room (quite spacious) and cleanliness, the ensuite was clean and large and we had a seperate toilet. There were 3 single beds which were very pleased about, my Husband and I are quite tall people and find travelling around and sleeping in a normal size double bed quite uncomfortable.It was quite warm in the room but that was purely down to the warm weather we are currently having and once the windows were opened the room cooled down. Yes it is on the main road and there is traffic but we were staying in the city of Cambridge it was never going to be quiet. I have read alot about the lack of facilities within the hotel, well again we went to see Cambridge not the inside of a Hotel and were out most of the time and it is within reasonable walking distance of the city centre and we did not need to use the car which was safely parked at the hotel. Breakfast was good and quickly served. We would have no qualms about staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

This is the worst Hotel(B&B) in Cambridge unless you like 80's decor, check in is not even the same Hotel, need a Taxi Ride to the Main Hotel Arundel, staff are clueless about customer service, Long trip heavy bags you are on your own with this one. Situated next to a main road so heavy traffic noise (no double glazing) Beds are so uncomfortable room stuffy,internet does not work.

I don't have anything good to say about this Hotel(B&B) but If John Cleese had stayed here we might of had the hit Comedy called Ashley.

It is a Bed and Breakfast NOT A HOTEL!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't Stay if Possible No Air Con, No Staff on site, Beds Uncomfortable, Noisy Road, Invoice was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T0mKennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

The hotel is clean, undergoing refurbishment and redecoration. The room was adequate with a recently refurbished ensuite. However, the bed and pillows were very uncomfortable. Take you own! The staff are friendly and it is in an excellent location. A lovely stroll across Jesus Green into the city. Unfortunately The Ashley is only an annex so is only staffed in the mornings, for check-in & check-out you need to go to the main hotel about 10 mins walk away. There was no mention of this in the booking information. Your bill is prepared in advance and presented to you on your final morning. This may be a good service for some, but beware, if you want specific arrangement e.g. a split bill for two families, they pay no attention to your request and you have to make a trip to the main hotel to get it changed. The residents lounge is just a collection of chairs more like a waiting room. Ostensibly, this hotel is just bedrooms and a breakfast room annex for another hotel. Breakfast is very good but the portions vary from day to day, there is no set portion size. It seems to be a hotel without its own identity. When the owners sort this out, it will probably be very good.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Arundel House Hotel
Arundel House Hotel
#24 of 36 in Cambridge
706 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Lensfield
The Lensfield
#22 of 36 in Cambridge
376 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
430 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Cambridge Hotel
Royal Cambridge Hotel
#18 of 36 in Cambridge
571 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley Hotel

Property: Ashley Hotel
Address: 74 Chesterton Road, Cambridge CB4 1ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ashley Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Ashley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashley Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing