We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does what it says on the tin”
Review of Ashley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ashley Hotel
Ranked #22 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Belvedere, Kent
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Does what it says on the tin”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

This establishment is well located - five minutes by bus to city centre from bus stop 20 yards from door; twenty minute walk along the river. Shops, including Co-Op nearby. Nice pub with food, Old Spring, next door.
The place is due a refurb, which, according to notice, is imminent. Our basement room was spacious, including easy chairs and table. The bathroom was small but clean with an easily operated shower. The drain was rather smelly and was brought to the attention of staff.
The breakfast was reasonable with a selection of cereals, juice, yoghurt, and cooked to order eggs, bacon, sausages etc. Our scrambled eggs were cooked to perfection. How about some dried and or fresh fruit to go with the cereals? The two ladies looking after us were chirpy and polite.
The building is on a not too busy main road so if this is likely to bother you ask for a room at the rear.
We would stay here again. I would rate the hotel as good but the option is not available. How about it TripAdvisor?

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Joebelvedere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    86
    36
    12
    9
See reviews for
24
95
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mannedorf, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We needed just one night on our way through England.
As we arrived we were very courtiously greeted by the owner, in this case father and son.
They made us feel welcome right away and our luggage (a lot) was carried to our room. As a non native English speaking it was a real joy to listen to the superb English spoken by the family.
The hotel is really a nice and funny little place. You will discover all sorts of nice and different furniture, rooms etc all over the place.
We had ordered 2 rooms with a spare bed for our family, but during the day the hotel changed it to one big room or more like it an apartment at the top. In fact we had the top of the hotel all by ourselves including a nice terrace with a beautiful view over the large garden. The apartment consisted of 3 rooms with own bathrooms and it was certainly large enough for the 5 of us.
Everything was very clean and tidy and from en interior design perspective there is probably only the English who can manage to get order and design out of a virtual mix of all sorts of styles and designs, but it all looks really nice and again, very clean and orderly.
A lovely hotel if you are going to Cambridge to explore this wonderful city.
The hotel had just installed a new and faster intranet and this was one of the best we have ever experienced. No frills and it was fast enough for a family where everybody is surfing, playing and downloading.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesper B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

As Aussie travellers, we chose The Ashley after having a really bad Airbnb experience in Cambridge. Lovely big room that would sleep 3 nicely. Very clean, although the only downfall was that there was no shower, only a bath (with no handheld shower head) A great bed and breakfast deal for 85 Pounds per night with on site parking which is a good deal for Cambridge as parking is scarce.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the ground floor as there is no lift and stairs are narrow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simone M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night and had the quietest nights' sleep for ages. I agree that it is more of an annex to the main hotel but for ease of access to Cambridge centre and an excellent breakfast it was superb.
The rooms could do with a full update but they are clean and when they do update the price will rise! We were in room 8 on the second floor and it is a steep climb if you have a suitcase but it faced the rear away from the main road.
Will definitely stay again for an overnight, as long as the price remains good value

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paulcambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We have been visiting Cambridge several times a year for the last three years as our son has been at University. The Ashley has been a frequent stop over for us when picking him up and dropping off him off. Cambridge is an extremely expensive place to stay so value for money the Ashley ticks the box good breakfast ,free parking,good location and helpful staff at the nearby Arundel. The hotel is a bed and breakfast not a hotel and could do with some TLC.What puzzles me is that they have had the same sign up saying the hotel is under extensive refurbishment and to please bear with them. Mm it must be extensive as i haven't seen any sign of refurbishment the whole time we have visited. It generally needs the owners to invest some much needed money into it and get some new cleaners. For a short stay you could do alot worse.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patty_44444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

To describe Ashley as a hotel is a misnomer. There are no staff on site until breakfast time and one has to book in at the Arundal Hotel prior to arrival at the Ashley.. The most bizarre aspect is that one cannnot access the room until 3pm; This arrangement is not customer friendly for those wishing to change or freshen up before seeing the sights. The residence itself is clean and tidy, with high ceilings, most mod cons and free wi-fi. Cambridge is a vastly over-priced city and therefore the Ashley is reasonably priced for the locale.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dillonalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albourne, West Sussex, UK
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed just one night as we had a posh meal booked round the corner. It's perfect if you 're eating at Midsummer House, just a 5 minute walk down a quiet road to the river. The rooms are clean and have everything you need. TV and free Wi-Fi provided. As others have noted, this little hotel is part of the Arundel House Hotel, where you have to book in. Breakfast is served in Ashley House though and is excellent. Although the hotel is by the busy road, the double-glazing works well and it's quiet. The hotel car park, behind, is spacious and easy to access.
I would certainly recommend for visitors who need something simple and don't plan to spend loads of time in the room itself.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room which was at the front but still quiet, and easy for bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wsxtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Arundel House Hotel
Arundel House Hotel
#24 of 36 in Cambridge
692 reviews
1.9 mi away
Helen Hotel
Helen Hotel
#23 of 36 in Cambridge
178 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Lensfield
The Lensfield
#21 of 36 in Cambridge
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Centennial Hotel
Centennial Hotel
#19 of 36 in Cambridge
245 reviews
1.0 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#3 of 36 in Cambridge
420 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley Hotel

Property: Ashley Hotel
Address: 74 Chesterton Road, Cambridge CB4 1ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Ashley Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ashley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashley Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing