We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great Evening of Cheese and Wine

A really enjoyable evening trying 7 different wine and cheese pairings. A good mix of background... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
HowardNelson
,
Cambridge, United Kingdom
via mobile
Tuesday Evening Class

I'm relatively new to Cambridge and was looking to do something social instead of sitting at home... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
mollyhI3571NE
Read all 498 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Cambridge
from US$23.00
More Info
from US$19.70
More Info
from US$21.03
More Info
from US$18.40
More Info
Reviews (498)
Filter reviews
498 results
Traveller rating
463
33
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
463
33
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine tasting wset level different wines very enjoyable evening new world wines bottle of champagne italian wines an excellent teacher wine class royal cambridge grape varieties brew house blind tasting wide range of wines food pairings host mark gift voucher
Filter
Updating list...
159 - 164 of 498 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2017

The best Tuesday night I've had in a long time! The evening exceeded my expectations. I wasn't sure whether I would enjoy just learning specifically about French wines but Mark was really engaging and the whole evening had a lovely relaxed feeling, whilst also learning quite a lot about the different regions and their distinctive wines. The interactive element of tasting 6 different wines was a lot of fun and Mark equips you to understand the different smells and tastes of each wine.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank Katrina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markanstead, Manager at Cambridgeshire Wine School, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2017

Hi Katrina and thanks so much for a great review. I love teaching wine and I'm so glad you discovered my evenings are also relaxed, sociable and fun. I hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2017

We took a two hour evening course on French wines at the Royal Cambridge Hotel and had a great experience. The session is very well pitched, very informative and feels like a tour through France as much as an experience of the wines on offer.

The host Mark does a great job of balancing some serious wine education with a very comfortable and relaxed environment and his enthusiasm makes it difficult for you to not feel passionate about learning more!

The venue was also quite charming. Fully recommend.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank Garrett B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markanstead, Manager at Cambridgeshire Wine School, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2017

Hello Garrett and thanks for such a glowing review. I am indeed passionate about helping people better understand wine and I look forward to seeing you again and helping you some more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017

Tasting a total of 13 assorted wines, learning about their origins and the label information, plus a delicious buffet lunch, all within the magnificent surroundings of one of Cambridge's Colleges, made this day a unique experience. I now realise that there is more to a bottle of wine than price & alcohol content. Quality and the reasoning behind it, is now my criteria. A wonderful day out.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank SJPoulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markanstead, Manager at Cambridgeshire Wine School, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2017

Thank you SJPoulton for your terrific review and I'm glad you enjoyed the day so much. I look forward to seeing you again, perhaps on the France vs New World tasting day or the Discover Italian wines day?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017

Learning wine tasting with Mark is a real treat. He is clearly passionate about wine and about teaching, very light-hearted but also comprehensive and practical.

Enjoying every drop of it!

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank FlaviaHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markanstead, Manager at Cambridgeshire Wine School, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2017

Hello Flavia thank you so much for your wonderful comments. You have joined the Tuesday night class for 8 evenings and I'm glad you are enjoying the course so much. I'm looking forward to hearing how much you feel you have learned by the end!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2017

Happened upon Mark's class for pairing wines with different cheeses; learned loads and most enjoyable evening. Looking forward to the next opportunity - champagne pairings (what's not to like) and for the young'n'trendy sherries with tapas.
Highly recommended- only sorry I don't live locally to join one of the evening courses.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank 330LB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markanstead, Manager at Cambridgeshire Wine School, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2017

Hello LB and thanks so much for your lovely review. For those who don't live locally I recommend my Saturday courses - 5 hours from 11am to 4pm in a lovely old Cambridge college tasting 13 wines with lunch included. People come from all over the country and often stay overnight.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews