We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stop off or place to linger” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunflower Cafe

Sunflower Cafe
Ranked #287 of 677 Restaurants in Cambridge
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great stop off or place to linger”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

If you're passing through the Cambridge area then this is a much better stop than any of the traditional services. Once you've been to Scotsdales for breakfast, lunch or tea you won't stop anywhere else.
The garden centre is one of the best centres in the country so expect to spend some money. They have a wide choice of everything you'd expect and loads of great offers.
I had a sandwich lunch there this week which was very good and served by friendly staff.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank choyp16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    13
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice Tea”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Good tea and coffee and the sandwiches are great too, they do hot meals which are also popular but I have not tried them just the chips which are good and we had them with a sandwich. Its always very busy and the tables very close together but staff friendly and helpful. Scones huge and plentiful but still left uncovered as are the majority of the cakes, I really cannot touch them at all, I like my cakes covered at all times while on display. Thats really my only gripe!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Does what it does well.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

The cafe offers a wide range of refreshments, snacks and meals at reasonable prices. With ample free parking and large grounds it is a good place to stop south of Cambridge rather than have the hassle and cost of parking and eating in the city centre. Buying plants is an optional extra.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AlandeWalden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Drip drip drip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Lunch stop off on return journey of our coach trip. Heavy rain, grateful for refuge. Cafe busy with garden enthusiasts and, I suspect people there for the lunch. Excellent value wide choice of savoury snacks and mains. Lots of cakes. Good home made soup. Found a nice table in the conservatory, customers of all ages but mostly of ours (silver surfers). Nice atmosphere. My egg sandwich very good, fellow surfer's courgette and Brie soup perhaps a bit watery but nevertheless tasty. But... When it came to pouring our herbal teas the dreaded teapot virus struck twice. Some in pot some not. Is it us? That bit aside a welcome and welcoming halt and we did have a spend in the Scotsdales Garden Centre of which the aptly named cafe is a part.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stephen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
110 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Captive dining is same everywhere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

This cafe is in he most popular Garden Centre in the Cambridge area
So it has a captive clientele of folk looking at plants they cant afford and need a rest
Its a popular place to take the old folk on a Sunday or Bank holiday
and less expensive if you dont buy plants than National Trust
The cafe in my esperience is always busy
The ambience is a bit like a Station Cafe
Few go there only to eat but most are glad of rest an a cuppa
Service is English casual and not bothered-- tables not cleared quickly
Bit slack as English like it-like being at home
Outside area faces SE so a good place to sit among the pansies if not the cabbages and peas
quality very average, prices Nat Trust level
No reason to detour no reason to avoid if visiting Garden Centre
Good place to take Gran
very few under 60

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alimac69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sunflower Cafe also viewed

 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Sunflower Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing