We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Similar experience”
Review of Benet's Cafe

Benet's Cafe
Ranked #448 of 693 Restaurants in Cambridge
Restaurant details
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Similar experience”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My experiences are similar to others I have read
The location is great, very close to Kings Parade, the food is wee presented and good tasting, but overpriced, even for Cambridge. Staff don't seem happy in their job.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    51
    34
    18
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overpriced, rude and average food”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

i paid £7 for an blue, nothing tasting ice cream (cambridge blue flavour, good lord no) and a 'vegetable tart' which to in my opinion was sainsburys basic pesto spread over some thin pastry with some olives dotted on top. its one redeeming feature is its location, but even that was obstructed by a white van. overall i wouldnt come here again, the view's not worth it and the food certainly isnt. i dont like to give terrible reviews but when the food is overpriced and the service downright rude then quite frankly benets gets what it deserves. i suggest amori or fitzbillies over this pretentious place

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Fizz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somersham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Friendly cafe with substandard food”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Shame about this café.It is in a great spot and clearly prides itself on its crepe offering except that they don't seem to know how to present an appetising crepe.The pancakes themselves were clearly precooked and not nice while the fillings were just unpleasant.Coffee was average.Service was however very friendly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KZ7Cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“'Oh I don't know'”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

At first my family and I thought great! Variety of ice cream flavors including sobets to suit everyone and dietary requirements such as dairyfree. But no! Ask and you will get ' oh I don't know about alleries...not sure...I wouldn't want to serve you' or you could get a simple rude stare.
Plus it's definitely not baby friendly with no highchairs or facilities.
At least one member of staff was smiley and friendly!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gremloid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Price based on location”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Pancake price at £6.50 with 2 fillings is high, I would say. Spinach and cheese one was freshly made, came with a bit of lightly dressed coleslaw and tasted good. Service was fine.
It's a good location opposite King's and I imagine that many visitors stop there, so doubt they'll be dropping their prices anytime soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miniminoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Benet's Cafe also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Benet's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing