We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay”
Review of 5 Chapel Street

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
5 Chapel Street
Ranked #11 of 123 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2013

5 Chapel Street is a lovely B and B with a very welcoming owner. My room was clean and peaceful, with an excellent shower. The breakfasts are worth the stay alone, with delicious home-baked breads and jams, bacon and eggs, and kedgeree on offer. The walk into town by the river was delightful, a stroll of twenty minutes or so. I hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 484Susie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine U, Owner at 5 Chapel Street, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

It was very nice to meet you too and I hope we will see you again on your next business trip to Cambridge. Thank you very much for your positive comments, much appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

This is an excellent B & B. Clean, quiet & comfortable & only a 20-minute stroll from the centre of town. Christine is not only a warm & considerate host but also an excellent cook (so breakfast means much more than the usual fare). Our only minor quibble was the size of our room which was less than large. We understand this was due to the local planning regulations when the building was converted, but it did make things a little cramped at times (and is the only reason we didn't give it the full 5 stars). But don't be put off by this comment because - having stayed in many B & Bs over many years - we are confident in giving this one a high rating.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joanandia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine U, Owner at 5 Chapel Street, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Thank you for your comments, so glad you found the room comfortable, despite its size and delighted you enjoyed the food. I hope your onward travels have also been good and that we may see you again some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The location, food and welcome was very good indeed. My only slight problem was a lack of anywhere to sit.
The only large room was already taken so we had a very small double one which has only 1 desk chair so unless you sat on the bed there was nowhere to sit. We knew in advance that the room was small but we have stayed in many B&B in this country and in Europe and at this price range there is usually a guest sitting room or outdoor area in which to relax or perhaps chat to other guests. We did try to sit in the breakfast room but this was unfortunately locked.
Overall though very good.

Room Tip: Room 1 has the most space I understand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank borrowedtheboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine U, Owner at 5 Chapel Street, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

I am glad that you had a nice weekend.
Thank you for your comments about the size - sadly there is little we can do inside the house as guests already occupy the maximum space allowed in the planning permission we were granted. I'm sorry you found the dining room door locked on the second day of your stay - we sometimes do this as a security measure against intruders through the garden. Security is a concern as we are responsible for guests belongings as well as our own. However, we always leave the key in the lock in case our guests need access to the dining room.
Maybe in future we will give garden keys to guests in summer months - you would have been most welcome to sit there and I think the weather was up to it at least some of the time you were here. We currently give a garden key to those guests that borrow our vintage bikes, so tmany thanks for this idea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We had a great stay at 5 Chapel street! Christine is a great host, and a great cook. Every morning we were offert a variety of breakfast, difficult to choose! It is a nice quiet place, easy walking distance from the city. The daily biscuits and the cold milk in our room every night were just one of the nice details what made our stay special.
Thank you Christine and Usame for borrowing us your bicycles, we had a great day in the country cycling around the country side, in the Fen ( N.P.) area
We had good email contact before arriving, and were told that room nr 3 was a bit small. But is was big enough for the 2 of us.
thank you, Ingrid and Han

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ingrid m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine U, Owner at 5 Chapel Street, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

It was lovely to meet you both and I think you were particularly lucky with the weather during your stay, it's nice to see people get out on the vintage bikes. We hope you will visit us again before too long!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Christine is a perfect hostess and a wonderful cook. Her kedgeree was superb and her homemade breads were delicious. The large room was delightful. It was easy to walk into Cambridge over the new bridge near the house, yet it was very quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine U, Owner at 5 Chapel Street, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Thank you for the compliments! Yes, we are lucky to be so close to this bridge over the River Cam, I never tire of the walk into the city centre. I hope to see you again on another visit to Cambridge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

My husband and I choose B&Bs over hotels for the personal touches that put us at home in a new place. Christine is a master of those special touches! From the delicious homemade ginger biscuits and tea in our room to the detailed directions of how to walk into town, from my husband's full English breakfast to my homemade Mueslix and fresh fruit, each detail was perfectly executed. When we mentioned that we might be interested in punting, for example, Christine made a point of calling a specific company she knew through a friend and getting all the details for us. This is what a B&B should be!

In terms of practical details, we stayed in Room 2. It was definitely on the small side, but we were well aware of that fact ahead of time--both the 5 Chapel Street website and Christine's own emails to me made that clear. That said, it was incredibly comfortable--especially the bed and the shower! Additionally, the B&B is about a 20 minute walk (walking at a leisurely pace) into Cambridge itself (probably 30 minutes to the colleges). It's a beautiful walk right along the River Cam, and we very much enjoyed it. Finally, since we were visiting from the United States, it was important to me that I could communicate with Christine ahead of time via email. She was incredibly prompt in responding to me and had no problem with us doing the whole booking via email.

All in all, a fantastic experience!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs_MTV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine U, Owner at 5 Chapel Street, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thank you for your lovely review, it was great to meet you both and I hope you will visit us again sometime. As you say, the bedroom two is small but extra bags can fit under the bed as it is fairly high.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Christine has a very calm air about her, giving her beautifully furnished house a feeling of peace. Exceptionally clean room. Very comfortable bed that was hard to get out of. Breakfast oh so tasty with locally sourced ingredients, setting us up for the day. Cambridge centre easily walkable along the river path.Totally memorable stay, Highly recommended.

Room Tip: large kingsize room with roll topped bathroom and shower recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine U, Owner at 5 Chapel Street, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thank you very much for your kind and encouraging words, so glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will be able to plan another visit to Cambridge before too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.3 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,835 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,416 reviews
1.3 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
1.6 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 5 Chapel Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 5 Chapel Street

Address: 5 Chapel Street, Cambridge CB4 1DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 123 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range: £98 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 5 Chapel Street 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Georgian house with high quality very comfortable beds. Guests eat a superb breakfast from local free range ingredients with homemade bread, seated around a communal breakfast table. Cambridge city centre is a short and scenic riverside walk away. On-street free parking outside the house or round the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your 5 Chapel Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing