We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great little place”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The White Barn

The White Barn from the patio garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The White Barn from the patio garden
The open plan living room The patio garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
The White Barn from the patio garden
The open plan living room
The patio garden
Kitchen
Double bedroom
Ensuite bathroom
Hilton maze in June
Visit the ancient colleges in nearby Cambridge
Nearby Wimpole Hall, National Trust historic house
The river, Ely
Cottages on Hilton Green
The nearby market town of St Ives
Fenland scenery at Hemingford Abbot
Wind powered water mill at Wicken Fen (National Trust)
Hilton House
Hilton Hall, built in the seventeenth century and later owned by the author of Aspects of Love
Hilton Green in June
Angelsey Abbey
Ely Cathedral
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
limbylloy...
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great little place”
Reviewed 16 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

My husband and I booked this pretty late just for bank holiday weekend just to get away. The white barn has everything you need for a comfortable stay. We visited Cambridge using park and ride and St Ives whist there. The barn was cosy and clean and next door to the owner so close enough if you needed her. Has a small patio area with 2 seated table and chairs for a cuppa in the morning but garden could probably benefit from a little tidy up. Bed is also comfy. Has a local pub 2 seconds away , really friendly locals and we ate there twice.We would definitely stay again and owner is very flexible with arrival time. Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2018
Thanks very much for a great review! You were quite right about the garden - it has now benefitted from a tidy up. The garden patio will be being relaid shortly and so it should be looking pretty good by then!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alwyn J
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect self- catering accommodation”
Reviewed 3 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Well situated on main road through Hilton for access to Cambridge. Very comfortable and excellent facilities. Easy parking.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2018
Thank you so much for your review. Very glad the parking was so easy - we have just had the old gravel drive replaced with a proper drive, so there is plenty of room and it is easy to manoeuvre and drive on and off.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidlane...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Super cosy!”
Reviewed 28 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Cosy little barn with everything you need for a mini break. The owners were helpful and welcoming but separate enough that we still had our privacy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2018
We're really glad you enjoyed your stay. The barn will now be even cosier - we have just had a new super comfy mattress delivered! A new television is also on its way.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel H
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well positioned for exploring Cambridgeshire”
Reviewed 18 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We very much enjoyed our stay at The White Barn. This was our first visit to Cambridgeshire. In Hilton, The White Barn is very well positioned for visiting the surrounding area. St.Ives, Ely and Cambridge are easily accessible. The park and ride from St.Ives to Cambridge uses a busway, one of the very few in the country, thus avoiding all the traffic and only taking about half an hour.

The White Barn itself is exceptionally appointed and we were made to feel very welcome. We're we returning to the area we would happily book again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2018
Thanks so much for such a great review! We're really glad you took advantage of the busway. It does work really well and runs frequently. It's only 6 minutes drive to the busway at St Ives and they have a huge car park there. It means you can spend as long as you like in Cambridge. Other places to go on a return visit, we'd recommend the cathedral at Peterborough and the fantastic iron age village at Flag Fen (on the BBC recently - Britain's Pompeii).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Jan 2018
Thanks very much, we're really glad you had such a relaxing weekend. Village pub is just down the road - very handy for the Barn!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enjoythes...
England
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Bijou but has all that you need.”
Reviewed 4 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Located near to town if you drive, on a bus route (I think) if you don't. White barn was fine for a short weekend break.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2018
Thanks very much for your review. We are on a bus route (stops near the Barn), and you can get in to Cambridge and St Ives by bus, or take a taxi to St Ives to get the Guided Busway for a much more regular service into Cambridge. By car, we are only 15 - 20 minutes to Cambridge, St Ives is 6 minutes away, and places like Ely, Duxworth and Peterborough are short drives away.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine...
2 reviews
“Great little hideaway”
Reviewed 4 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Claire has thought of everything to make a stay here very comfortable! It’s a great location - not far from a local pub and also a park & ride into Cambridge! Thanks for a pleasant stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2017
Thank you very much for a great review - Hilton really is well situated!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing