We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Review Highlights
A great food experience

A really great experience. Discovered lots of places in Cambridge that we didn't know about... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Safari481637
Fabulous foodie walking tour in Cambridge

Although initially I thought this was expensive, I'm really pleased I didn't back out. We were... read more

Reviewed 7 April 2024
carolynes849
Read all 220 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Cambridge
More Info
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveller rating
205
11
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
205
11
2
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 220 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2021

Great tour with Gerla. We went to several great places I would have otherwise walked past. She's passionate and knowledgeable and made the whole day fun. Can't wait to book on again to try some other great places

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank LMWilliams2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GerlaB, Owner at Cambridge Food Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2021

Hello Laura

Lovely to meet you the other day and thank you for leaving a review.

It was so much fun having you and the others on the tour. I am looking into the possibility of doing a Gin Tour and I will let you know asap if I can run it for the 6 of you.

In the meantime, stay safe!

Gerla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2020

We have just recently sampled The Cambridge Food Tour having had to re-arrange it from earlier in the year, due to Covid. Gerla, our tour guide, was very friendly and knowledgeable, sharing details of many popular and not so well known eateries in and around Cambridge. The tour started with a delicious Chelsea bun from Fitzbillies and we were taken to various parts of Cambridge including the market place and the hidden gem that is Mill Road. Here we were treated to our personal highlight of the tour, a trip to the fantastic Maurizio Restaurant, with authentic Italian food and drink served up with expert guidance from Maurizio himself. We will certainly be going back!
We ended the tour with a visit to Calverley's Brewery, where we had a sampling of their refreshing original Pale Ales.
The tour has given us a taste of Cambridge's eclectic food scene and has whetted the appetite for a return visit.

Date of experience: October 2020
Thank lauradY7285VJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GerlaB, Owner at Cambridge Food Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2021

Hello Laura

I just noticed that the response was rejected by Tripadvisor so I am posting it again. I hope that you are well.

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. My apologies I didn't pick this up earlier, but TripAdvisor doesn't send notifications anymore. I am glad you enjoyed the foodie stops on the tour. Maurizio is definitely a hit. I can highly recommend revisiting again.

In the meantime have a lovely time over Christmas. Check out the Cambridge Travel Guide.

Gerla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2020

Gave the food tour to my husband and his chum and they declared it a great gift. While us wives enjoyed Cambridge's great shopping. They showed us the highlights next day. Win win

Date of experience: February 2020
1  Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GerlaB, Owner at Cambridge Food Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2020

Hello Jan,

Thank you for your review!

I am glad your husband and his friend had a great time on the Gin Tour. It did put a smile on my face as it is not often that wives don't chip in! Maybe an excuse to come back? I hope that you had a great time shopping in Cambridge. It is a lovely place to spend the day.

Don't forget to check out the Free Map of Cambridge which includes our favourite foodie places in Cambridge and I update it on a regular basis so you always have the best of Cambridge in your pocket.

Gerla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2020

We booked the gin tour on a wet Saturday with another large group.
The other group were very hospitable as was our charming and very informative hostess Camilla.
We visited some fab places for gins and food.
Food wise we had great slow cooked meat sandwiches at Meat n Bread. Had some good street food at the market after and finally a fab lunch at the recently opened Spanish restaurant Mercado Centrale.
Bars we went to were great too with knowledgeable and engaging staff.
This tour was a gift to us and we will definitely do this again and bring friends too.
Keep up the good work.

Date of experience: February 2020
1  Thank RCR2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GerlaB, Owner at Cambridge Food Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2020

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review and for your kind words. It is much appreciated. I am glad that you had a great time and that you are planning to return one day. We run 6 different tours and about to relaunch one of them, which will focus on a new area of Cambridge.

Looking forward to having you back!
Gerla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2020 via mobile

We had an amazing half day walking the streets of, mainly, central Cambridge. Tasting Chelsea buns, roast meats, pizzas, falafels, cheeses and black pudding. It was such an eye opener. My shopping trips to Cambridge have changed forever!

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GerlaB, Owner at Cambridge Food Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2020

Good afternoon,

Thank you for posting our first review of the year. I am so glad, that you had a great time and that your shopping trips will be so much better now. There are so many fantastic foodie places in Cambridge, that it might be a good excuse to come just for them. Keep an eye out on our Facebook page as there will be a lot of new businesses open soon.

Gerla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews