We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent tapas and friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cau

Cau
Reserve with OpenTable
Cau is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 677 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, International, Argentinian, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cambridge
Level Contributor
390 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Excellent tapas and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went to Cau for lunch yesterday, and took the tapas approach to their menu ordering 6 small plates between the two of us.
The food was excellent, all perfectly cooked and with a lovely array of different tastes.
The staff were very friendly and helpful throughout, getting a good balance of helpfulness without tipping over into irritating.
The desserts were superb, the chocolate fondant really was to die for!
A decent price for high quality, well cooked food. Will definitely return.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JKerr88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    555
    401
    123
    56
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“So nearly very good, please learn to cook steak though!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We've been to Cau about half a dozen times now and the fact we keep returning should be testament to how much we enjoy it - the ambience is great, the malbec is lovely and usually the steak is fantastic. But in six visits I've had to return my steak on two occasions (one occasion it took three attempts to get medium rare right - it was blue every time) and I should have returned it last Saturday but I really couldn't be bothered by this point to argue! The cynic in me suspected that the maître d' recognised me and gave the kitchen the heads up to cook it over to avoid a complaint. It's unfortunate as this time my steak was way, way overdone and although still fairly tender, it was pretty frustrating to be left on a third occasion with a steak not cooked medium rare and disappointed with my food. Had the rest of my table not had perfect plates I would have raised it with the waiter, but frankly I couldn't face another meal where I started my food once everyone had finished! For any cynics reading this review, I've been lucky enough to enjoy great steak in some truly fabulous restaurants and have a chef as a husband so I'm reasonably confident with what a competently cooked steak looks like.

Despite all of this, I actually do enjoy going to the restaurant. The night of three attempts, the maître d' kindly offered complimentary coffees and puddings and was quick (once aware) to put it right. The staff are young and fun, the cocktails great and the starters (try the empanadas) are good too.

I think the sheer volume of orders means that steaks aren't perfect every time (I know a few people with similar experiences) but that said it's still a good restaurant in our city that is sadly lacking in culinary flair. Tip: my lack of luck has been with the rump and rib eye. The rest of the party had medallions and sirloin and it was perfect on each occasion.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorzina66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Cambridge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

I went a lot of time in this restaurant and I think is one of the best restaurant for sure , try the steak is amazing. Only the price is sometimes high.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GiacomoE92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Holy Cau!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Steak is our family delicacy, and we have tried the parent company, Gaucho, so we really had to try out Cau. Wow! Better than Gaucho by a mile. We tried to Tempura pork, chicken skewers, and Tuna Carpaccio for starters. There is quite a difference in portion size, but the waitress had prepared us for that. All were fabulous, and we could not decide which was the best. Two of us had medallions - perfectly cooked, one rare and one medium. My daughter had the Tapa de Cuadril, which was delicious and a much bigger portion than anticipated. The chunky chips are fantastic! We added a Rocket and Fennel salad as we had opted for fairly small steaks and we were rather glad that we had done so. Again, the waitress was good at guiding our choices. We drank the Espiritu de Argentina Malbec which was reasonably priced and an excellent accompaniment to the steaks. We could not manage a pudding unfortunately. £120 for three of us and worth every penny. Overall, great
food, great service and we will be back!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yankeegir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very tasty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

This place was unexpectedly goid. Probably the best macaroni cheese in Cambridge (yes, even better than Byron) and delicious steak, chips and pastries.

Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank italicBus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cau also viewed

 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Cau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing