We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Decor, Mediocre Food, Terrible Service”
Review of Shabu Shabu - CLOSED

Shabu Shabu
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Great Decor, Mediocre Food, Terrible Service”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

The management of this place takes little care in providing any hint of respectable service. The place was busy and understaffed. Half of our party finished eating before the other have had received their food. During our entire stay (1hour), our waiter only came by once. When we complained about the service, we had the manager who came to our table and was dismissive and condescending. We came into this place in a great mood and left like feeling bullied by the management. I cannot understand how this place can stay in business.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DK A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    2
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“About average”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

The food here was definitely mixed. The soup we had for starter was quite nice. The sea food tended towards the chewy but that always seems to be the case with prawn and squid. The main, a Chef's Special Lamb Massaman curry, was not what I had hoped for. The sauce tasted more like gingerbread than carefully spiced Thai food and the lamb was gristly, to the point where I had to spit some out (my British politeness gene went haywire). I wouldn't choose to eat there again but it was a harmless enough place with decent service.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martha80a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food ok. Service painfully slow!”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We decided to try Shabu Shabu as our favourite TeriAki was pretty busy.
Our visit got off to a shaky start as the waitress greeted us with a rather doubtful sounding "You want Thai food?"
There was aparently a party in the function room, but the rest of the restaurant was pretty empty. Staff were slow to take our order and even slower to deliver it. We were considering walking out, as the couple on the adjacent table had done, when finally some nibbles arrived to sustain us till our order was ready.
Mains were delivered before the starters which meant a rather confused meal.
The food was ok, but not exceptional and certainly not worth the wait.
We won't be hurrying back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MPHCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very poor service”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I really enjoy the side and the food. However, the service was terrible. When the first arrived, the waitress there welcome us with an unpleasant look. We ordered a portion of hotpot and asked whether it contained noodles already and received an answer no. So we had to order plain noodles on the side.However, when the hotpot came there was noodles in it???? And it was the wrong soup base as well. Very unpleasant. I will not recommend any of my friends to go there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shine1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Shocking!”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Been here before and ok. However this time was shocking! The food was forgotten and when it did arrive it was cold! When pointed out the manageress blamed us (the customers) and No apology was offered.......truly disappointing and terrible

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tattiteddi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shabu Shabu also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing