We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Thai in the centre of town”
Review of Shabu Shabu - CLOSED

Shabu Shabu
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Thai in the centre of town”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I do like my Thai food, and I still think the Wrestlers on Newmarket road is pretty good for an honest bowl of food, but this is a very close second. The menu here is good and it is obviously more of a restaurant. The food is delicious and honestly I personally feel is the best in town. The new first and last pub which recently became a thai pub is also very good, but Shabu Shabu is purely a thai restaurant and therefore feels a little bit more special in its ambience.
The only thing I don't really like is that you have to write your order on a piece of paper, which I always feel somewhat takes away from having a proper waiting experience, but at least if they get it wrong it's your fault.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    2
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Cheap tricks”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We went to Shabu Shabu because Teri Aki was closed for refurbishment and ate from the Teri Aki menu so I can't comment on the Thai food. When asked the bill came quickly but they made no effort to come and take the cash from the table. When I eventually handed it to a waitress she didn't bother coming back with any change even though it would have made a very large tip. This seemed very purposeful and probably a trick to catch tourists out. We have been loyal customers of Teri Aki for years and I had intended to try the Shabu Shabu menu next time but it has put me off, very cheap trick!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annecy, France
Level Contributor
84 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Avoid - food poor and service terrible”
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

Like other reviews below, I found the service here terrible and the food poor. There are better options in Cambridge and the low rating on TA is justified.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank we_love_two_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Great Decor, Mediocre Food, Terrible Service”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

The management of this place takes little care in providing any hint of respectable service. The place was busy and understaffed. Half of our party finished eating before the other have had received their food. During our entire stay (1hour), our waiter only came by once. When we complained about the service, we had the manager who came to our table and was dismissive and condescending. We came into this place in a great mood and left like feeling bullied by the management. I cannot understand how this place can stay in business.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DK A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“About average”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

The food here was definitely mixed. The soup we had for starter was quite nice. The sea food tended towards the chewy but that always seems to be the case with prawn and squid. The main, a Chef's Special Lamb Massaman curry, was not what I had hoped for. The sauce tasted more like gingerbread than carefully spiced Thai food and the lamb was gristly, to the point where I had to spit some out (my British politeness gene went haywire). I wouldn't choose to eat there again but it was a harmless enough place with decent service.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martha80a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shabu Shabu also viewed

 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing