We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place is awful!!”
Review of China City

China City
Ranked #529 of 689 Restaurants in Cambridge
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“This place is awful!!”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Worst chinese restaurant I've ever been to poor service as said before in reviews loads of Chinese ppl but none eattin from buffet had they own drinks aswell very noisy.replenishment was none existent same as desserts was not impressed

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rachaelsheridan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    7
    7
    10
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saffron Walden, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“groupon voucher”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

After reading the reviews on here , i must admit to being very dubious about going but it was a groupon voucher and thought we would give it a go. The waitress was very helpful and welcoming , yes, i agree some areas could have been better but our table was clean and presentable and all cutlery was clean . The buffet was very hot and had a good selection. The buffet was replenished frequently with more tasty,hot food. Maybe peoples expectations are very high but it was all we wanted for a lovely, lunch time special - the toilets were looking tired and in need of a re-vamp like the rest of the restaurant but was clean - although we did see some mould,mildew in areas. We would definitely go back again .

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disgusting - health hazard”
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

This place needs to be condemned. The building is damp and cold. Look at the ceiling and it is dripping with mildew and mold. You will catch something nasty here. The floor is wet with puddles. My clothes feel damp.

As for food it takes over an hour and a half to arrive and we were are still waiting.... oh just 5 minutes, it's on its way, just a moment, I thought it was served...

The toilets are upstairs along with the karaoke rooms. They look quite bad. Noticed a kitchen with rubbish strewn across the floor. It doesn't seem too hygienic to me. Perhaps that's why one of the other comments states it gets 1/5 for "hygiene scores on the doors". And the smell, what is that?

The food arrived and was actually quite authentic. Not sure it would appeal to western taste though, it might be a bit too authentic. We took a few bits from the buffet while waiting for the ordered food to be cooked, it seems pretty standard for a Chinese buffet but maybe the food was a bit cold. The staff did seem to be regularly refilling the buffet until quite late but I wasn't close enough to tell how plentiful it was.

There are far better restaurants in town. If you want real Chinese I would suggest 7 days by far. Even restaurants in China aren't this bad, they should be ashamed.

I won't be coming back here again!

Helpful?
Thank filluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
153 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Groupon Deal”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

After reading the previous reviews on here i was very dubious about going here but we paid £7.50 for a groupon voucher so we thought we would give it a go.

We were greeted by a man who looked like he wanted to chop us up and cook us, his attitute was dredful and he was very rude. We told him that we had the voucher and immediately he lost interest.
We were told theres the buffet and off you go. Not all of it was out but what was already out was luke warm and of a poor standard. It got a little better when the fresh stuff came out but some of it was very bland. The sweet and sour was so vinegary none of us could touch it. The chicken and sweetcorn soup had something in it but it was definately was not chicken.

Our meal was interupted by said meet and greet man who was trying to get a large amount of condensation from the windows with a squeegy, in the process getting one of our party wet and then leaving the water all over the floor. There were no wet floor signs but from the state of the laminate flooring (it was all peppered and raised) it wasnt the first time that waters been left.

We tried to order some more drinks but could not find anyone, only to look over in the corner to see all members of staff sitting down eating there dinner (none of this delicious looking food was on the menu). One of our party tried to get the attention of Mr Meet and Greet but got an evil look.

Be careful of the drinks a 1/2 pint of Coke is £2.10 but Lemonade is £2.30. We were originally told we got 2 free drinks with the deal only to be told at the end that we didn't.

There are better buffets than this in Cambridge and all i can say is i am pleased we had a voucher as i would not have paid full price for this!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bigborisbushkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disappointing Buffet”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Went there with friends using a Groupon voucher but although there were plenty of Chinese people eating in the restaurant, none were using the Buffet. It wasn't a busy night and maybe it would have been better if it was, but the small amounts of food on offer sat there the whole time we were in the restaurant. There didn't seem to be anything fresh coming along. The Duck had run out and when eventually some more came, there were no pancakes to go with it. The food was OK, but it just didn't look attractive, as if the Buffet was there as a favour rather than a feature. Very restricted choice compared to others and when it came to the sweet section, all that was available was 2 dried out profiteroles, a few grapes, some chunks of melon and some slices of orange. The ice cream machine wasn't working but rather than arrange for a tub of ice cream to be available, they simply hung a sign on it. No-one asked if things were ok for us and although the décor was better than most, we left feeling we hadn't had a good evening out. It's a great location and could be a real treat for a night out, but it needs a whole new attitude from the proprietors.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Saracen53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed China City also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to China City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing