We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate visit.”

Cambridge Science Centre
Ranked #33 of 166 things to do in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Reopening of this place is to be announced. Cambridge Science Centre is moving to a new location in 2017. Cambridge Science Centre is an educational charity bringing hands-on science through interactive exhibits, shows and workshops for all the family to enjoy. Whilst our gallery moves to a new location, look out for our Street Science and COSMOS Roadshow events around Cambridge and East Anglia.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First rate visit.”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Small hands-on science museum that had Anna 12 and Tom 10 absolutely engaged. All in one room. Very well thought out and interesting for parents too. Even Sally (biology teacher) took some thoughts away.

Helpful?
Thank Will J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    41
    10
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We visited the centre with our young family; a one and three year old. We found the venue small and the activities did not engage my toddler at all. We observed one of the demonstrations which were well delivered however targeted at older children. Originally from London we are used to the science museum, to which this is no comparison. Additionally we were surprised there was a fee for entrance (given that all other museums we have visited in Cambridge have been free. Perhaps as it is not affiliated with the university. Perhaps older primary school children would have been more engaged but this was not suitable for our family unfortunately.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands, UK
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

This has been our second visit and each time we've spent pretty well a complete day here.

This is how science museums should be. Excellent staff, engaging exhibits. Brilliant

Helpful?
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We'll be going back again and again!”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We've bought annual passes for the Science Centre and take our 8 and 6 year old along quite often. I think the passes are good value (£25 for the family for the year) and there is always seems to be something new to see and have a go at. The Cuckoo egg workshop we took part in before Easter was great, and so were the special demos we saw during the Easter holidays (no extra cost for the workshop or demo) It's definitely worth checking the website to find out when something is 'going on'.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 227Chris2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“is this it?”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Our impression was it looked like a shop. Very small and not ideal for 9 and 13 year olds. Not much room to move around. My children found it a bit boring, it could of been because they have a lot of the science projects at home already which they have made, or having been to the London Science Museum found this not as good. If this was on larger premises and not so cramped and more older projects for the children to do could be more enjoyable.
Good price for a few hours out as a family, personally would recommend for younger children.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kgrl_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gleesome, General Manager at Cambridge Science Centre, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hi there,

First off let me thank you for writing a review of our Science Centre and giving us feedback about your visit. We appreciate all comments as it helps makes sure that as we grow and develop we are aiming to meet our visitors needs. I have passed on your comments to the wider team.

I am sorry to hear that your visit to our hands-on gallery space was a bit of a disappointment in terms of our size and content. Within our space we do try to pack in a large amount of hands-on activity.

Being a year old we are actively planning looking for larger premises to expand into and offer a wider range of exhibit and events for all ages. In the mean time we are limited by the size of the venue, but try to make best use of our space, which for yourselves seems not to have meet your expectations.

If you are back in Cambridge and wish to visit us, it would be worth checking out our events calender, during holidays periods, we frequently lay on special events from local researchers talking about their work to bigger science shows than in our quieter term time period. This may well engage your kids more than our existing exhibits, especially if they have done lots of science experiments.

If you have any suggestions or further comments of what would have made for a better visit to our centre for your children please do pass them on to our Operations and Events manager Gaetan Lee: Gaetan@cambridgesciencecentre.org who would be happy to talk with you.

Many thanks again for your feedback

Many thanks
Cambridge Science Centre Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cambridge Science Centre also viewed

 

Been to Cambridge Science Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing