We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hobsons House

Hobsons House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cambridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hobsons House
Voorschoten, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

If you don´t mind a walk of 20 minutes to the centre and prefer quietude Hobsons House is ideally situated A nice and adventurous garden with big pumpkins dangling high up in the trees gave a great autumn feeling. Lin knows her Cambridge, takes a genuine interest in her guests and has some stories to tell which altogether makes for interesting conversations. All in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wilhelm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    10
    4
    5
    4
See reviews for
10
8
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Very clean (well, they ask you to bring your own slippers and take your shoes off at the door, so it ought to be!) but really very basic accommodation. At the price they charge, I would expect a little bit more. You have everything you need, but no little extras like a second pillow (there might have been one available had I asked), a towel big enough to let you get from the shared bathroom to your room, a range of tea bags or hot chocolate in the rooms, fruit juice at breakfast...And the bed really was very hard.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knightjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Enjoyed our stay at this spotlessly clean house. Very nice garden which we were allowed to walk around and a good breakfast to set us up for the day. Comfortable beds in a quiet location with Cambridge centre within a 20 minute walk. Very friendly. Lin had good local knowledge.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
177 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Helpful ( almost too helpful) owner, in a location that is a good 30 mins walk from town centre. Strange design of bedroom with spare beds under the bed. Hard mattress, but OK for some. Loos running out of paper first thing in morning was not an encouraging sign!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank balibob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Lin was very friendly and accommodating and provided excellent hospitality. Lovely house in a lovely part of Cambridge. The room was very comfortable and the breakfasts delicious. I would highly recommend Hobson's House for visitors to Cambridge..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Very friendly and helpful. The rooms are a good size and Lin is very accommodating. It was great that we could have our breakfast a bit later after a late night out. It is well located to get into Cambridge and close the main roads.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Hobson's House is a large place with a beautiful and idyllic garden on the premises. The interior design is tastefully decorated. I felt very well at the place and enjoyed the cheerful atmosphere there.

I had initially planned to stay for 3 nights, but I decided to extend my stay twice and ended up staying a total of 6 nights.

The breakfast was fantastic and made for a great start to a day of sightseeing in Cambridge. Multiple options were on the breakfast menu, including English Breakfast and Continental Breakfast were served. There was fresh fruit (e.g. blueberries), quality cereal and toast, eggs etc. everything your heart desires really.

The room was spacious and very tidy. It offered a wonderful view to the fountain in the beautiful and huge garden. The views are memorable. I sat in the garden one night until sunset.

There was a fresh towel waiting for me every evening when I returned from sightseeing.

The hospitality of the owner was absolutely fantastic and it's above and beyond what I've seen in other places. They were very helpful with recommendations on what places to see in Cambridge, directions on the map, museums to visit, they even called a taxi for me when I was in a rush. It really is second to none. The owners are wonderful people that are simply there for you.

I can recommend Hobson's House without reservations.

Dr. Ardian Jusufi

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arden J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.2 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
1.2 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
0.7 mi away
The End House B&B
The End House B&B
#10 of 122 in Cambridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rectory Farm
Rectory Farm
#2 of 3 in Coton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hobsons House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hobsons House

Property: Hobsons House
Address: 96 Barton Road | Newnham, Cambridge CB3 9LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hobsons House is situated in a quiet tree lined road, set in a picturesque garden. We have 1 double and 2 twin rooms available. Our twin bedrooms can be arranged as double (super king beds) or twin. One of which is also available as a family room (double with cot or pull-out bed). All rooms have flat screen television, Wi-fi access and tea/coffee making facilities. Hobsons House is 50 yards from Wolfson College and a short walk away from: Sidgwick Site, Newnham, Selwyn, Clare Hall, Robinson Colleges, West Road, University Library, Cambridge University Rugby Club, Tyndale House as well as the city centre. Bicycle hire is available near-by. We have on-site parking and we are in the vicinity of 2 pubs and 3 restaurants, there are also punting facilities nearby. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing