We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual attraction”

The Centre for Computing History
Ranked #8 of 159 things to do in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
uk
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Unusual attraction”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Bit difficult to find and entrance fee is quite expensive. Good if you've got a bored teenager to amuse though.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank camycamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason F, Manager at The Centre for Computing History, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thanks for visiting. We are a bit hidden away, but there are very few buildings in Cambridge big enough AND cheap enough :) to put on a display of this size. Detailed directions are on the 'Visiting' page of our website for anyone else reading this and thinking of visiting us. Our entry fee is as low as we can make it bearing in mind the cost of rent and don't underestimate our electricity bills :) Having this number of computers all powered up ready to use isn't cheap!! :) We will shortly be announcing an annual membership plan which will be ideal for bored teenagers!! Watch the website for more details ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    67
    19
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Good for middle aged IT workers or game geeks”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

They've got a lot of stuff, mainly old PCs, and anyone of a certain age will almost certainly say "I had one of those" or "I always wanted one of those". It was good fun for an hour or so. Clearly run by enthusiasts and quite informative. I'm sure if they found premises in the city centre they would do much better too. I'll be back to drop off some old kit when next in Cambridge

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason F, Manager at The Centre for Computing History, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thanks for the great review :) We'd love to be closer to the city centre and maybe one day we will, but for now this is what we can afford. Please spread the word and help us realise that dream :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent overview of computer innovation”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

almost every piece is functioning. excellent to see computer innovation in past decades. coffee and biscuits are free.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank groeten-uit-Leiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great fun for non-kids too!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Brilliant way to wile away hours, so leave yourself plenty of time. Pacman arcade machines, space invaders, BBC computers for old skool coding. really lovely staff and even somewhere to buy a kit kat form at the end, when your eyes have gone square from hours of gaming! Very highly recommended.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bethany_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic rainy day attraction”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

If you need to while away a few hours on a rainy day with the kids of any age then head here. A real hands on treat of games consoles and computers. Remember pong, pac man, space invaders? A really good laugh and a fun few hours, childhood memories relived and a great couple of hours playing games past and present. If raspberry pi is more your thing then they have these to. Relaxed, informal and fun.

Helpful?
Thank marc s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Centre for Computing History also viewed

 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Centre for Computing History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing