We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent & great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent & great value”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Very helpful staff; nothing was too much trouble. Great location, close to centre of Cambridge & a few minutes walk from the river. Immaculate room; the bed was very comfortable. The free WiFi in the reception area was easy to connect to & really useful for work.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    324
    179
    74
    52
See reviews for
187
324
75
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

On arrival the reception staff were very welcoming and check in was very swift and problem free. We were allocated a room on the second floor at the back of the hotel away from Newmarket road, which I would recommend asking for as there was no noise at night at all. The rooms were spotless and were very modern.
On arriavl we were asked if we would like to have breakfast for an additional £7.00 each, but at first I declined as felt it was a little pricey. Then after some thought we decided that it would be less hassle to just have breakfast at the hotel so we returned to the reception and booked. This was a big mistake.
When arriving at breakfast we chose ourselves a seat then made our way up to the buffet. The buffet consisted of a very little amount of food so we thought we would grab our drinks first in the hope that they would re-stock. When approaching the buffet the second time nothing had been refilled and most of the pans were empty. To be honest even if the pans were full, there would've been a very poor selection anyway. We looked to get some toast and there were only a couple pieces of bread left which were stale. We waited at the buffet for at least 10 minutes for more food to come out before deciding to get a refund. We were also followed by another 4 people who were also getting refunds.
When complaining about the breakfast the reception staff were extremely helpful and gave us a refund with no questions asked.
All in all it's a nice clean hotel in a great location but the breakfast was extremely overpriced for the service you got.
I would still definitely stay here again but will just avoid the breakfast next time.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan_Croft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

I think I paid around £36 and compared to the last travelodge we stayed in this was a dream . It's all shiny and new. Very clean, no air con but didn't expect it too have for 36 quid, got given a fan by reception who were very friendly. Sy h a comfy bed with 2pillows, nice size room, nice TV and in great location. Free parking and 15 min brisk walk to centre, fantastic location! Plenty of free parking underneath.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Star184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here before the July heatwave, so wasn't troubled by lack of air conditioning. It was in its first week of opening. The room had everything you would expect in budget accommodation, was clean, smart and quiet. Only the smell of new carpet glue in the corridors detracted.

Breakfast was very good, apart from a dangerous malfunctioning toaster everyone was sticking their fingers into to rescue their toast.

The staff seemed slightly bewildered and new, but were all extremely welcoming, helpful and friendly.

Shows what a Travelodge can be, especially compared to some of the tired, ageing, scruffy Travelodges I've stayed at recently.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank syringemonkey3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is a new hotel, very central to Cambridge, bus stop right outside hotel into town.Very clean rooms, serviced every day to a high standard.. Never met nicer staff, went out of their to make sure our stay was pleasant, and it was just that, will stay here again for sure..ThankYou..

Room Tip: Just ask on booking for a quiet room, they are very helpful..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Firstly, apologies for the title.

Secondly, this is an almost brand new hotel, so the rooms are still immaculate with big comfy beds and neat bathrooms. Facilities on site include a bar and restaurant, and you can get into town on the bus from right outside the front door in a few minutes, on a very regular service

Best of all, there is a free car park (entrance around the back) which you can use on a first come, first served basis. We were staying here one night during the Cambridge Folk Festival in July and it only cost £38, with the aforementioned buses taking us right to the festival site.

Why sit in a tent in a field, folky-people?

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Red_V_Rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed for 2 nights as we were going to a wedding. We'd booked well ahead so got the room for £36 a night - obviously with such a cheap rate you can overlook things that would otherwise irritate.

So - easy to find, plenty of parking underneath the hotel, and friendly staff. The room was ok - very clean but small and basic. No hairdryer or iron although these can be borrowed from reception. Lack of aircon was a real problem in the current heat, and the window can only be opened about 4 inches, so it was quite stuffy. 24hr bar service was good and preferable to sitting in your soulless room. Didn't eat there so can't comment. Very easy to get into town - either walking or jumping in a taxi.

All in all, it did exactly what we needed it to. However, I would really resent paying much more than we did just because it's so basic.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigSooze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.0 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge Orchard Park
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Cambridge City East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,752 reviews
0.9 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#3 of 36 in Cambridge
420 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#13 of 36 in Cambridge
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge

Property: Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge
Address: 180-190 Newmarket Road, Cambridge CB5 8HE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing