We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely clean room, comfy beds and very helpful, cheerful staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely clean room, comfy beds and very helpful, cheerful staff.”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The reception staff were only too pleased to help, the cleaning/servicing of the room was brilliant and our room was great. We hadn't been able to book a disabled family room online, but the staff kindly suggested putting a Z-bed in a double disabled room, which was perfect for us. They were also very kind in helping us find a parking space when we returned one night and found all the disabled spaces full. Would definitely stay again. (We also borrowed a fan, which was good.)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathyB988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    312
    166
    61
    44
See reviews for
176
307
73
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
jimmyson82
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this travelodge for 3 nights through work and I have to admit when I was told I was being put up in a travelodge I was a little apprehensive after a couple of less that brilliant stays in they're hotels before. But upon arrival I was very surprised, it was brand new which obviously helps but got a speedy check in by a helpful receptionist. The rooms were a decent size, nice big comfortable bed and tv, coffee making facilities and a fairly small bathroom. But all of perfect size for me. There was still a new smell about the hotel and it was spotlessly clean. The carpark was under the hotel and had limited spaces but I got parked with ease every night. The bar in the hotel didn't have draught lager running (must be a teething problem) they had a decent selection of bottled beers, wine, cider etc. all a bit overpriced but its what you expect for the convenience. I ate they're one evening, food was ok, not going to set the world alight but did the trick and for £9.95 including a drink you can't go wrong. Breakfast was an all you can eat buffet, sausage, bacon, scrambled egg, beans and tomato. Then toast, other breads, cakes, cereal, fruit juice and coffee. Was a good selection and did the job nicely ahead of a day at work. Overall this is a good hotel, about 15 minute walk from the centre of town and nightlife but easily walkable or 5 pound in a cab. Would definitely recommend this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmyson82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Very helpful staff; nothing was too much trouble. Great location, close to centre of Cambridge & a few minutes walk from the river. Immaculate room; the bed was very comfortable. The free WiFi in the reception area was easy to connect to & really useful for work.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

On arrival the reception staff were very welcoming and check in was very swift and problem free. We were allocated a room on the second floor at the back of the hotel away from Newmarket road, which I would recommend asking for as there was no noise at night at all. The rooms were spotless and were very modern.
On arriavl we were asked if we would like to have breakfast for an additional £7.00 each, but at first I declined as felt it was a little pricey. Then after some thought we decided that it would be less hassle to just have breakfast at the hotel so we returned to the reception and booked. This was a big mistake.
When arriving at breakfast we chose ourselves a seat then made our way up to the buffet. The buffet consisted of a very little amount of food so we thought we would grab our drinks first in the hope that they would re-stock. When approaching the buffet the second time nothing had been refilled and most of the pans were empty. To be honest even if the pans were full, there would've been a very poor selection anyway. We looked to get some toast and there were only a couple pieces of bread left which were stale. We waited at the buffet for at least 10 minutes for more food to come out before deciding to get a refund. We were also followed by another 4 people who were also getting refunds.
When complaining about the breakfast the reception staff were extremely helpful and gave us a refund with no questions asked.
All in all it's a nice clean hotel in a great location but the breakfast was extremely overpriced for the service you got.
I would still definitely stay here again but will just avoid the breakfast next time.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan_Croft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

I think I paid around £36 and compared to the last travelodge we stayed in this was a dream . It's all shiny and new. Very clean, no air con but didn't expect it too have for 36 quid, got given a fan by reception who were very friendly. Sy h a comfy bed with 2pillows, nice size room, nice TV and in great location. Free parking and 15 min brisk walk to centre, fantastic location! Plenty of free parking underneath.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Star184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here before the July heatwave, so wasn't troubled by lack of air conditioning. It was in its first week of opening. The room had everything you would expect in budget accommodation, was clean, smart and quiet. Only the smell of new carpet glue in the corridors detracted.

Breakfast was very good, apart from a dangerous malfunctioning toaster everyone was sticking their fingers into to rescue their toast.

The staff seemed slightly bewildered and new, but were all extremely welcoming, helpful and friendly.

Shows what a Travelodge can be, especially compared to some of the tired, ageing, scruffy Travelodges I've stayed at recently.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank syringemonkey3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is a new hotel, very central to Cambridge, bus stop right outside hotel into town.Very clean rooms, serviced every day to a high standard.. Never met nicer staff, went out of their to make sure our stay was pleasant, and it was just that, will stay here again for sure..ThankYou..

Room Tip: Just ask on booking for a quiet room, they are very helpful..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.0 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Cambridge City East Hotel
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge Orchard Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
0.9 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge

Property: Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge
Address: 180-190 Newmarket Road, Cambridge CB5 8HE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing