We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and almost new”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
bedfordshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location and almost new”
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

I stay here for work most months. It's almost new so clean and maintained. Free parking whilst being walking distance from the likes of parkers piece etc is rare and welcomed!

If you like peace and quiet like I do then ask for a room that doesn't overlook Newmarket Road.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilly.lobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    312
    166
    61
    44
See reviews for
176
307
73
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Usual Travelodge standard - clean, comfortable and modern room with no frills. Free parking was a big plus point. Check in extremely efficient and staff very friendly. Close to shops and restaurants on East Road. Approximately 30 minutes walk into the centre of Cambridge.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura186364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Great new hotel for Cambridge. Stayed 3 nights, good poistion for the city centre with a bus stop right outside the hotel and free on site car parking, so dump the car and enjoy Cambridge by bus ! Hotel has comfort with excelllent housekeeping. Please management allow yourselves to become the no.1 'middle of the road; hotel in Cambridge, by keeping the teamwork going.
Already rebooked for another stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186342Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

On the way back from holiday we needed a stop over and decided to try this new format Travelodge. It looks great from the outside - no more boxy damp buildings. Inside everything is clean and tidy. You can still smell the new carpets. The room is spacious and the bed big and comfortable. They have gone for the "capsule" style bathroom rather like an Ibis/Etap on the continent, which has the tiniest bath ever, but perfectly adequate for washing, and with a built in grip on the base, so no more rubber mats! My complaint with the room is small but important. There are three light switches in one set for lobby, room and bathroom, so when you get up in the middle of the night and want to turn on the bathroom light, you have a two in three chance of waking up your partner! I did and was not popular (it was the middle one). Would have been so easy to fix. Otherwise in the building, the bar cafe is large and light, but also drafty. We had a meal, which was a bit disappointing. They had no salad or onion rings after they had had " a large group of students who had consumed". We had bangers and mash and a burger. Both were over cooked but adequate. On the plus side the staff were friendly and helpful.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BrighousePete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2014

My wife and I stayed here for one night so that we could attend a concert at the Corn Exchange in Cambridge, which was a quick and straightforward bus ride away. As such the location and proximity of the hotel were our main criteria for choosing this location. Those of you you have stayed at a Travelodge before know what to expect and this one was no different, clean, perfectly acceptable for a night or two, and very reasonably priced. This particular hotel has been recently refurbished so looks and feels quite modern.

Room-wise I would suggest you ask for one on the top floor, and at the back of the hotel, as this appeared to offer the best position with regard to quietness.

The BIG problem with this hotel however is the limited car parking (51 spaces (underground) and on a 'first come, first served' basis). We paid the additional £10 charge for an early check into our room which meant that the car park had spaces available when we arrived at 12:45PM. However be careful, a number of the spaces leave part of the car exposed to things being dropped onto the cars from the windows of the rooms above at the rear of the hotel, so best to avoid these if you have any concerns of somebody dropping their 'tinny' out of the 4th floor window straight onto your bonnet. Quite why there are not 'catch nets' installed above this area I do not know... NO RECORD is kept of your car registration number so if there are any issues with your vehicle the hotel staff do not know who to contact. When we came down to our car this morning the car park was 'over full' as the result of lazy, inconsiderate, selfish people abandoning their cars anywhere and preventing others from getting out of the car park (Yes you idiots who parked by the bicycle racks, and the complete numbskull who parked actually on the car park down ramp...)

If you can't get in the car park then you are forced to take your chances in the local (very congested) neighbourhood (I wouldn't) or park in the Grafton Centre car park at £24.00 for anything over 5 hours...

So to sum up, if you are on foot, have a company car / get your car parking refunded, or have an 'old banger' then this may acceptable to you. I don't so I will not be staying again, which is a pity really because the hotel was actually pretty good for the price we paid.

Room Tip: Rear of hotel, top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthamptonRicho2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crediton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
249 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Nice hotel friendly staff. Nice clean and comfortable room and very clean bathroom and shower. water pressure very low and no bath as an alternative. Very good nights sleep with no noise despite being on a busy main road.

No toiletries supplied, no hair dryer or fridge. There are tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms.

Good food in the restaurant at very good prices. Burger and a drink £9.99 other meals about £8.

Beer and lager £3 a pint bottle of rose wine £9,95. Very reasonable.

Good breakfast,£7.95 sausages, bacon, baked beans,scrambled eggs, toast. Preserves,cereal and fruit. Tea coffee and juice. All unlimited and children under seven eat for free at breakfast.

Good for one night stay.

Thirty minute walk to city center.(approx)

Room Tip: I stayed on fourth floor to the front of the hotel. 433 very nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Travelodge on Newmarket Road is an average budget accommodation in Cambridge. We stayed there for two nights and were quite satisfied.

Room and bathroom:
As I expected a very small room, I was surprised by the size. It wasn't big but totally sufficient. The furniture was pretty new. The room and bathroom were clean. The bathroom was pretty small and equipped with a shower curtain (which I generally don't like at hotels).

Breakfast:
There was a breakfast buffet (for extra charge) where you could choose between English breaktfast, cereals, croissants, fresh fruit, yoghurts etc. Everything I tried tasted good. The only downside: It was pretty cold in the restaurant.
If you're only up for a coffee, you can go to a Starbucks, which is just a few minutes walk away.

Service:
Service was OK. As it said on the homepage that you could get a hairdryer, I didn't bring one. When I wanted to borrow one at the reception, they told me that there were none available at the moment. Maybe they only got 20 or so hairdriers?

Location:
From the train station it takes about 7 minutes by car to get to the Travelodge. Directly in front of the building is a bus stop. According to the timetable it takes about 15 minutes to the town centre.
A few minutes walk away is a pretty large Tesco if you'd like to buy something to drink or some snacks (there's also a vending machine in the lobby if you don't want to leave the hotel).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoK_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.0 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Cambridge City East Hotel
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge Orchard Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
0.9 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge

Property: Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge
Address: 180-190 Newmarket Road, Cambridge CB5 8HE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing