We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good quality travelodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Hartlepool
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A good quality travelodge”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stayed for one night for a business meeting the following day. Decoration very good. Staff efficient and friendly. Restaurant good prices and of a good quality. A good place to eat and fill up but not really a place for say a romantic meal as lighting bright. If you are looking for a good quality budget hotel to visit Cambridge well worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunseekersBMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    317
    175
    65
    49
See reviews for
181
317
73
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My family and I spent one day in Cambridge since my husband was giving a lecture at Cambridge University. The receptionist was very nice and offered to help us when my husband needed a map to get to his lecture.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel. Decorated recently and it felt like we were in a better hotel than a travelodge. Definitely worth the money but a little far out from the main hustle and bustle of the city. Wouldn't recommend the breakfast though. £7.95 each for hardly any choice!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Corinne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night, it's a great hotel, it's recently been refurbished so everything in our room was new. It's very clean and the rooms are a good size. The staff were very friendly on reception and were there to offer good advice for getting around etc.

There is a car park underneath the hotel which is great and secure!

The only downside about our room was that we were facing the main road so there was quite a bit of traffic noise, especially Wednesday morning rush hour traffic!! Also, our room was next to the door near the lifts so again people getting up early for breakfast and checking out were fairly noisy walking past our room! This is obviously not the hotels fault.

The hotel is just a 20 minute walk into Cambridge. If you have a push bike, I would recommend taking one as everyone in Cambridge seem to cycle everywhere!

We didn't have breakfast in the hotel so I can't comment on the food.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room on the main road side and also near the doors to the lifts are noisy too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steffi200484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We spent 6 nights at this wonderful hotel. The room was comfortable and suitable for our needs. Our bathroom was spacious and fully equipped for my disabled child. We found the food excellent: well cooked and warm even when we arrived a little late. We had dinner in the evenings and for extraordinarily good prices, we had terrific food, cooked fresh, that was really worth waiting for. I don't agree with what has been said about breakfast. I am a gourmet and I understand what I am eating so I warmly recommend it. We arrived at three o'clock a.m. and we were immediately and personally escorted to our room. The atmosphere is warm and friendly. We received tailored customer care from all the staff and would like to greatly thank Alessandro, Angelo, Ainara, Teresa, Vanessa, Pamela, all the others I didn't mention and the Chef!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank AGNESE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed for Easter weekend. Clean and new building with a few faults. Only one toilet in reception/restaurant area. Asked for quiet room, which was good. Room had no racks or shelves to put the cases on so had to put them on the floor. No drawer space or wardrobe. Bathroom was very small and shower was like a plastic shell (from a ship) with not much power - but was hot! Sink was very close to toilet...
Beds comfortable and room clean. Paid over the usual price for Easter. Fairly good location and walkable to town, also good bus links to City and train station. Breakfast was ok for the price.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam186225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Just returned after a 3 night easter break- good budget hotel. Could do with at least a chest of drawers in the room but all clean and tidy. Breakfast was ok - good choice of cereals, juice and hot drinks. Cooked breakfast nothing special - scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon and beans with very lightly grilled tomatoes- all a bit warm. Plenty of toast, croissants and muffins- something for everyone.
Hotel about a ten minute walk from the town- perfect for shopping or sightseeing in this beautiful city.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.0 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge Orchard Park
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Cambridge City East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,715 reviews
0.9 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
408 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#12 of 36 in Cambridge
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge

Property: Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge
Address: 180-190 Newmarket Road, Cambridge CB5 8HE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing