We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Yes this is a Travelodge not a 4* hotel - compact rooms, in fact as it is a new one they are a lot smaller than your average Travelodge. We were on a short 3 day break and just needed somewhere to sleep so it was fine, but no storage or drawers just a bit of hanging space and no phone in room but I guess we don't need them any more now we all have mobiles ... no stationery, small supply of tea & coffee and no biscuits, so very basic but clean and friendly staff and you get what you pay for. I was with a friend and we had a room each but if we had been two sharing it would have been OK for one night, but for three I couldn't have handled it. Bus stop outside was handy and breakfasts were edible, not tasty but good enough. Parking underneath don't use the car park - it's expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as it's on a main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,054)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

870 - 876 of 1,054 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

Very clean, well located close to centre of Cambridge. Value for money. Staff very helpful and friendly. Spacious family room. Checking in fast
Would use Travelodge again for sure. Recommended even for long stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank mmx016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

As a travelodge the rooms are ok.Remember you are reviewing a travelodge not a 5 star hotel.Room at the back of the hotel was quiet.TV choice poor. The food was dreadful ..mains coming before starters.Food cold then burnt.It is somewhere to sleep but that is it..

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walkde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at hundreds of hotels but never at a Travelodge, so didn't realise that it is not a normal hotel... Maybe my fault for not researching better? Shock no. 1; no phone in room so you have to physically go down to reception for every problem. Shock no. 2; lack of basics, like fridge, suitcase rack, wardrobe, hair dryer etc. I went and got a hair dryer from reception; luckily I noticed there was not one in the room before I was dripping wet in the morning. They couldn't help with the fridge or suitcase rack... The room is stuffy and over-heated. I have booked for three nights and would like to cancel the rest of my booking, but unfortunately don't think I will be able to due to booking conditions... Oh, and TV guide doesn't work, and there only seem to be about 10 channels, and no pay per view. Sorry, I am not impressed!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SOL67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This hotel is about a mile (a 20 minute) walk into the centre. There is theGrafton Shopping Centre just nearby though. The welcome from the staff at reception was warm, welcoming and staff were helpful. The hotel is new and is clean and modern. The rooms was spotless and the bed very comfortable. Parking at the hotel is restricted and there is limited on street parking nearby. Hotel has a restaurant which is unusual from a Travelodge. The breakfast at £7.95 for an all you can eat buffet is good value. There is plenty of choices. All in all, an above average travelodge. As usual, very good value as well.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ted1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I stayed over for two nights in the Newmarket Road Travelodge & I thoroughly enjoyed it! The atmosphere, food, drink and overall ambiance of the hotel is lovely. I shall be staying there again in August, hopefully for longer. I only wish that had offered a choice of egg in the breakfast, there was only scrambled egg and I also love my mushrooms which I missed! Other than that, wonderful!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Hotel and room were clean and inviting. Beds were comfortable but I found the pillows too firm and chunky. Shower isnt the strongest in the world if your use to a power shower, but the bathroom was clean and fresh. There is some noise from the traffic outside during the day if you get a room on the front, however don't be put off by this as during the evening/night barely anything can be heard and does not effect a good nights sleep. Overall the room was worth the money when compared to other local hotels in the area which were at least double the money for the same thing. The free parking was a bonus but I would recomend getting there before six if you want to get a space.
if your including breakfast you do get a varied selection, cereal, toast, muffin, fruit, yoghurt, fry up. Basic but for the price you can't get the same thing for the same price anywhere else with the same varied selection and all you van eat.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Kirsty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
2 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge Orchard Park
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge Central Hotel
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Cambridge (A14, J32) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#11 of 36 in Cambridge
1,094 reviews
1 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
0 mi away
Premier Inn Cambridge City East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge

Address: 180-190 Newmarket Road, Cambridge CB5 8HE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range: £46 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing