We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, quiet and very clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent location, quiet and very clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

By far the best Travelodge I have stayed in. My double room was very clean and very comfortable. Shower was great. Bathroom was clean. The staff were welcoming and helpful. I didn't eat in there so cannot comment on that.
Great location, only a short-ish walk into Cambridge. I will definitely be booking here when i come back next summer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadsterrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    308
    160
    60
    43
See reviews for
176
302
71
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We had to move room as toilet was not cleaned after the previous guest and not flushing. The new room did not have soap in the two dispensers in the bathroom. We realised next morning that none of the power sockets were working. So no charge on the phone, no tea as kettle will obviously not work. After such experience, not even an apology from the manager. This is supposed to be a newly refurbished hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nagappan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
We are truly sorry to learn of your bad experience Nagappan. We do require all of our rooms to be up to great standards so it is regrettable to learn your toilet was not clean. We also expect our soap dispensers to be fully stocked will fully functional plug sockets. We would like to further understand the issues you have highlighted to find a resolution. Please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to provide us with more details and when doing so please specify you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

As you would expect, a standard Travelodge Hotel. Decent value for money. Clean and comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good location, for my needs. Bar & restaurant okay, but very clinical.



  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Ronan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel appeared to have been renovated recently. As expected the facilities provided are basic. Had to have a room change as the room door didn't lock, the change of room was handled quickly and efficiently. Parking is a nightmare, as the number spaces available are limited, and alternative parking is a good 10 min walk. It's a 20 min walk into the centre of town.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank nomadic2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is a new Travelodge and is bright and clean if a bit utilitarian. The double room is on the small side as is the shower room, but everything was neat and clean and all the appliances worked. It is well situated within an easy 20 minute stroll to the picturesque centre of Cambridge and once you're off the ring road the walk along the river is really lovely. The reception staff were friendly and efficient. If you want somewhere basic but clean, really affordable and accessible to stay in Cambridge then this fits the bill.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Dragon2807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a hen weekend recently. Good size room however hot as there is no air conditioning and we wasn't offered a fan. Also, only two towels were in the room, which I don't think it enough linen.! New beds are very comfy. Noticed there was some other hen and stag weekends whilst we where there, however none of our sleeping was disturbed so I wouldn't let that put you off. Good bus links right outside hotel. Parking is a game of cat and mouse trying to find a space, and the alternatives if there are no spaces left aren't convenient. Breakfast busy as expected but was also very nice, as I haven't had a traveloge breakfast in a long time.

Overall really good travelodge. And the staff where lovely and made a real difference as they always smiled and offered to help! Get a good price here and you will be laughing

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Citybreak4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a 2 night stay for a wedding just outside Cambridge. The hotel has good bus links into town and the rooms were clean and had exactly what you needed. The rooms were a bit hot even with the window open but i believe there are fans available from reception which we found out upon checkout. Staff were really friendly especially Arinara and Magda on the front desk.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank rachel985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.0 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Cambridge City East Hotel
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge Orchard Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
0.9 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge

Property: Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge
Address: 180-190 Newmarket Road, Cambridge CB5 8HE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing