We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Port in a storm!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Cambridge Central Hotel
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Port in a storm!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Travelodge are upping their game; the room we had was a good temperature, quiet, comfortable and spotlessly clean. We had all we needed; tea tray, TV, huge bed and after a very busy day it was a very welcoming place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank 296SarahMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    174
    105
    44
    48
See reviews for
117
117
31
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erlangen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had a room facing the street at the very end of the corridor. The window was fixed, but also sound proof. There was a air-conditioning, so we did not experience great need for fresh air, especially if you are not in the room throughout the day. The room was simple, but comfortable with lots of power outlets to use for charging the various devices, BUT all in UK standard.
The breakfast although simple allows for various options.
As a conclusion we've had great time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank IGarny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I must start by saying I only stay in Travelodges as a last resort as they have been so awful over the last few years.
Cambridge Central was convenient for Homerton College where I was working the following day which was why I booked it. There is a car park, but it does not have enough spaces for the number of rooms and the charges are high - and operate 24 hours. There is a multi-storey close by which is cheaper when the Travelodge validates the ticket.
If you want a supermarket, Sainsbury's is next door, Tesco opposite; there are about half a dozen chain restaurants opposite plus a cinema and what I thought was a night club.
Check-in was quick and friendly, and there is a lift. When I got to the room, the air-con was on which was very pleasant as it was very hot - but when I was shivering half an hour later, it wouldn't turn off. There are no phones in the room so I had to go down to reception and the young man came back up, but also couldn't turn it off.
They said they'd call the engineer, but if it couldn't be fixed I was offered the choice of moving to another Travelodge on the opposite side of town, or staying where I was as the hotel was full. They said they'd let me know if the engineer would be coming, but after an hour and a half I had to trail back downstairs to see what was going on. The engineer had been called and a different receptionist told me I would be accommodated in a different room in the hotel if it couldn't be fixed.
I also asked them to have a word with housekeeping as the floor hadn't been vacuumed for days, if not weeks. There were hairs and fluff clearly visible and if I drew the sole of my shoe along it, a roll of dust/fluff/hair was left. No good.
Anyway, the aircon was fixed - or at least it was off when I came back from a night out and I didn't try it again just in case it went wrong again.
The windows don't open by the way, so you're reliant on the the air con.
No soap in the bathroom, just a small phial of hair and body wash.
On the plus side, the bedroom has the new bed which was extremely comfortable
Cooked breakfast wasn't served until 8 on a Saturday but there happened to be a few of us with an early start soit was cooked early. It was extremely ordinary but we appreciated the effort.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank devonshiremw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I am local to Cambridge (been studying here for five years) and booked this hotel for my parents' visit. The hotel has been recently renovated and looks clean and nice. Rooms are very quiet at night but there is noise coming from the air conditioning in the room.

Also, the windows cannot be opened. There is Subway, pizza hut, two supermarkets next door, cinema and buffet restaurants in the building opposite. There are also barber shops and banks and kebab houses if you take a stroll down the main road, all within 5 minutes of walking distance.

This hotel is close to Homerton College but is far from other Cambridge colleges and historical attractions. Bus No.3 next to the main road outside the building takes you to the city centre in 10 minutes (Cambridge is really a small town)

This place is also within 10 minutes walking distance from the train station and is arguably the closes accommodation you can get if you want to live next to train station. However since the windows cannot be opened, you won't be disturbed in your sleep by the train.

Air conditioning needs improvement, as has been a problem raised by previous reviewers, and did not get fixed with the renovation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruisi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I have been here for almost a week with my school. The price was fine and the rooms were not to bad. It was also pretty clean but if you like luxury hotels in the city centre I suggest you to choose another hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freddy1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Came back from a night out to find someone else had been given keys to our room and had moved their luggage in! Had to pack up our luggage and be moved to another room at 11.30 at night so as to avoid being joined in bed by a complete stranger in the middle of the night. Whoever had dumped their luggage before going out had access to our valuables and we had access to theirs, good job we were both honest. Glad I wasn't a female staying on my own as the other person given the room was definately male! Made a complaint to customer services today at 10.00am now 8pm and still no response!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Debs714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge Orchard Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cambridge City East Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,717 reviews
0.9 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Cambridge Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Cambridge Central Hotel

Property: Travelodge Cambridge Central Hotel
Address: Clifton Way | Cambridge Leisure Park, Cambridge CB1 7DY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Cambridge Central Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Cambridge Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Cambridge Central Hotel Cambridge
Travel Lodge Cambridge
Cambridge Travelodge
Cambridge Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing