We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Cambridge Central Hotel
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable stay”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The staff at reception were charming and helpful but seemed rushed off their feet, with too much to do. Had to wait a while for them to appear. The room had been missed off the cleaning list and and when this was notified, this was remedied. The room was well arranged, the bed v comfortable, air conditioning great during a hot night. Shower too hot for comfort and could not seem to add any cold.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    173
    104
    43
    44
See reviews for
117
112
30
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
451 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is a clean, comfortable basic hotel with a good location near Cambridge Railway Station and The Junction. The service was basic and functional.

The rooms are perfectly ok. Comfortable and clean - although the aircon didn't work (ok on the day I was there but may not be if the weather were different).

There is a bar/lounge but it is basic. The security to get in and out of the hotel may reassure some about security but otoh it doesn't give a great impression, creating the image of being locked down.

The location is fine if you want somewhere central and somewhere near the leisure facilities next door. It doesn't have a restaurant but there are several chain restaurants.

The main drawback is parking - however this is central Cambridge so you'll need to check parking for any Cambridge hotels. The hotel has limited parking but there is a multi-storey car park nearby. However the parking is extra so take into account the costs.

Also the wifi is pretty poor... the download speed was very poor <1mb which given that they advertise it as suitable for streaming tv and music which it plainly isn't.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAR-AM-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Clean basic room. Had no wi fi in rooms. No parking had to pay extra to park in nearby parking station. Breakfast was included but was average. Orange juice was not fit for drinking (watered down with local water.) Staff were okay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights as I was attending a conference in Cambridge. It is located on a leisure park area outside of the centre. I imagine it could be fairly noisy on Friday nights/weekends. We parked the car in the nearby multi-storey which had a night rate of 50p/hr. Although the hotel also offer a discount on parking when you validate your ticket. The rooms had recently been refurbished so were of a much better standard than I normally expect from a Travelodge. The bed was comfy, room spacious and clean with air con. The bathroom was standard for this type of hotel although the water pressure in the shower was on the low side. Staff were friendly and efficient. I didn't have breakfast in the hotel as it is a buffet breakfast and I don't need much food in the morning - we headed to the nearest Costa (5 min walk) instead.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Quite a modern Travelodge. Air conditioned room, comfortable bed and quite clean. Located approximately a 15 to 20 minute walk from the city centre. The room is however let down by the installed curtains, which hardly block out any light during both night-time and day. See uploaded photo.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beaconoutbound16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharnbrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed with a colleague before TdF start early Mon AM. We arrived late but Daniel (unprompted) printed out maps for us with TdF details and booked cab for us for early next morning. I asked if they provided wake up calls. "No, but I'll come up and knock, no problem." Which he did, bang on time. Room was as expected, okay, clean, functional - but not lovely. Watch out for car park - pay and display 24hrs a day. Average hotel experience vastly improved by service from the aforementioned staff member. I hope I got his name right & he gets the plaudits he deserves.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

A group of us stayed Friday 27th and Saturday 28th June as my daughter was graduating from Homerton college. Tony, on reception, was exceptionally good and even provided us with a loan of umbrellas when the heavens opened just as we went to leave for the Senate House.
However, my elderly mother, who was in room 213, left behind her iPad and when she contacted the hotel she was told that no other guests had stayed in the room but the iPad was not there. In fact the manager told her that while his head of housekeeping was honest he couldn't vouch for the rest of the staff!!! She is quite understandably upset by her loss but also disappointed by the lack of responsibility of the hotel to find out who stole the iPad. It has been reported to the police.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank frankiebobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge Cambridge Central Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
We are pleased to see that you received a good level of service from our staff frankiebobs, however we are concerned to learn of the theft incident. We take these matters very seriously so we would like to contact you to investigate the issues you have raised. To do so, please could you visit our website and click the contact us button and please also indicate that you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cambridge City East Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge Orchard Park
1.1 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Cambridge Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Cambridge Central Hotel

Property: Travelodge Cambridge Central Hotel
Address: Clifton Way | Cambridge Leisure Park, Cambridge CB1 7DY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Cambridge Central Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Travelodge Cambridge Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Cambridge Central Hotel Cambridge
Travel Lodge Cambridge
Cambridge Travelodge
Cambridge Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing