We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only just worth the money” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Cambridge Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Cambridge Central Hotel
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Only just worth the money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Staff very disinterested ,
Room clean and a good size
Breakfast poor choice , new hot food put on top of old instead of it being replaced ,bin overflowing
One night air con on roof broke leaving it noisy all night with us getting little sleep ,instead of money back as per premier inn just offered a discount voucher for another stay , which I am still waiting to receive over a week later.
Have had a better experience at another travelodge since so put this one down to poor management of this one.

Room Tip: As always away from the lifts and end of a corridor for a quieter room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roger w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    167
    100
    42
    42
See reviews for
113
105
28
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

you pretty much know what you are getting with Travelodge, no frills, but not necessarily cheap. it was clean and comfortable and quiet so no complaints there. no free parking but only 12 quid for parking straight out front, or a multi storey 2 minute walk. breakfast was not up to much, would advise some of the local coffee shops as a better option. ok, but nothing special

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmypeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I was there in July for 3 nights and it was a nice experience. Paid about 70 pound per night w/o brakefast - for a double bed, A/C room which is cheap for such a hotel in UK. I like the reception offered cold lemon water in the hot summer. Please note: WORST paid WI-FI - must be improved

Plus: A/C, nice double bed, clean, quite, close to railway station, spacious restaurant with large space, supermarket/cinema hall next building, OK price for brakefast and lunch. Most of the reciptionist were nice .

Minus: Tiny TV, small window cant be opened, WORST WI-FI but you have to pay, it must be improved

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyrus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

A standard travelodge but clean and very quiet. We stayed one night and had a good nights sleep.The management was friendly . Unfortunately we paid the full price, whereas in the past we have got low prices

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank clivewade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Make sure you are on rear of building facing square unless you like Road noise. No fridge or hairdryer in room, a/c is a bit ineffective as doesn't cool room enough and window/slit can't be opened. Someone somewhere having a sneaky fag as there is a hint of smoke sometimes. Parking in multi story is a bit tight as they've charged us plenty to stay on fest weekend. overall , comfy bed and better than tent

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank araldite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Taking the price into account this is really good value for its location, it is in the process of being refurbished but this didn't impact my stay in anyway. I have had much worse refurb experiences in much more expensive hotels. The room was clean with the décor starting to look a little tired but generally ok. A with all Travelodges it is a little irritating that everything is extra but the cost of the extras, Breakfast and Internet in my case is low compared to many hotels. I have certainly stayed in places where the cost of these extras would be almost as much as the room at this hotel.

I would certainly stay here again midweek although given the location I would be dubious about staying Friday or Saturday nights.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Well the hotel has cheap rooms available, which is good, however in our room the window was broken meaning it couldn't lock, so the noise of the traffic kept me up at night. The room had only a double bed which was extremely comfortable, but the bed they set up for me was like a rock and made it hard to sleep. The was blood splatters on the wall next to me and the room would quickly overheat and there was no air conditioning. However all this said the bathroom facilities were spotless and the shower was nice to go in. Bring your own hair products as they don't supply it. The breakfast they supplied was very good and had a lot off things available to eat. Good for business stay, couples and solo not families

Room Tip: Get a higher up room to avoid traffic noise and for more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maizie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
0.9 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#4 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cambridge City East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge Orchard Park
1.6 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Cambridge Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Cambridge Central Hotel

Property: Travelodge Cambridge Central Hotel
Address: Clifton Way | Cambridge Leisure Park, Cambridge CB1 7DY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Cambridge Central Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Cambridge Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Cambridge Central Hotel Cambridge
Travel Lodge Cambridge
Cambridge Travel Lodge
Cambridge Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing