We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffee etc.”

Norfolk Street Bakery
Ranked #1 of 6 Bakeries in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
Restaurant details
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Coffee etc.”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Amazing array of baked goods sweet and savoury and superb bread.
They also serve coffee so you can chill out here!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sueleeuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    12
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This bakery is absolutely wonderful. Adilia is a delight and she knows food and how to bake! She has a great team of people working there as well. There is a very small counter with some stools where you can sit and eat/drink, but this is mostly a takeway place. We find ourselves popping in first thing in the morning for the amazing sourdough bread... and we can never leave without a box of Portuguese custard tarts (pasteis de nata), which are THE best we've had outside of Portugal. There is a huge variety of food available.... sandwiches too. Truly a hidden gem and well worth a visit (time and again).

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank PB&PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Portuguese bakery”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Speaking as a Portuguese national this is the real thing. Delicious bread, gorgeous pasteis de nata and de bacalhau, wonderful prawn rissols! I'm so glad I don't leave too near. The weight would pile on. AND I got told that it's my fault if my daughter doesn't speak Portuguese. Too right! One visit and I already feel like I'm a member of the family.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Manucha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“can't believe this is on my doorstep”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

All those years hoping for real bread like on the continent and Cambridge suddenly starts becoming boulangerie heaven, what with the market stalls and now Norfolk Street bakery where a Mistress baker makes bread magic. Shop on a tiny, tiny scale so that three of you fill it. You never mind waiting because the smell is heavenly. Cakes, pastries, biscuits, sandwiches (delicious), and coffee to co or drink in against a coffee bar. Gluten free, sourdough and so on. And I can just walk through the beautiful Mill Road cemetery to get there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An absolute treasure trove of baked loveliness”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Tucked away at the end of the road, Norfolk Street Bakery can't enjoy any 'passing' trade at all. You simply have to know it's there. But my word, once you do, what a treat it has in store for you.

The shop is alive with lovely smells, the prices are unbelievably reasonable and the custard tarts were so good I had to take a big bag home for the wife and children (I have learned not to arrive home empty handed and describe wonderful things I have eaten that day - it was a foolish trait).

The staff are charming, the quality of the baking is nothing short of exquisite. In a world of cloned franchises dishing out plasticised 'baked' goods, this place really reminds you of how skilled this craft really is. They put the mastery back in baking and they do it with charm, care and love.

If you eat nothing else then make sure you try the custard tart.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Toby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Norfolk Street Bakery also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Soham, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Norfolk Street Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing