We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“another hidden gem”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Carpenter's Arms
Ranked #374 of 685 Restaurants in Cambridge
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, American, Pizza, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
cambridge
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“another hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Having looked through the window of this newly refurbed pub, now a gastropub and having read reviews of the B and B aspect as well as the feature in the Cambridge News it lived up to the idea of a gastropub. The waiter/bar tender was courteous and attentive on immediate arrival. We had booked a table and it did indeed fill up. The food portions for the antipasto, pork escalopes and venison burger were generous and tasty. The scallops were succulent and combined with the pork belly for a starter were a good size. Do try and find room for the bread and butter pud with cinnamon ice cream and prunes in armanac - pretty good. Alll in all a good experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank telephonesam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    23
    7
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best gluten free pizza!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

I have eaten at the carpenters arms a few times since the new ownership have taken over and I have invariably been really impressed by the food, service and friendly atmosphere. The best thing, however, is the handmade gluten free pizzas which can be pre-ordered - completely yummy and just like a normal pizza!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Francesca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Cambs
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

The Carpenter's Arms is tucked away at the top end of Victoria road and has recently been taken over by a new landlord.

First appearances were good. Staff were friendly and there's a good selection of soft drinks as well as alcoholic ones.

We were seated in the small restaurant area that has around ten tables. The menu has a combination of fine dining dishes, traditional pub food and gourmet stone backed pizzas.

My two children (6 and 10) shared a pizza which was made as half a margherita and half with salami. My husband went for the venison pizza comprising venison meatballs, an onion marmalade sauce and finished with rocket and I had a steak and ale stew with dumplings, mashed potato and seasonal vegetables.

I originally thought that that maybe they were trying too hard with so many different types of food available, but I have to say that I was really surprised by the quality of the food. The pizzas were perfect - a great combination of toppings on a superb crispy base. The chips were proper homemade fat potato fingers. The stew was fantastic. Just the sort of thing you want on a cold and wet Winter's night. The vegetable accompaniment of buttered cabbage with bacon was perfect.

Puddings were had by all, although if I'm honest we'd eaten enough already! Two portions of baked cheesecake, a chocolate mousse and a bowl of vanilla ice-cream. Everything was made in-house, including the ice-creams. The presentations of the puddings wasn't the greatest (the chocolate mousse looked particularly unflattering) however the taste soon made up for the appearance. My husband declared the cheesecake one of the best he'd ever eaten and considering it's always his dessert of choice, this was high praise indeed!

We'd definitely go back again and I'm keen to try their Sunday Roasts.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jorandall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

I visited The Carpenters Arms for lunch yesterday, it was wonderful. I went back today, and the food was exceptional. When you visit, try the scallops
on belly of pork, it's to die for. I look forward to going back next week.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great service and fabulous food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

I visited the Carpenters with my girlfriend and we had an amazing time. Great welcoming atmosphere by new landlord Mike, the music was good and the menu had a great mix of dishes to suit everyone. We had the scallops with pork belly and chicken parfait to start, and they were both amazing!! For mains we had the venison burger and haddock with bubble & squeak, both very good again! A special little thanks to Yank, the chef for his lovely food. Will definitely go back!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Mharris83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Carpenter's Arms also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Great Wilbraham, Cambridge
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Carpenter's Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing