We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely local pub”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Carpenter's Arms
Ranked #414 of 693 Restaurants in Cambridge
Cuisines: American, Italian, British, Pub, Gastropub
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Cambridge
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Lovely local pub”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The Carpenter's Arms is a small pub slightly out of the city centre. The staff are friendly and food is good. They have recently installed a real pizza oven from which they produce huge thin crust pizzas which are some of the best I have had outside Italy. There is also a main menu which appears too large for a small place but is consistently good. You can take a number 8 bus to just outside the door and enjoy a lovely evening.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CultureVultureCamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    23
    9
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Monday Lunch”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Perfect place for Monday lunch, warm welcome from the landlord, delicious tomato and Lime soup, with good bread and generous helping of butter, washed down with Calverley's Best Bitter, from Cambridge's newest brewery.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Felicity53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, great rooms, wonderful service.”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The Carpenters Arms is close to the city center. Easy access to the main routes but still has the great local pub feel. A great selection of ales and beers. We had dinner Saturday night and Sunday lunch. The menu is great with enough to keep evryompne happy but not to large to make choose difficult. Have a vegan friend? A gluten intolerance? Just ask Mike, the owner, he can do most menu items to suite. As we had dinner with friends and one cannot eat gluten, it was no problem for them to make a fresh gluten free dough for the pizza. The pizza's where fantastic, cooked in a wood burning oven with great fresh ingredients our friends said they where the best pizza's outside of Italy. (And they where Italien). Sunday lunch was no let down. Great steak for me with a portion of pork belly added as I didn't want chips ;-). My wife had the mushroom risotto which was perfect and my mother in law went for the roast duck with all the trimmings. No chance of any of us going hungry. I can't recommend the foos enough. Our room was perfect great linen and lots of room. A great nights sleep. If your staying in Cambridge put The Carpenters at the top of your list.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Will_UK_Paris_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food, welcoming staff!”
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

A lovely pub in the centre of Cambridge. Pizzas baked in their wood burning oven are to die for, but of you fancy something different they have a selection of other dishes on the a la carte. My partner had a fantastic venison burger. For the drinkers, they offer a selection of 20 beers - not to be sniffed at! A perfect spot, whether you fancy a pint or a bite! We will definitely be back...

Helpful?
1 Thank AvidDiner87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Welcoming atmosphere with great food.”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

We visited this Gastro pub on a recent visit to Cambridge. All the staff were very friendly and the food was nicely presented and very reasonably priced. We had a confit of duck, lambs liver and the Suffolk ham. All delicious. Good luck to the new owners, we will be back!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DebsLanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Carpenter's Arms also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Great Wilbraham, Cambridge
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Carpenter's Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing