We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Carpenter's Arms

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Carpenter's Arms
Ranked #372 of 677 Restaurants in Cambridge
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, American, Pizza, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
115 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Having read the recent good reviews, I thought this was worth a try.

The starter (anti pasto) promised much as the quantity for one was immense, however, the meats were a bit too dry. The main I ordered arrived a surprise. I asked for field mushrooms stuffed with gorgonzola and chopped mushrooms. What arrived was a ramekin filled with layers of field mushrooms interspersed with sliced mushrooms in a mushroom sauce - no hint of gorgonzola or breadcrumbs....

I decided not to try dessert.

Quantity over quality seems to be the case here, and as one of the most expensive places in Cambridge I've eaten, I won't be going back.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank lac1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    23
    7
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great pizza but slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We had lunch at the Carpenter's Arms today. It's the first time we've been since the new owner started. The pizzas were still great and it's nice that they offer gluten free ones now. However, it took over an hour from ordering to actually get our food - and it wasn't that busy. Also a bit disappointed they don't offer kids' size pizzas. Seems an easy thing to put on, but we were told only the other mains come in kids' portions.

Helpful?
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The perfect local”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Cozy pub, very welcoming, good selection of local beers served in tip-top condition. Wood-fired pizza oven is a great feature. Food is a little slow in coming, but worth waiting for. Venison burger particularly recommended. This is a great place to spend a lazy Sunday afternoon. All in all the perfect local.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ray1729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“great pizzas!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Worth seeking out for its outdoor pizza oven. Best pub fish and chips and slow cooked meats kept overnight in that oven. Well presented plates of good grub. Variety of ales in this cheery privately owned comfortable pub. Been twice to eat and not disappointed yet. Serving staff bit dozey - not spotting empties on the table and removing them. Will report again if standards slip - or improve!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Timothy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Had pizza here with Italian friends and we all loved the pizza. Great menu and nice atmosphere. Will come back

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank honeynutloops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Carpenter's Arms also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Great Wilbraham, Cambridge
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Stow Cum Quy, Cambridge
 

Been to The Carpenter's Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing