We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven in a hotel”
Review of The End House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The End House B&B
Ranked #10 of 121 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heaven in a hotel”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This place is amazing! We stayed in the green room which was absolute phenomenal ! The bath was immense! Breakfast was sensational with fruits,pastries,cereals and a fry up with a yummy smoothie as a bonus treat.
The surroundings to the hotel were beautiful and so quite. It's a 10 min walk from the centre of town which was about a £7 taxi rude back after a night out. Jon was a great host and made us feel extremely welcome and comfortable. He was full of great ideas of things to do .

As far as I'm concerned .... Heaven can wait.... I'm heading back to the end house!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lotte W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
64
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2014

An idyllic B&B set away from the hustle and bustle, The End House is the perfect place to relax and unwind. It is set away from any main roads, but still within close distance of the city. I stayed in the Green Room, which had an extra large (and extra comfy bed), and a huge bathroom with a roll top bath. Our host, Jon, was full of great tips for exploring Cambridge and his home cooked breakfast was one of the best I've ever had. (Don't forget to try the fruit smoothie too!) Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Was looking for somewhere close to one of the colleges in southern Cambridge for an overnight stay. Found End House. What a find. A lovely place to stay. Very quiet, and right on the edge of the Paradise Fen Nature reserve (apt name). Easy walk in to Cambridge city centre in about 10 minutes.

The rooms are lovely. Bed comfy. Nice en-suite and shower in the Yellow room where we stayed. Our friends were in the other rooms on that floor and one fell in love with the big bathroom in the Blue room. Almost couldn't get her out of the bath.

Wonderful breakfast of locally sourced food. All bought fresh each morning. Duck eggs were on the menu, and sometimes they have goose eggs too apparently.

The owner was very easy to deal with and attentive to various needs, supplying iron and ironing board, shoe cleaning stuff etc. Also made sure we had all we wanted at breakfast. Next time we are in Cambridge I know where we will be staying.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My friends and I stayed at the End House recently after a lot of travelling around the UK and Europe. It quickly became our favourite place to stay after six weeks of hotels. The interior is gorgeous and meticulously decorated, whilst still remaining cosy. Away from any main roads with incredibly comfy beds and great ensuite bathrooms.
Jon ran the place and looked after us brilliantly. Hats off to the amazing breakfast that he cooked too! Can't wait to go back and stay again

Room Tip: The blue room is lush!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed here as we'd just finished a pretty long and crazy tour, and it was just absolutely amazing - the beds, the bath, the breakfast - all flawless! The surroundings were idyllic too, and was a great way to relax after such an intense few weeks!

Would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent 2 nights at the End House and it surpassed our expectations. Waking up to the sound of birds and not cars 10 minutes from the middle of a city was lovely!!!! Jonathan 's attention to detail and personal touch made it a memorable stay for our first time in Cambridge and the breakfasts created from locally sourced ingredients were to die for!! I would have no hesitation in recommending the End House for a stay in Cambridge.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

we spent the first few days of our honeymoon in the green room. Jonathan was very attentive and the breakfast was absolutely delicious - especially the creamy fried duck egg; molasses bacon and the pack-a-punch smoothies.The more than double bed was very comfortable and the roll top bath in the bathroom was highly luxurious. We enjoyed waking up each morning to the birdsong outside. Location was perfect - short stroll into town or one of the most delightful walks from Cambridge to Grantchester.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benedict S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,717 reviews
0.8 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
408 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
1.1 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
0.8 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The End House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The End House B&B

Property: The End House B&B
Address: 53 Owlstone Road, Cambridge CB3 9JH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The End House is a beautiful Edwardian building, overlooking a nature reserve and less than 100 yards from the river. Our unique location means that you will benefit from a truly peaceful stay while only being 15 minute walk along the river to Cambridge City centre. Our guest rooms have been lovingly restored to keep the period charm of the house and retaining many of the original features. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The End House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing