We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pint Shop Cambridge” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pint Shop

Pint Shop
Reserve with OpenTable
Pint Shop is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 677 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pint Shop Cambridge”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We ate at the Pint Shop tonight and were very disappointed. The level of noise was unbearable in the resturant area downstairs and the menu was limited and overpriced. It was like being in the middle of a party and we couldn't hear ourselves speak. I wouldn't recommend the place to anyone.
When asking for a beer I was pointed to the board, from where I sat it could not be read, the waitress couldnt understand me due to the excessive noise levels, maybe a small card could be produced replicating the beer menu.
Although overpriced I enjoyed the pork but will certainly not visit here again

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank 0923Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    289
    98
    36
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Hiding its light”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

The Pint Shop is a Tardis that hides its light under a bushel, to mash up some metaphors. It’s easy to miss from the outside, the rather elegant classical façade makes it look like a solicitors office; and the modest, slightly gloomy, bar (empty when we visited) at the front leads on to a pleasantly bustling dining room and a completely unexpected enclosed courtyard for outside eating.

So lunching there was a pleasant surprise and very good value given the normal Cambridge prices – two set lunch courses for £10 and three for £13, with three choices of starters, mains and puddings. There is also an extensive al la carte menu.

The staff were friendly, welcoming and above all helpful in explaining the menu (and offering tasters from the 20 plus ales available!). Three of our party has the brown shrimp, runner bean, pea and garlic butter starter and voted it very good. My cucumber, mint and radish salad with yogurt cheese was OK, but the potential freshness was overpowered by too much yogurt cheese. For mains the haddock, Ogleshield, Lyonnais potatoes and peas was well cooked, presented carefully and just right for lunch. S’s grilled pork loin with apple and celeriac salad was good, but a modest serving that looked a bit lonely on the plate – a helping of Jersey Royals from the main menu would have made all the difference. For dessert the chocolate and pistachio Battenberg was unusual and a nice finish to the meal; and N had a small chocolate pot from the main menu, which was rich, dark and ‘just right’. Coffee served in a cafetiere was excellent. At £80 for the four of us, including wine and beer this was a very decent meal representing good value.

If you want to eat in Cambridge search out the Pint Shop and take the plunge – you won’t time travel, but you should have an enjoyable meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian_Human
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Please visit this venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stumbled upon this venue on a recent visit to Cambridge. Please spare time on your visit to check out the "pint shop" they told us that they had opened last November but this will become a tourist magnet. The guy's and girls are so friendly and welcoming. We had a couple of samples before choosing our ale, sixteen cask and keg to choose from, if i remember correctly. The food looked fantastic and we would have eaten had we not already done so. The Pint Shop has been very carefully designed giving it a quality vintage appearance, even the toilets are great. If there is a best toilet award in Cambridge this venue would win! Finally there is a outside terrace / beer garden that is a perfect suntrap away from the wind and a real asset. We will return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilnSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“My favourite restaurant in Cambridge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

I've been here several times, as it has become one of my favourite restaurants in Cambridge. The food is largely modern twists on traditional dishes, and it was nice to see some seasonal dishes, such as a starter of peas, broad bans and mint on the menu. I also love the fact that they do wine by the carafe. The art on the walls is also very interesting, especially the picture in the ladies' loo upstairs! The staff are very friendly and were helpful to my friend who was using crutches to get around.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rainow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Shame this opens just as my son leaves Uni”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Fantastic range of beers, and gins. Knowledgeable, friendly staff (I too got my phone charged whilst I was there) The bar food (giant scotch eggs, good looking rolls), complement perfectly. For those that whinge about there being no Carling/Carlsberg/wifebeater etc available, tough. There's plenty of pubs nearby that do.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rainowred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pint Shop also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Pint Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing