We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cambridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Railway Lodge Guest House
Ranked #32 of 122 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
111 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Perfect choice! Very close to the railway station, you can walk to the city centre very easily.
Mr Anthony King, the owner, was a perfect host. Very kind to us!
The room was spacious and very clean.
Breakfast was lovely as well. We had a lot of options to choose! We were a couple, there were families with children which seemed to be very confortable there also!
We had been to other guesthouses in England more expensive that didn't get close to this one!
I would definitely recommend anyone to stay there.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcelazabani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    40
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
31
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Nice roomy space with bathroom. Owners let me have a double room for the first night at single rate even though my partner was not joining until the second night. Breakfast was nice although no fresh tomatoes . Helpful owners.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Restraining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

I was recommended this Guest House by my Sister. The owner was very nice, helpful and chatty. Very easy to find from Cambridge Train Station.
My room was very clean, bed comfy, quality bed linen which smelled lush (I meant to ask the owner which fabric softener they used...)
At first, I wondered where the shower and toilet was and then I realised they were tucked in a wardrobe-like-cupboard in my room. There is a sink which was near to my bed. Towels provided, Hot water throughout the day.
A flat screen TV which kept me entertained and tea and coffee facilities + a few biscuits!
The breakfast was really tasty! The first morning I had a cheese omelette with beans and the second, I had the full English breakfast. Coffee was lovely and there are also cereals and fresh juices.
The house is not very modernised but that didn't matter to me at all as I'm not that picky! Just felt like I was staying in my warm cosy GrandParents house which isn't a bad thing!
I will be going to Cambridge quite a lot over the next few years and will definitely be going back to The Railway Lodge.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The railway lodge is literally like 5minutes from the station and about 20minutes from the college, very convenient! Tony is really helpful and friendly - I booked online and check in/check out was very flexible, and the rooms are comfortable and clean. Sure it's not the newest building, but it's really cosy and they pay attention to the little details. Definitely a great find in Cambridge!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Great location, very near the train station, just as the website has described. We emailed some queries over after booking online and Tony responded promptly each time. We have a sense that he is a fair-minded proprietor because he under-charged us when there was an electronic glitch. Upon arrival, we were greeted by Monica, who gave us very specific directions with bus and walking options, and lent us her map when she heard that we didn't get one from the train station.

Breakfast was superb, with a variety of choices. The cheese omelette is fabulous and the poached egg beautifully done. The hosts took pride in seeing to many details and were very hospitable, although we disturbed them with a late-night phone call. The wifi works very well in the bedroom and dining area. Being on the road for a month and having experienced different B&Bs, we really appreciate the convenience, the warmth and genuine hospitality at Railway Lodge.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The guest house was conveniently located about a 5 minute walk from the train station and a 10-15 minute walk to the town centre. My wife and I had a warm reception from Tony. The room was cozy, bed was comfortable, bathroom clean and breakfast was superb!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidNgCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

A very nice, clean guesthouse in a really convenient location.
The staff were most accommodating, and a big thank you to the lovely lady who firstly saved our car from the traffic wardens, and secondly fed me a banana the morning after I'd drunk too much at the wedding we'd come up for.
I'd be sure to stay here again next time we come back to Cambridge

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.2 mi away
Centennial Hotel
Centennial Hotel
#19 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
0.0 mi away
Fenners Hotel
Fenners Hotel
#30 of 36 in Cambridge
3.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Norwich Street Apartments - Peymans
0.0 mi away
A & B Guest House
A & B Guest House
#36 of 122 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Earl of Derby
The Earl of Derby
#26 of 122 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Railway Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railway Lodge Guest House

Property: Railway Lodge Guest House
Address: 150 Tenison Road, Cambridge CB1 2DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 122 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Railway Lodge Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Railway Lodge Guest House Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing