We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Autumn House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Autumn House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 129 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

The house is absolutely immaculate, as are the rooms and ensuite bathroom, the decor looks very new. Sharon and Al are exceptional hosts. Our bed was very comfortable and the room light and airy. with bottles of water and packets of tea, coffee, horllcks or hot cocolate. The breakfast was superb Al took our orders we all had something different but that was no problem. They asked us what our plans were and suggested the nicest way to walk into the city centre, gave us advice on the buses and marked on a map places of interest, we were there for a wedding in Magdalene College and they arranged for our taxi pickup, we did not use them but they also recommended the nearby restaurants



Sharon and Al recommended some nearby restaurants,

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IvansMaidstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    24
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
152
25
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

Wonderful hosts, Sharon and Al, went out of their way to make our stay lovely. They cook a terrific breakfast. They loaned us a walking tour guidebook, and recommended a walk along the river that was a highlight of our visit. They explained which bus to take if we didn't want to walk into the town center - very easy! They arranged taxis for when I had to go to where I was working. They even cut their evening out short to go back and meet the person delivering our bag which the airline had temporarily lost, so we'd be sure to get it.

The house is all newly redone, charming decor, quiet, light and airy. Our bed was quite comfortable. We could keep our room at the temperature we preferred - some B&Bs keep the rooms too warm for us.

Sharon and Al recommended some nearby restaurants, which were really outstanding. You can't go wrong staying at Autumn House and following their advice!

This was a combined business and pleasure trip for me and my husband - Trip Advisor only lets me choose one below.

Room Tip: We were in #4, I expect they are all just as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

This place is amazing, just like everyone is saying from the time we turned up to the time we left it was first class and nothing was too much trouble for Al & Sharron for the 6 nights we were there. They completely looked after us and went out of their way to help us with a few things. Cannot praise this place and couple enough, the room was 5* and had everything you needed.
And last but not least the breakfast was for kings, superb. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: We had the Delux suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank knellyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We were to arrive late as travelling after work that day but Al welcomed us into their beautiful B&B and made us feel at ease immediately.This was a Birthday treat for my Wife and with the immaculate bedroom and ensuite bathroom,could not have planned it any better.Al and Sharon were great hosts and wow,could they serve up a good breakfast.Their knowledge and advice of Cambridge meant that no time was wasted in our weekend stay and we left elated having visited all the top spots,including the punting.I cannot recommend this B&B enough cos its simply the best B&B we have ever stayed in!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

Sharon and Al welcomed us into their beautiful B & B. We had a lovely weekend in Cambridge and like previous guests we thoroughly enjoyed the wonderful breakfast. Sharon and Al gave us lots of tips on where to visit in town as well as telling us to haggle when it came to punting.

I'm glad to say I managed to get my photograph of the "Red telephone boxes' and we will definately return to Cambridge again soon. We enjoyed a lovely walk along the river from the B & B into town, we highly recommend staying in Autumn House.

Thanks again to our hosts.

Mike & Jo

PS. I will send you a photo of said boxes soon!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo1968Mike1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

My mum and I visited Cambridge for a weekend in early December 2012. We could not fault this B n B! Our hosts were very knowledgeable and friendly, the room spotless and breakfast simply delicious! I would highly recommend staying at Autumn House if you are visiting Cambridge - it is well located and easy to find. Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahaitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

Stayed at the very sweet Autumn House for four nights in November. It was the perfect respite for long days at work while in the throes of a bad head cold. Mine was a spotless, comfy deluxe double with a terrific bed, wonderful bathroom, and while facing on busy Lensfield Road quiet enough for this light sleeper. Every morning included a fresh and delicious breakfast prepared by sweet Sharon; Al proved helpful in every possible way – the two of them exactly the right combination of warmth, efficiency, and kindness.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BSmiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.6 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Cambridge City East Hotel
1.7 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
2.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Autumn House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Autumn House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Autumn House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 588 Newmarket Road | Cambridge, Cambridge CB5 8LP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Autumn House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Autumn House B & B is located to the east of the historical city of Cambridge, just under a mile from the hub of Cambridge City centre and close to several Business Parks and the Science Park with easy access to the M11 and A14 North, and only a stone throw from the city's airport. Autumn House B n B is an extended modern contemporary house, offering stylish, luxurious accommodation with a high standard of cleanliness where a warm and comfortable stay is guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Autumn House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Autumn House Hotel Cambridge
Autumn House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing