We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the 3 hotels to stay at in Cambridge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“One of the 3 hotels to stay at in Cambridge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

Du Vin is a relatively new arrival in Cambridge, so the place is fairly nice and modern. However, they cut a few corners with the modernisation (for example, why still use keys with enormous key tags instead of more convenient electronic swipe cards??). The rooms are fairly sizeable but make sure you ask for a large and quiet room when you book, as not all rooms are of good size and some of them are near the cigar shack (which can get quite loud) or facing the road. Staff are professional and friendly. Perhaps the cleaning staff could do a better job (there seemed to be a lot of them always around the place, yet one day I left the room at 7 am and returned at 3 pm and the room wasn't even made!). The adjacent bistro serves good food for dinner. Breakfast is good without being outstanding. The downstairs bar is a really nice place to hang out, and the bar staff is very friendly and professional. Parking is only via valet and charged extra. Internet is wireless and free. Rooms have silly wine names instead of numbers, which makes it a bit annoying to find rooms, but I'm being picky. The location is ok, minutes away from everything. By the way, the only other two hotels I would stay at while in Cambridge are the Hilton and Crowne Plaza. :)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Therooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    277
    147
    73
    28
See reviews for
88
483
32
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

Hotel du Vin is walking distance to everything in Cambridge, full of local character, outstanding dinner menu, of course excellent wine list and wonderful local homegrown goodies for breakfast. Rooms are comfy, though A.C. a bit weak (not surprising), bathroom luxury in a simple, elegant way. Generous high quality toiletries. Modern and classic establishment - perfectly in tune with its surroundings. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BDG618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

We booked this for the dinner/stay deal . The menu is limited and so we chose our starters from the a la carte menu for which we had to pay extra. The food was perfectly cooked and we would recommend scallops. risotto, onglet steak and "the best chocolate mousse ever tasted". The rooms are spotless and quite modern and the beds are very comfortable. The bar and outside area are also very nicely designed and cosy.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loobyloury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Rochelle, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

A boutique hotel in Cambridge with an attached restaurant. We had a high priced suite in the basement, which had a heated tile floor in the bathroom and a great shower and that's where it ended. The room was dark, at midday and the hallway to the room was musty beyond belief, you had to hold your breath down the hallway. The room itself was pretty much free of odor for some reason
The restaurant had decent food and small portions, and prices which would be high for manhattan.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jbjbjb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
514 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

I stayed here after a meeting with customers. The rooms are very nice - spotless, spacious, good showers, toiletteries, good mini bar with reasonable prices, comfortable large bed......Nothing more you can ask for. The bar has lots of nooks and crannies for relaxing in. A great selection of wines by the glass. In a very picturesque part of Cambridge , right in the heart of things. There is no on sitr parking but they will valet park your car for you. Very friendly and helpful girls on reception.
Breakfast was excellent. Very good cold buffet choice and a wide selection of freshly cooked hot options
Definitely the best hotel that I have stayed at in Cambridge

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisasplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CR686
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2011

I have recently returned from a weekend away at the Hotel du Vin in Cambridge.

We had a really fantastic time, and couldnt recommend it highly enough. I have stayed at quite a few of the Hotel du Vins around the country and am never disappointed.

The rooms were lovely, we had two great meals in the bistro, cocktails in the bar and all the staff were really friendly.

I have friends staying in Cambridge soon and have definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CR686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

I booked this hotel for my wife and I to get away from London for a relaxing couple of nights. We love Cambridge and wine so it seemed the perfect choice. I booked well in advance through central reservations and I was persuaded to upgrade to a superior king room after I was told it would have the roll top bath and walk in monsoon shower. Nice luxury extras which I thought were worth the extra cost. We arrived at 3pm to check in and after a minor delay to pick a room for us we were taken to our room. Our room was nice but to my disappointment had none of the features I was persuaded to pay extra for. I reported this to reception and they took me to another room without debate. I'm not sure how they could miss something that was specifically highlighted by the booking team.

Dinner in the restaurant was delicious though the service was a bit rushed and the menu a bit overpriced. Be warned, the wine list has very little on offer at the 'value' end of the spectrum. We did have a couple of amazing wines, both over £60. (just as a tip if you fancy a glass of wine in your room, a short 10 minute walk unto town will lead you to a decent wine merchants with knowledgable staff. Stay on same road as hotel, same side of road.)

Overall, our stay was great. I just feel the hotel falls a bit short of delivering a full experience you would expect for the price. I don't mind paying to get that little bit extra but I don't like it to be clearly noticeable where the hotel is trying to squeeze a little more money out of me- like charging £18 per day for parking. This feels like a blatant rip off and cheapens the hotel image a bit.

There are often great deals for this hotel, some which include dinner. As the hotel and location are lovely, I recommend finding a deal, and making sure you are very clear about what you are expecting from your room. You never know, prices might come down and service might sharpen up now that the Varsity Spa Hotel is getting great reviews right in the heart of Cambridge. Check that one out as well!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apmv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,224 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,659 reviews
0.2 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
2.1 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Cambridge

Property: Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Address: Trumpington Street, Cambridge, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful hotel in Cambridge city centre was a former University-owned building on Trumpington Street which has been transformed to enhance its many quirky architectural features.Forty one bedrooms and suites, some with private terraces, have been carved out of the former University-owned building, alongside our trademark bistro with the first Hotel du Vin open-style kitchen and curiously labyrinthine cellar bar. Dating back in part to medieval times, Hotel du Vin Cambridge boasts a cosy library, private events room perfect for special occasions, meetings and events. The bistro and bar are available for residents, locals and visitors alike at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Cambridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vin Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing