We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again a faultless and enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Once again a faultless and enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 27 October 2011

A return after 9 months and an excellent time. It stands comparison to any boutique hotel in Europe.

Breakfast is expensive but a available at Browns next door at half the price

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodc0te
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    278
    157
    79
    32
See reviews for
95
499
33
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

This is a really pretty hotel in a perfect setting. You can hand over your car on arrival and then you're free to explore. The bedrooms are comfortable and quite generous in size; the bathroom is not large but with excellent showers. We found the restaurant buzzing - you need to book in advance - with unfussy, well prepared food. The only problem is with service. The staff are very pleasant but seem to be inadequately trained. Getting afternoon tea was difficult enough; adding a cocktail caused three different staff members and three different requests before arrival. We had a similar problem in the restaurant. Only when we ordered food were we told that a specific dish was no longer available. If the hotel gets its training sorted out, this will be a really super hotel, but even so, I would recommend it for its charm and location.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susie92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

I stayed here for three nights in September. This hotel has lots of charm, and the rooms are nicely appointed. Neat library on the main floor. Very comfortable bed, with high thread-count sheets and nice toiletries. The bathroom fixtures were modern, including a rainfall-type shower head. Free wi-fi is available, if I recall correctly. The hotel has a central location, with several restaurants nearby.

Some rooms have two levels and steps within the room, so if mobility is an issue, it would be a good idea to check with the hotel whether the room you'll be reserving has one level or two.

Great in-hotel breakfast at the hotel restaurant, which had friendly, accommodating servers.

The Front Desk comes across as a little inflexible compared to other hotels where I've stayed recently. I hope the Front Desk considers allowing its clerks more discretion when a hotel guest requests a later check-out time, and I hope the hotel starts to allow guests to meet colleagues in the hotel restaurant without the surcharge the hotel currently charges.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Hotel du Vin again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phoenikia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

This is a lovely, slightly quirky hotel in the typical Hotel du Vin style. The 1st room was lovely apart from the bed looking directly onto a university laboratory: there were only full blinds, so I felt a little exposed unless I closed that and had the light on! There was no problem changing rooms - the woman at reception was extremely helpful and organised a room at the front which was perfect.

We had no problems sleeping - the road outside was very quiet and there was secondary glazing. It might be rowdier in term-time...?

We found the staff uniformly friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Women especially might find rooms at the front more comfortable/private
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feline_charm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We stayed here for 4nights in August. The location of the hotel is perfect for seeing all that Cambridge has to offer without the need for a car. We did have a car to allow us to go further afield & would definitely recommend that if you do have a car you should make use of the valet parking offered by the hotel (at a price!) as on street parking is not available & the nearest car park is a bit of a walk. The room was very good & the shower in our bathroom was the best we have ever had in a hotel. The hotel breakfast was very good and we also used the bistro at lunch - again this was very good.

Cambridge is a lovely place and would definitely recommend punting on the river!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2travelfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We returned to the Hotel du Vin for one Saturday night's stay recently and once again from the time of our arrival to the time of our departure the staff could not be faulted. We were warmly welcomed, helped with our luggage (and because we checked in early they were happy to store our luggage and place in our room when it became available) and offered us a change of room when they understood our circumstances. They could not have been more helpful. The room was lovely but we missed the roll top bath which we have had on previous visits. The bed was extremely comfortable. The rooms on the back of the hotel are very quiet but do not have a good view! - having said that those on the front are noisier so its a matter of choice.

Dinner in the restaurant was excellent. The restaurant was buzzy, the service was good and very friendly and the pre-dinner drinks in the cozy bar were lovely and unhurried.

Breakfast was similarly delicious - the croissants were warm, the fruit salad was very good, and there was a great choice on the buffet table which was regularly replaced. There also was a great choice of cooked breakfasts.

If I had anything to "grumble" about it would only be that the wifi which is now free did not connect - but maybe that was my fault....who knows!

We are Hdv fans and the location of Cambridge Hdv is almost as perfect as you can get! We had two splendid days in the sunshine soaking up the atmosphere and we will be back again, and again!

Thank you Hdv

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calmaYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Good sized comfortable rooms, good service, great food in the bistro and very good value. Location is also good, a short walk to Cambridge centre. Only downside was a dirty bath robe and tiny tv with only freeview channels. Would recommend despite this.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunshine4h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,312 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,756 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.2 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#3 of 36 in Cambridge
420 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Cambridge

Property: Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Address: Trumpington Street, Cambridge, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful hotel in Cambridge city centre was a former University-owned building on Trumpington Street which has been transformed to enhance its many quirky architectural features.Forty one bedrooms and suites, some with private terraces, have been carved out of the former University-owned building, alongside our trademark bistro with the first Hotel du Vin open-style kitchen and curiously labyrinthine cellar bar. Dating back in part to medieval times, Hotel du Vin Cambridge boasts a cosy library, private events room perfect for special occasions, meetings and events. The bistro and bar are available for residents, locals and visitors alike at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Cambridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel du Vin Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing