We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shocking!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Shocking!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

We were paying £245 for a room that housed (in the bathroom) an extractor from the kitchen that sounded like a jet engine. The last visit from the manager was at 2.45am when we were told it would take another 20 minutes to shut off! Absolutely unbelievable that anyone should be allocated this room, let alone pay £245 for the privilege! The hotel was full, so at 2.45am the manager offered to move us.... to a different hotel!! They halved the bill, but really, why would one pay £122.50 to NOT sleep? Just dreadful, and left an extremely bad taste in my mouth. The other issues with the room were the bathroom extractor fan that wouldn't turn off - we asked for this to be done and it was, however the noise of the fan was cunningly disguising the noise of Heathrow Terminal 5 coming from the cupboard. Also other extractors outside the window, which were supposed to be turned off at 11 but didn't stop until after midnight. Really, the worst possible way to celebrate our 12th wedding anniversary. Thanks very much Hotel du Vin.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank iloveharpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    277
    147
    73
    28
See reviews for
88
483
32
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

This place was a revelation when it first came to Cambridge which was not renowned for its selection of decent hotels. It is a nice place, rooms on the small side but that is something that is peculiar to Cambridge. decent cellar bar and the cigar shack is a quirky touch though pity the guests who are placed next to it...

I stayed there in September for a night and I was really struck by how patchy the service was. You expect it to be great for the price but I was left with a definite sensation that the guests were in the way. This is a shame as HdV should be nothing short of awesome, particularly now there are a few more nice small hotels in the town to choose from.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LateBookMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

Booked this hotel last minute and it was pretty pricey on a saturday night - over £150. The room was ok, clean, but nothing special and pretty small. The bathroom had faulty underfloor heating, which was far too hot. We didn't bother complaining about this as we only there one night and going out.

Then at breakfast we asked whether the cooked breakfast was included with our room and were told it wasn't and would £29 for the two of us (despite what we'd already paid) so we opted for the buffet instead. On check out we were then astonished to discover that they wanted to charge us an extra £25 for just the buffet breakfast, despite being told it was included.

We argued the toss and we were told a bare faced lie by the man who served breakfast - claiming he hadnt even spoken to us.

Eventually they relented, but it was only one member of staff, who made out she was doing us a favour. Felt very agrieved by this, especially having been treated so rudely - is not the customer always right? But we put all this aside and enjoyed Cambridge.

A few days later I received a receipt for a mini bar bill of 2 cans of diet coke and 2 cans of red bull, which we never even took (especially the latter - we wouldn't touch the stuff).

So even after we'd left this place they still manged to get extra money out of us. We didn't even bother disputing it, just promised to never go somewhere like this again. And I'd advise anyone not to bother, unless you want to have the feeling of being ripped for the whole duration of your stay. Go somewhere cheaper, friendlier, more authentic.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank W A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

I have stayed here a few times as I have reason to be in Cambridge. I am always amazed by the fact that when you get there, it's (mostly) great - wonderful rooms, ambience, quiet etc but I think they have a staffing problem. So there is no appreciation of the return booker, no discounts/allowances if you are familiar - and a general level of impersonality/rudeness I don't enjoy when paying these prices. I would say they know that in Cambridge, they have you captive....and act accordingly.

Hotel du Vin needs to wake up. I had a Cambridge graduate with a First showing me to my room - he was amazing. I don't expect (or want) that - but I do expect better - personal- service. If I book again, it will be reluctantly. But it does the trick if you dont care about the cost.

Room Tip: Make sure the person you book with speaks decent English ! HushHeath amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdm2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

This is a good quality hotel in the centre of Cambridge across the street from the Fitzwilliam Museum. It is a higgledy-piggledy collection of various characterful buildings that have been joined together to form the hotel. I was given a room on the top floor in what must have been formerly the attic storey. Indeed if I was not shown to my room I would have had problems finding it and got lost returning to it more than once. The room itself was of a good size apart from the bathroom which was a little cramped. Decor was minimalistic but tasteful and the solid wooden furniture was well chosen and attractive. The emphasis was on comfort (extra large bed, fluffy towels, luxurious bathroom products, Nespresso coffee machine). My only real complaint with the room was the small-screened TV and the surprisingly poor quality toilet paper. Additionally there was a certain amount of noise at night with a swinging door loudly banging in the corridor outside and incessant knocking at my neighbour's door. Breakfast was a delight. There was plenty of choice and my full English was cooked to order, something of a rarity nowadays. Despite the high standards, there is no getting around the fact that the Hotel du Vin is expensive, approaching London prices, but perhaps this is true of all accommodation in Cambridge. However, the great advantage of this hotel was its location; everything in the town (sights, shops, university colleges, ect.) is within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnL63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

I really liked this hotel and enjoyed my stay here. We had booked the valet parking and the service was prompt on our arrival. We were shown to our room by a member of the reception staff, which I thought was a very nice touch. I was impressed by the size of our room and the bed was very comfortable. As with most boutique hotels the lighting was rather dim and I found putting on make up and styling my hair in the room a bit difficult although the magnifying mirror in the bathroom was a useful addition. One small complaint that I do have about the room are the tea bags, which in my opinion are very poor quality resulting in a pretty nasty cup of tea. However, I was impressed by the coffee machine in the room. The bar was very nice, lots of comfortable seating and a very knowledgable bar man. We also ate in the bistro and I was very impresssed with the food, which was the set menu.
I would most definately consider staying here again, it is a tad expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth-Herts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
109 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

A return after 9 months and an excellent time. It stands comparison to any boutique hotel in Europe.

Breakfast is expensive but a available at Browns next door at half the price

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodc0te
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,229 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,659 reviews
0.2 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
2.1 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Cambridge

Property: Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Address: Trumpington Street, Cambridge, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful hotel in Cambridge city centre was a former University-owned building on Trumpington Street which has been transformed to enhance its many quirky architectural features.Forty one bedrooms and suites, some with private terraces, have been carved out of the former University-owned building, alongside our trademark bistro with the first Hotel du Vin open-style kitchen and curiously labyrinthine cellar bar. Dating back in part to medieval times, Hotel du Vin Cambridge boasts a cosy library, private events room perfect for special occasions, meetings and events. The bistro and bar are available for residents, locals and visitors alike at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Cambridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vin Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing