We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good rooms, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Herts, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location, good rooms, friendly staff”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We've stayed here twice on the HduV Sunday night room and meal package. It's a good excuse for a night away in a lovely city.

Superior rooms are good and dinner in the bistro was very enjoyable.

The valet parking is quick, easy and worth paying for.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sportsfanHerts_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    279
    154
    77
    29
See reviews for
92
495
33
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

From when we entered to when we left we had a great time, the menu was good and they had a special menu for the night we went in, which the wife had, but I liked my mussels and oysters and I was going to have oysters for dessert but I had pear crumble the service was excellent and our waitress Gabby was helpful in choosing what we had. The food was well presented and filling, we will go back there again

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 165000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex, uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Myself and my fiance stayed here, we stayed in the willi opitz room, loved the room, although it was a bit noisy outside at night. Very close to the river, bars and restaurants. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Essex_UkNicp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Well located, the hotel offers a no fuss car valet service which was worth the money. Rooms are well appointed - milk in mini bar a good touch alongside usual booze. Ate in adjoining bistro on two nights - some people have said it's overpriced but i didnt find it so. Has a good ambiance and the food and service was good quality. If you want cheap dining there's loads of pasta places anyway in the town. My only criticism is the hotel have built a very omfortable smoking area (the cigar shack) right next to three of the rooms which are in a separate courtyard. The noise even on a March evening at 11pm was unacceptable for residents in these rooms. That said, the hotel dealt with my irate complaint well - we were moved into another room for our second night on a free upgrade. Would definitely return but would check on room first.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twyford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Cant fault anything about this hotel. Staff are friendly and professional, location is fab, rooms (suites) are excellent (bath in room and double entry walk in shower). Lovely food both dinner and breakfast.

Will return for another weekend v soon

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilTwyford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

What you would expect from Hotel Du Vin. Rolltop bath, fragrant bath stuff and soaps, fluffy dressing gowns, comfortable beds with ironed sheets and well appointed rooms.

The Cambridge hotel is in the centre of historic Cambridge in a grand Georgian building a few doors from Browns. Parking is a bit of a problem but I believe the hotel run a parking service whereby a driver can take your car to a secure parking area and return it at a designated time. We have always parked in the Pay and Display spaces outside which are free after a certain time.

The only place to stay in Cambridge that will bring a smile to your wife's face, guaranteed.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main part of the building, avoid the extension at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JasperJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I always look for the most old world stylish hotel that I can find, and having looked around in Cambridge during my five day stay, I think that Hotel du Vin is about the best. The building is old, but the deco recently done. Although a new renovation, it is very sensitive to the style of the property. The service was good and the room very stylish and comfortable. My only complaint was that the lounge which I wanted to spend lots of time in because it was lovely, was often "booked for a function".

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maynardophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,715 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.2 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
408 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Cambridge

Property: Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Address: Trumpington Street, Cambridge, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful hotel in Cambridge city centre was a former University-owned building on Trumpington Street which has been transformed to enhance its many quirky architectural features.Forty one bedrooms and suites, some with private terraces, have been carved out of the former University-owned building, alongside our trademark bistro with the first Hotel du Vin open-style kitchen and curiously labyrinthine cellar bar. Dating back in part to medieval times, Hotel du Vin Cambridge boasts a cosy library, private events room perfect for special occasions, meetings and events. The bistro and bar are available for residents, locals and visitors alike at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Cambridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel du Vin Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing