We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning hotel, attentive staff, couldn't ask for more!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stunning hotel, attentive staff, couldn't ask for more!”
Reviewed 7 March 2013

This was my first trip to Cambridge, and certainly won't be my last. The Hotel du Vin doesn't let down in anyway. The staff were so attentive, explaining everything in the room, and where everything was in the hotel. My room was like nothing I've seen before, with a set of stairs leading down to the bathroom! Breakfast was hot and fast, I couldn't of asked for a better stay. The hotel is in a great location, just a few minutes from the city centre.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    277
    151
    76
    28
See reviews for
91
488
33
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Du Vin in Cambridge for two nights in March 2013. The plan was to tie in a weekend away with a wine tasting event on the Saturday to save the need for a nominated driver (and as a vague excuse for a weekend away drinking wine).

The first thing to know about the hotel is that there is no parking. We were not aware of this until we were on route and called ahead to ask what the arrangement was. We were charged £18 per night for parking offsite and this included the car being taken away and delivered back to the hotel for us as needed. The hotel have done the best that they can to overcome the limited amount of parking in Cambridge but some more visibility of this at booking would have been welcome.

The hotel itself is arty, comfortable, perhaps a little quirky (in a good way) and the food and wine is excellent. I am not a foody and perhaps not even someone with any knowledge of wine - other than knowing what tastes nice to my palette - but still you know when you are eating in the restaurant or drinking in the cellar bar that it is something special, fresh and fine.

The cellar bar is worth a mention in itself. It is a lovely place to sit and have a drink and is clearly used by the locals who know about the hidden sofa's, comfy chairs and knowledable staff. It is expensive (c£10 per glass of wine) but it is worth it. You don't go to the Hotel Du Vin to save money.

The bedroom itself was comfortable. A double bed, wardrobe, coffee machine, television on the wall, bathroom with shower over bath and a heated floor. The only particular observation about the bedroom would be the cool temperature which was made ever more obvious by the heated floor in the bathroom. One room cold. One room hot. We had to make a request of reception to heat the room more despite the usual confused wall mounted thermostats which never seem to do anything.

Final comments? The hotel is in a great location for Cambridge City Centre. It is probably five minutes walk. There is another pub/restaurant almost next door (Browns), a museum opposite and a newsagent a few minutes down the road. We were also very impressed with the restaurant who took the time to bring our dinner to our room for us after we were 'resting' post wine tasting on the Saturday evening.

Overall, highly recommended. Be prepared to spend some money but it is worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SiJo2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We stayed here for one night and thoruoughly enjoyed the experience. It was very comfortable and the staff were very friendly and attentive. I advised them it was to celebrate my wifes birthady and they had a card in the room, nice touch.
They accepted bag before room was ready allowing you to wander up into the city centre (15 mins walk max) and when we checked out they kept the bag until we were ready to leave agin allowing time to go around the sights for an hour or two.
Breakfast was fabulous. I would recommend the valet parking but be aware that there is a bit of time to wait for vehicle to be returned and if you are in a hurry to airport, etc give yourself 15mins.
The bar is very cosy however a little expensive but it is a high class hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dood19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent,uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

This is not the first Hotel Du Vin I have stayed with my husband;sadly it will be the last time I stay at Cambridge.
I can not fault the service ,the cusine and cleanliness,however after spending one night in one of the superior rooms ,The Willi Optiz which is on the main Trumpington Street ,to say we were woken continually would be an understatement.
From the noise of the traffic to the bottles been recycled at 04:00 am right underneath our bedroom.The comings and goings continued through the night and were just unacceptable.

We therefore were not rested and sadly missed the breakfast slot as we were too exhausted to dine downstairs.

Such a dissapointment.

Room Tip: Do not have a room facing the main road,you will get little sleep,the recycling of bottles at 04;00a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meaton222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jersey
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

I have now stayed at H du V Cambridge on a number of occasions. Each time the service has been good but on this visit it was exceptional. We needed to eat an early lunch and the restaurant allowed us to order 15 minutes before their normal opening and served us incredibly speedily. We always enjoy breakfast - fantastic compotes, granola , fresh fruit salad and cakes,patisserie and breads - cooked breakfasts good too . Comb honey most welcome. Rooms are simply but attractively decorated and coffee / tea making tray great- with fresh milk in mini bar. We look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mangerbien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We have spent many a happy time here, celebrating special occasions, eating in the restaurant and having a drink in the cellar bar. However, on Valentine's day we were made to feel not welcome in the bar area, and certainly not allowed to sit down any where, unless we were guests at the hotel and/or eating in the restaurant. That night we were eating elsewhere but was looking forward to having a pre-drink in our favourite bar. I don't feel this was very fair, particularly as we paid good money for two glasses of expensive champagne, we may had stayed for another.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Had booked this hotel on an HdV Winter promotion so good value in Superior room. Being cost conscious I saved a few quid by parking in multi storey at Queen Anne Terrace but I guess most people would go for the convenience of valet parking. We find the bistro dinners in HdV locations to be of a good standard and this hotel was no exception. Rebecca the sommelier was very helpful putting a great deal of thought into her suggestions. The Aberdeen girl who was attending our table was very attentive and got even higher marks for the way she sorted out the fact that we had had to order a la carte on the first night because we hadn't been given the prix fixe menu as part of the promotion.
The representations she made meant that this cost was adjusted when we checked out.
Having been staying the previous couple of nights in a London hotel which wanted to charge £27 each for breakfast we thought the price at HdV was probably reasonable.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sag356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,251 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
0.2 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
2.1 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Cambridge

Property: Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Address: Trumpington Street, Cambridge, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful hotel in Cambridge city centre was a former University-owned building on Trumpington Street which has been transformed to enhance its many quirky architectural features.Forty one bedrooms and suites, some with private terraces, have been carved out of the former University-owned building, alongside our trademark bistro with the first Hotel du Vin open-style kitchen and curiously labyrinthine cellar bar. Dating back in part to medieval times, Hotel du Vin Cambridge boasts a cosy library, private events room perfect for special occasions, meetings and events. The bistro and bar are available for residents, locals and visitors alike at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Cambridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel du Vin Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing