We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful way to spend an Annniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We stayed at this charming Hotel for our wedding Anniversary weekend. We had a suite in one of the oldest parts of the building. The bathroom was astonishing and really very well appointed. The bed was huge and oh so comfortable. We dined in the restaurant both evenings as the food was so good, and the service was friendly and good. The bar was a delight one of the best stocked that I have seen. It is not a cheap venue, but for a special occasion well worth the extra pennies.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a table for the Restaurant as it gets very busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (928)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

623 - 629 of 928 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2013

A LOVELY hotel in a superb location in Cambridge, this Hotel du Vin has great charm, supreme comfort and some really luxurious details. Sleep quality was superb, food great for both breakfast and dinner and service out of this world. For best value go for the bed, breakfast and dinner package. Not cheap but well worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexandraUdinov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We had a really great stay here.

Service was friendly and efficient.

Breakfast and dinner in the bistro were spot on. Really lovely bistro food with very frienfly staff and a very helpful Spanish lady sommelier. As we had booked bed, breakfast and dinner it also worked out very good value. Chicken liver parfait with a glass of Felton road Riesling was superb!

The bar is very atmospheric and cosy with lovely little nooks, perfect for a cold evening before dinner.

We booked a superior room but were happy to find we were upgraded to the cinema suite. As it was a free upgrade we loved it but calling it either a cinema or a suite was a little generous. The cinema is actually a funny little cellar room adjoining the main room with a big telly, speakers and 2 arm chairs crammed in. If I'd paid for this I would have been disappointed. Similarly the lovely roll top bath was oddly placed by the bedroom door. I think they have basically tried too hard to make something from a slightly awkward basement space.

Location is perfect. Just along from the Fitzwilliam museum and then a short trot to the rest of picturesque Cambridge.

Overall would happily recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zoomcat09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We stayed for two nights at the end of March on a B&B basis. The location of the hotel is good enough that we didn't need to use the car the entire weekend (but had to pay £18 a night to park which we didn't realise until we arrived). The room was very nice, a big room with a big comfy bed, a lovely bathroom with under floor heating and big fluffy towels and robes. The room was fairly cold despite us having the heating as high as it would go. We were also in a room that was on the road and on the Friday night we were disturbed by people inside and outside the hotel. But overall, we were very pleased with the hotel. The breakfast was lovely and we had room service and the food was very nice. We would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FissyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

On entering the Hotel Du Vin reception we were welcomed. Do not worry about parking, there is an excellent valet parking service available. Park on the double yellow lines with hazard lights and ask at reception.

Chandeliers at reception are made of wine glassses and very impressive. Lovely library room for relaxing and afternoon tea. Bar area had snugs which were perfect for our weekend away. Excellent bar service.

We stayed in a Superior room, which included an expresso coffee maker and a very big selection of teas too. Room was at the back of the hotel so away from the main road. Good size bathroom with bath and rain-shower.

We ate in the restaurant which was good. Waitress service was also excellent and as expected lots of advise available from the Sommelier. We had a lovely starter and main and skipped pudding. When the waitress knew we were planning to return to the bar downstairs she literally ran down to reserve a snug for us - most impressive.

Breakfast menu was plentiful, fresh juices, pastries, fruits, yogurts as well as a selection of cooked breakfasts. As much as you can eat.

I was very sad to leave the hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back of hotel and away from the main road. Use valet parking so you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We had a dinner, bed and breakfast offer in one of the Suites at the hotel - the room was called the 'Geoff Merrill'.

Room: its a fairly small suite but the roll-top bath is lovely and the bed very comfortable. It faces over a fairly busy road but as its on the top floor and there are effectively 2 windows, its not an issue. Would imagine in summer it might not be so great though if you need to have one open. Decorated nicely and good lighting.

Bar: the cocktail making (and service) is excellent and its definitely worth stopping in for a drink in the cavernous bar.

Restaurant: the main disappointment. The food is below the quality I hoped for and would expect. Although there were lots of choices, only 1 dish out of the 6 we had between us was actually memorable. The service was also not great - the sommelier vanished after the wine was opened, about 10 seconds into the main arriving you were asked 'is your food OK?'. Is that what a restaurant should aspire to, food being 'OK'?

Breakfast: decent choice and well prepared but service a bit haphazard.

Overall: would definitely recommend for bed and breakfast (or room only) stays but plenty of better restaurants near-by.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing out front onto the main road unless high enough up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Really nice hotel. Good bar and great service. The rooms have names rather than numbers. This can make them a little hard to find but once found they are gorgeous. The location, just opposite the Fitzwilliam Museum is also fantastic.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,458 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,864 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
445 reviews
0.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
2.1 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 36 in Cambridge
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Cambridge

Address: Trumpington Street, Cambridge, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range: £143 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful hotel in Cambridge city centre was a former University-owned building on Trumpington Street which has been transformed to enhance its many quirky architectural features.Forty one bedrooms and suites, some with private terraces, have been carved out of the former University-owned building, alongside our trademark bistro with the first Hotel du Vin open-style kitchen and curiously labyrinthine cellar bar. Dating back in part to medieval times, Hotel du Vin Cambridge boasts a cosy library, private events room perfect for special occasions, meetings and events. The bistro and bar are available for residents, locals and visitors alike at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Cambridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vin Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing