We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the nicest rooms I've ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Maryland, USA
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“One of the nicest rooms I've ever stayed in”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I spent one night at Hotel du Vin while visiting Cambridge for work. I wish I could have stayed longer, as this was one of the nicer places that I have stayed in. The hotel is a rambling building about 5 minutes walk from the middle of Cambridge, all very nicely remodeled. The rooms are individually configured, and have names rather than numbers, reflecting the individualization. My room was on the top (attic) floor, and it was very nice indeed. Bed was super-comfortable, as was the armchair and other furnishings. But the bathroom, oh the bathroom, it was to die for. Perhaps the best shower I've ever had, and luxurious and huge towels. Espresso maker in the room was cute, though I appreciated that there was also a kettle for more basic needs (though they forgot to provide coffee to go with it). Free wifi was unusually fast (and even faster, at some times of the day, was the eduroam wifi network, which visitors to Cambridge with academic connections might be able to connect to automatically - must have been due to a nearby CU building). I arrived in the morning from a transatlantic flight. I wasn't able to check in early as I had hoped, but I was able to hang out in the rather pleasant 'library' downstairs, and I was given a nice pot of coffee while I waited. The staff in general were very pleasant indeed. Overall, I was very satisfied with HdV, and I'd readily stay there again, if I had the opportunity (and the budget).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    279
    161
    81
    32
See reviews for
99
507
33
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
love2eat41
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

This hotel is very serious about what it does ,from check in to check out they are highly professional. We payed £260 for a superior room which was in the court yard which has a large seating area outside the bedroom door . I would avoid these rooms in the summer as late night drinkers will keep you awake . The only niggles with the room was the t.v reception was awful and there was quite a gap around the door which let in a draft . Nice touch in the room was a nespresso machine.
We had dinner ,food is well executed ,service is amazing .
Overall a relaxing stay ,i would go back but not on that tariff.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love2eat41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

I've never written a review before but left Hotel du Vin feeling a bit underwhelmed. Our room cost £299 including breakfast but felt very average.
The shower had a huge and very noticeable patch of lime scale on the black tiles and the water trickled out to make a big puddle next to the bath.
Our TV remote control didn't work - sounds petty I know but when you see the view out of the window you'll understand the irony of being unable to watch any of the advertised channels!
There was a constant noise from cooling fans outside so we didn't get a lot of sleep.
On the plus side breakfast was very nice!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marquis05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Georgia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2013

spent only one night here but the room was very nice, the tub was large and the shower was great. the bed was nice. the staff was very friendly and accommodating. the outdoor area was nice also, very trendy. the restaurant food was ok, we only had breakfast there but it was alright.

Room Tip: we actually went for new years of 2012. they book up quick so plan early
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astrid T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Stayed here for one night in April, booked through their website, quite expensive for Cambridge. Stayed in a suite room, which had a very big and very comfortable bed! Hotel in general was a bit aged and could do with a little tlc in places (mildew in shower, cracked paint etc). Location is very good, short walk from kings parades, very pretty and surrounded by the colleges. Valet parking is pretty steep at £18 a day!

Breakfast was good, good selection. Nice bar. Lots of stairs-not for the less mobile!

All in all, I'd probably stay elsewhere when next visiting Cambridge. Or just stay in one of their smaller/cheaper rooms as I didn't think the suites were worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Great hotel for visiting centre of Cambridge and its many attractions and sights. The hotel is in some old buildings and has some great features, including quirky room names after wines and related themes. The staff are efficient and attentive. Unforetunately I had to move rooms due to a loud water sound directly over the head of the bed, this was handled really well and a choice of rooms given, disappointing as i had booked a mini suite and there were no other available, the manager offered us a free drink and a price reduction, the free drink never appeared but the price drop did!

the rooms are well presented and include nespresso machines and lovely bedding/toilettries as well as spaciousness and cleanliness.

The breakfast was brilliant, table served not buffet which is better as it means no up and down during meal.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S8C11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This is certainly my prefered hotel in Cambridge. Very handy for the Fitzwilliam Museum and colleges. The bedrooms are very well furnished and equipped with excellent provision of beverages, including Nespresso machines, and bathroom supplies (Miller Harris). Desk staff are unfailingly helpful and, a major plus for this city, they will park your car.
The restaurant operation provides some very good food, a major winelist with some real bargains as well as fine vintages but the service is not as good as it should be and on our most recent visit we had to repeat requests for a number of items. However I don't hesitate in recommending the Hotel du Vin, particularly if you can get a deal including breakfast and/or dinner.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helenjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,346 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,781 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#3 of 36 in Cambridge
430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
2.1 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Cambridge

Property: Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Address: Trumpington Street, Cambridge, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful hotel in Cambridge city centre was a former University-owned building on Trumpington Street which has been transformed to enhance its many quirky architectural features.Forty one bedrooms and suites, some with private terraces, have been carved out of the former University-owned building, alongside our trademark bistro with the first Hotel du Vin open-style kitchen and curiously labyrinthine cellar bar. Dating back in part to medieval times, Hotel du Vin Cambridge boasts a cosy library, private events room perfect for special occasions, meetings and events. The bistro and bar are available for residents, locals and visitors alike at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Cambridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vin Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing