We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mostly good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Vin Cambridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Mostly good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

My room - a standard double - was pretty spacious and reasonably quiet (facing towards the back, but right by reception), and the decor was in a reasonable state. Others in my group, though, were less complimentary about their rooms. Bed extremely comfortable and the room was generally conducive to a good night's sleep.

Staff on reception were great - friendly, helpful and willing to go the extra mile.

Breakfast offered an excellent array, without even touching the cooked menu.

Less excited about dinner in the bistro - it's a 'heavy' menu for a proper dinner, with no lighter options so go elsewhere if you're not after a hefty meal.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank London_UK_member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    275
    147
    73
    28
See reviews for
88
478
32
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Our room was dark and dreary. The loo was badly stained and bathroom could do with a good clean. We did not like the Cigar Shack in the courtyard. Smoke wafting into bedrooms is not what we want. Then there was the noisy chattering of the late night smokers. We were pretty fed up. The saving grace was the good Bistro food and the lovely helpful staff. I'm sure they would like to see the hotel refurbished. They deserve better. Excellent central location but car parking is £18.00 per night.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Courtyard are situated next to the Cigar Shack, if you smoke that's ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

A very expensive hotel with internet speeds slower than dial up 15 years ago. Time for this hotel to lift its game. If it's going to charge top dollar it's about time it offered 21st century services.

If you are looking for a good hotel in Cambridge, skip this one and go to the double tree.

Damien.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dmlyons07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

I booked online for a two day treat with partner. The cost said £175 per night but on check out I was charged £195 plus £225 for Friday and Sat night. I didn't raise this at check out as it was a treat for my partner and didn't want to spoil the weekend. I emailed the hotel on the monday 17th March and I'm still waiting for a reply. So not happy. Room was an upgrade but very small with large bathroom area. Not worth the price especially the increased price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan4317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

I liked this hotel and would have given 3.5 stars if possible. It's friendly and with a nice 'designy' feel, bordering on luxury. It's wonderfully located in Cambridge (which is a small enough centre to begin with, and this hotel is as central within the centre as can be).

The front of house staff were as charming and helpful as could ever be asked for.

In advance of the stay I had some really helpful exchanges with the team there and Charlotte was great about arranging to give us a reserved area at the bar for a post-dinner party, and utterly helpful about parking and other requests.

Thus far, all very 5* review.

Upon arrival our room was spacious and well-appointed. Good room facilities, solid free wifi and nice toiletries, allied to a very comfortable bed and good soundproofing were all in keeping with the expectations - and also the price. This was not a cheap room (slightly above the Cambridge norm), but I wasn't regretting it.

The service from the rest of the team was, however, less spectacular.

When we arrived at the bar after our dinner with c20 guests the area had not been reserved for us and the staff knew nothing of my reservation. Some persuading later we had a space, but the service was terribly slow. Not horrible, nor rude - just slow and slightly inept.

Breakfast the next morning continued this 'theme of two halfs'. The breakfast itself was excellent and a real standard-setter. The buffet was generous, fresh and interesting, and included in the room rate. The cooked/menu breakfast was excellent and an utterly reasonable few pounds extra. However, the slow service went from comic to frustrating. Asking three times for hot milk to go with the coffee was bad enough, but on our second coffee the waiter somehow forgot that we had milk and the charade started again. Seeking basics like, er, butter took a long time and catching a waiter's eye was difficult - I think they'd had their peripheral vision removed, or were concentrating so hard on standing upright that there was no processing power left for observation...

The manager was great, but the staff looked as if they were slightly worried, bemused and all on their first day.

I've stayed in a number of the Hotel du Vin properties and I think that this is up to par with the others. Premium pricing, near-luxury rooms that are well designed and comfortable, managerial and front-desk staff who are friendly and helpful, and then overstretched staff elsewhere.

The price was not really "worth" it, but in the context of Cambridge (and expensive bubble with limited choice) it wasn't bad and were I to stay in Cambridge again I would look here first for availability.

Hence the 3* rating. It's not bad, it's good value for the city and location, and there are high points. It's just not awesome.

Room Tip: Street rooms are bright, and not too noisy - we were on the first floor in a studio (Marqueres) and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ianjindal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We went to HDV Cambridge using the Sunday Sleepover special where if you spend £75 in the bistro for dinner you get your hotel room for £45. This was a fantastic deal and we were so excited to go there. We arrived and Reception were very friendly and they had upgraded us because they knew it was our anniversary. I was slightly disappointed when we were escorted to our room and the communal area carpet was grey, tired, uninspiring and a far cry from boutique chic. We walked up a lot of staircases to our room on the top floor which when we first arrived looked great. The roll top bath was in the living area and was great to have a soak in and watch a film and the huge rainforest shower was bliss.

The chaise had a large hole in the upholstery which was unsightly and the bed although large and comfortable was lacking in terms of pillows. They were very soft and flimsy.

The toilet and hand basin were in a small ensuite but there was a horrible smell in there from when we arrived and frankly it wasn't very clean.

On the positive side, my husband loved the Nespresso machine in our room and the meal at the bistro was yummy.

Will not be returning in a hurry.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pollyisabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Having stayed previously in Poole, Brighton, Newcastle, Winchester & Henley I was very dissapointed with the value provided by the (new) dinner b&b offer. You would think that £209 would afford you more than three main course choices (no beef, pork or chicken!?) but it didn't! On asking what was included in our rate we were told that it was £20 per head from the menu and any more would be chargeable! It used to be £50 each. This information was not provided prior to booking so the first time we saw it was when we sat down for dinner! By this time it was too late! My advice..stay there if you want but due to the penny pinching from head office (as we were told about on five occasions) don't bother with the offer it's not worth it. Also I wouldn't normally mention the pubic hair under the towel rail or the hair clip that was kindly left from the previous guest but given the fact that we feel that the offer cost us money rather than saved us I thought I would mention that too!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterD191271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,188 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
2.1 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Cambridge

Property: Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Address: Trumpington Street, Cambridge, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful hotel in Cambridge city centre was a former University-owned building on Trumpington Street which has been transformed to enhance its many quirky architectural features.Forty one bedrooms and suites, some with private terraces, have been carved out of the former University-owned building, alongside our trademark bistro with the first Hotel du Vin open-style kitchen and curiously labyrinthine cellar bar. Dating back in part to medieval times, Hotel du Vin Cambridge boasts a cosy library, private events room perfect for special occasions, meetings and events. The bistro and bar are available for residents, locals and visitors alike at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Cambridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel du Vin Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing