We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but not cheap”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Great location. Friendly staff. Chaotic service at breakfast on first day... orders lost despite multiple polite reminders. Standard room was OK, with very comfortable bed...but it did have a number of odd features : Only one side of the bed had a bedside lamp, so the other person had to read using the main room lights; the sold wooden bed frame sticks out beyond the mattress and is a toe-injury risk; the lighting in the bathroom is hopeless, with only down-lighters in ceiling - your face is cast into shadow if you approach the mirror. Also found the booking system strange, in that the confirmation email just confirms dates and does not give a reiteration of the cost or the room chosen. We could not remember what we had booked (standard / superior/ with or without breakfast etc.).
A pleasant weekend, but I do feel this hotel is a little overpriced ...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (921)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

512 - 518 of 921 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

We made a last minute decision to visit Cambridge over the Bank Holiday Weekend and booked one night at the Hotel Du Vin. Having read the previous reviews, we had two impressions. First, you either love a Hotel du Vin or you do not! Second, there are far too many reviews of the restaurant on the hotel's review page - rather than the restaurant's separate review page - from people who did not stay at the hotel!

We arrived at the hotel to a very warm welcome from a receptionist who came outside to meet us and offer to take our luggage. The car was taken away for valet parking, which was great value at £18 for 24 hours. (The complaints below about the price have obviously not worked out how much it would cost to park overnight in a city centre car park - which is also not secure nor as convenient as having the car taken away and brought back to you at the hotel door!)

The room was Veuve Clicquot - a superior room, which was very comfortable and clean. There was a comfortable King Size bed and the roll top bath in the room, but also a fabulous monsoon shower in the bathroom. No complaints at all about the room and the breakfast - and the service, throughout was first class. Thank you. We also enjoyed a few drinks in the lovely cellar bar, where the bar staff were equally impressive.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Please note this review is about the Brasserie and not the hotel.

We had gone into Cambridge to do some shopping and thought it would be nice to call in early and have a meal. We arrived at the restaurant just after 5.30pm and thus despite not having made a reservation I thought we should be fine as we could have our meal before later diners arrived.

The man who was at the desk when we entered did not appear to understand English very well and said the restaurant was fully booked. My partner was not impressed as the restaurant was virtually empty and we were just on the verge of leaving when one of the manager's approached us. We explained and the young lady said that it should be fine for us to have a table.

We were seated in a corner, but the table was at least tucked away. I ordered some sparkling water, which was served at room temperature, so I asked for some ice and lemon to be served as I like my water cold.

We were offered some bread, and 4 thin slices of baguette were served, which were fresh and warm, but in terms of portion size, rather on the mean side.

I ordered the French Onion Soup and my partner ordered the Moules Normande. The soup was served extremely hot, so hot in fact that you could not taste it. My partner's Moules looked good, and he certainly enjoyed them.

For main course I ordered the Cod and Puy lentils and my partner ordered the Sole Meunière. My cod was very disappointing, it was only about two inches square. It had no flavour and clearly lacked seasoning and was overpowered by the Puy lentils, and sauce, which was quite strongly flavoured. The lentils were also somewhat undercooked for my liking. My partner's sole looked well presented, but was in fact somewhat undercooked, which made the fish difficult to remove from the bones. The heritage potatoes looked rather odd to me and had a strange taste. The peas were much better, but at £4.00 a portion, both were overpriced.

Desserts again were rather mixed. The Tarte Tatin had a good flavour but was not caramelised as it should be. The Crepes Suzette was very disappointing. The Crepes were swimming in a puddle of orange juice with lumps of crystallised sugar - really not good! We both had a filter coffee, which tasted nice, but one cup had half as much coffee as the other.

Service was overall very slow and lacked finesse, and the young man who served most of the time again did not understand English, and thus it was quite difficult to make him understand. The Manageress was in our opinion lacking in warmth, and service seemed uncoordinated.

The meal, including a carafe of rose wine, and the dreaded 'optional' service charge - not sure how optional it is when the bill comes with it added on, came to over £110.00 and I have to say it simply was not worth the money. We also thought overall how rundown the areas of the hotel we visited were, and that they could do with being refurbished.

On the basis in our experience this evening I think it will be unlikely that we would wish to return unless we could be reassured that things had improved considerably.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Piers G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Spent a few days and was pleased with everything. We had a room to the back of the building with a free standing tub in the room, great for watching TV while you soak. Excellent food and best twice baked soufflé I have ever had. Did ask for the recipe, unfortunately, I never got it.

Room Tip: Some rooms of the hotel are not accessible by elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BABES1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Just got back from a one night stay in the Hotel du Vin in Cambridge with my partner after taking a short weekend break in the city, and from the moment we walked in the staff were extremely welcoming and hospitable. Our car was parked for us on arrival, which was extremely useful as I know that parking in Cambridge can often be expensive and tiresome. The room we stayed in was absolutely fantastic, it was near enough spotless, well maintained, and with lovely exposed wood features which really gave the room a sense of character you do not get with all hotels. Having not come with any particular plans, in the evening a lovely member of staff, Emily, talked us through a map of the city, recommending places which she thought we should visit the following day. Credit must also be given to the catering staff for providing such a wide selection of food at breakfast while maintaining such a high standard, it was truly delicious. Very much looking forward to our next trip to Cambridge and this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

From the moment we arrived at the hotel our stay was special , a warm greeting from the lovely team in reception we were shown to our room that we had been upgraded to .... Mad fish which is a beautiful studio suite with a beautiful roll top bath in the room ! We were also greeted with a personalised welcome note ! Our nights stay was quite expensive but with the room upgrade was worth every penny ! Car was taken away and valet parked service from start to finish superb with hotel having a lovely relaxed atmosphere ! Wonderful hotel will be back again !,

Room Tip: Mad fish studio suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusieC35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I've stayed at Hotel Du Vin twice on businesstrips and hope to come back. A true boutique hotel with great rooms that all seem to vary and you definitely get a very cosy feeling and the staff is very friendly. Breakfast is excellent (have not had dinner there yet).

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Nick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,416 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,835 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
436 reviews
0.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
2.1 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 36 in Cambridge
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Cambridge

Address: Trumpington Street, Cambridge, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range: £144 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful hotel in Cambridge city centre was a former University-owned building on Trumpington Street which has been transformed to enhance its many quirky architectural features.Forty one bedrooms and suites, some with private terraces, have been carved out of the former University-owned building, alongside our trademark bistro with the first Hotel du Vin open-style kitchen and curiously labyrinthine cellar bar. Dating back in part to medieval times, Hotel du Vin Cambridge boasts a cosy library, private events room perfect for special occasions, meetings and events. The bistro and bar are available for residents, locals and visitors alike at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Cambridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vin Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing