We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful room and great bar!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful room and great bar!”
Reviewed 20 July 2009

I stayed here with collagues and clients and we had a great time.
There were 27 of us during the day so teh conference room was a bit snug but suitable.
The food in the evening was nice although I was surprised that we had to have a fixed menu. And it wasn't as special as i'd hoped. The bar was great, brilliant cocktails and nice atmosphere.
We were well looked after.
The rooms were fantastic, I think I was in a rather more expensive one, having a bath in the main room and massive double walk through shower. The bed was huge and comfortable. I would love to try the others around the country - if only work would pay each time!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    277
    151
    76
    28
See reviews for
91
488
33
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2009

I think Hotel Du Vin Cambridge is rated #1 in Cambridge on TripAdvisor simply because there is no competition in Cambridge.

Having had a wonderful stay at the Du Vin in Edinburgh, we had high expectations of the Du Vin in Cambridge, but were disappointed.

Firstly, staff were cold and dismissive. For example, a request for a table at the hotel restaurant for dinner was met by:

"we're full and you'll have to check with reception for any bookings for tomorrow night".

With three staff members standing around the entrance of the restaurant, you would have expected they could either check the bookings themselves or offer to pop accross the hallway to reception on our behalf. They lost that booking and we choose to eat elsewhere both nights we stayed at the hotel.

Secondly, the rooms are noisy. We were in the "Penfolds" room, one up from a basic room. Although the interior of the room was great, with a king sized bed, the windows aren't double glazed and you get noise from the courtyard below.

In addition, the bedhead is against the hallway wall, so your head is literally next to the corridor. Forget about having a sleep-in, you get noise from slamming doors and guests walking down the corridors. The fact that it's an older building with creaking floors doesn't help the noise issue.

Thirdly, the room we were in wasn't private. Both the bedroom and bathroom had windows looking across into the building opposite (a univeristy lab by the looks of it). Strangly, there were no privacy (guaze-style) curtains, only one standard cloth blind. Tough luck if you want to lounge around in your bathrobe or get changed or anything else that you don't want the world to see!!!!

The upside is:
- a gorgeous bathroom with bath and rain showerhead and underfloor heating;
- free wi-fi
- the location is is also good, being central; and
- the bed is comfortable and large.

However, I would expect better value for 170 pounds per night and parking on top of that.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tistybus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcliff On Sea
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2009

We stayed in this hotel for one night at the end of June. We booked a small standard double and were pleasantly surprised by the adequate size of the room. Each room has an individual name and our's was called Louis Jadot (never heard of him until then but have now seen the name on a bottle of wine that we were drinking at home!) The view was of air conditioning units, but we did not expect a great view with the level of room that we booked. The room was comfortable as was the bed. There was adequate hanging space for a few days, although if we were staying for longer I would have appreciated a bit more. It had an iron and board and dressing gowns.The bathroom was lovely with good toiletries, and a great monsoon shower over the bath, if I was elderly or disabled I might have found it difficult to climb in and out of the deep bath.
We ate in the bistro at the hotel and we enjoyed the food. The sommelier was splendid and certainly does his job well. I was a little disappointed in the choice for breakfast from a hotel of this calibre, but what was on offer was good. The staff were pleasant and helpful. There was no room in the hotel car park but we were able to park at another hotel nearby for £12 for 24 hours. We enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HilaryBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
660 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,027 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2009

Nice hotel, there are better Du Vin's. Reception was fine, nice decor and paintings, room was of an average size, very dark indeed, nice bathroom. The bar is in the basement, had a large choices of fine wines. The parking is very difficult indeed, the hotel will not allocate a space, first come first served.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sea98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2009

This was my second stay at the Cambridge Hotel du Vin. First, the real pluses: The linens, bathroom and service are all top notch and the corridors / library appropriately quirky. The many-alcoved bar is modern and appealing. The late night porters deserve particular mention for their courtesy, efficiency and thoughtfulness.

So what's wrong? Very little, I'd just suggest the manager actually replicates a customer stay in a room. Hopefully he/she would then realise that the configuration and lighting of the rooms doesn't quite work - for example, there are just not enough surfaces and it's impossible to watch tv from the armchair (juggling your drink as there's no table within reach!). Whilst they're there, they may also spot the odd missing light bulb and bits of missed cleaning. Also, the in-room coffee (and fresh milk - great touch, full marks) was wonderful - why then was the bistro coffee so weak and burnt and toast cold (this wasn't a one off)?

I'll be back and I'd recommend it to others, but it's so close to being great, yet just manages not to be (not yet anyway - it's eminently fixable

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SEGLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London , UK
Level Contributor
107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2009

We have stayed at various Hotels in this group and always found them to be of a high standard. Unfortunately our experience at the Hotel du VIn Cambridge suggests its on the slide. Firstly the reception area was being re-decorated. I think a good hotel should warn guests if thats the case. My daughter was going to one of the University Balls and the 'caution wet paint' on black interiors gave us all a fright.

While we waited for our room we sat in the freezing library. The air conditioning had been left on despite a drop in temperature outside. We had coffee and asked for biscuits or snacks, but a slice of fruitcake was all they had.

But more importantly - the room wasnt at all what you'd expect for £170. It was big enough, but basically just drab and ill thought out. The wardrobe was tiny. One side contained a fridge, mini-bar, tray with kettle and glasses. That took up every shelf. On the hanging side there was a hairdryer, iron & ironing board, and a pile of phone directories. There simply wasnt anywhere to put our clothes and we were only staying for 1 night!

The furniture didnt look like it was meant to be in the room. The bedside tables didnt match, there was a very small TV which looked out of place, and they'd pushed the standard lamp behind a chair which as well as looking awful, didnt work. On top of this the windows were filthy, and the windowboxes had been completely neglected. They were full of parched soil but for one dying primrose.

I complained to Reception and said I'd like someone to come and see the room and explain where I was meant to put my clothes. 45 minutes later I had to phone again and the Receptionist said they had forgotten to tell the Manager. He arrived 5 minutes later and was very nice, explained that they'd had similar complaints about the wardrobe, and knocked £35 off our room rate. He assured me the food would more than make up for it. You go to Hotel du Vin for the food, after all.

Unfortunately the food was below standard too. The starter ( scallops with pork belly & apple puree) was good. The main course (roasted vegetable & balsamic tart) was an unappetising pile of aubergine on a slice of puff pastry and a pile of salad leaves. No thought had gone in to it and it lacked any interest or flare.

On a more positive side, the staff were all very helpful indeed, the valet parking was efficient, and the breakfast was good.

On balance it was simply over-priced. Our final bill for the room (with the Manager's discount), dinner for 2 including wine was over £250. For a midweek stay in a mediocre hotel is ridiculous. For a sumptuous, well planned, luxurious room, in a quality hotel with good public areas and a reliable menu, it would have been expensive! I am sorry to say we wont be back.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nashes_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2009

We stayed here for a couple of nights and had a room overlooking the road at the front. The bins are emptied very early in the morning so no need to book a wake up call. The room itself was clean and modern, bathroom facilities good although not enough hooks for hanging towelling robe by the shower and there is no towel rail at all next to the rather silly hand sink.The hotel is ideally situated for access to the centre of cambridge and for walking to the station.
The bistro restaurant attached to the hotel was very disappointing the prices high the food average and the service slow.The sommelier's practice of tasting the wine before bringing it to the table is OLD FASHIONED nonsense. It is rude and implies that they think the customer knows nothing about wine.Well get over it!! I watched incredulous as bottle after bottle was opened away from the table and tasted by the sommelier....even the screw caps.I am paying the bill i will tell YOU if the wine is satisfactory not the other way around.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madeira492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
0.2 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
2.1 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Cambridge

Property: Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Address: Trumpington Street, Cambridge, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful hotel in Cambridge city centre was a former University-owned building on Trumpington Street which has been transformed to enhance its many quirky architectural features.Forty one bedrooms and suites, some with private terraces, have been carved out of the former University-owned building, alongside our trademark bistro with the first Hotel du Vin open-style kitchen and curiously labyrinthine cellar bar. Dating back in part to medieval times, Hotel du Vin Cambridge boasts a cosy library, private events room perfect for special occasions, meetings and events. The bistro and bar are available for residents, locals and visitors alike at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Cambridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel du Vin Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing