We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Nearby Hotels
US$246
US$236
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$306
US$277
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Lensfield(Cambridge)
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
US$124
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Cambridge(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
US$115
US$112
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Felix(Cambridge)
US$168
US$157
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Cambridge Orchard Park(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
US$68
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Regent Hotel(Cambridge)
US$209
US$168
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
US$68
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (978)
Filter reviews
978 results
Traveller rating
368
305
177
89
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
368
305
177
89
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscellar barcinema suitewolf blassvalet parkingroll top bathmonsoon showernespresso machinefitzwilliam museumsuperior roomunderfloor heatingmini barbirthday treatkings collegea lovely staywalk in showerreception staffstayed for one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
845 - 850 of 978 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2011

This could be nice if you have tea in the Library. If that is booked you are in the basement
which is not the right place for tea in the afternoon. Tea is provided in packets in a box and the water comes separately in a pot which is not the right way to make tea. The staff were very accommodating in making a 'proper' pot of tea but they still used tea bags. At Hotel du vin prices they should provide proper tea and know how to make it.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frances027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

I so wanted to like Hotel du Vin - which makes it all the worse. The only reason it gets one star from me for 'sleep quality' is because it seems impossible to give none at all. I DIDN'T sleep. The thunderous air-con units outside the window made that quite impossible. I bailed-out and read in the library - and may have dozed once or twice - for 6 hours. If I'd had any sense I'd have walked over the road to the hotel opposite (? name) and checked-in there, although that may have raised eyebrows at 1.00am Sunday morning! But for the valet parking - so the car was out of reach - I might have driven home - but most likely I was too tired/had too much to drink to do so safely.
I think the trick may be to avoid rooms facing onto the inner courtyard, but I've no means to know whether others are any quieter.
Otherwise (!) this isn't all bad, but it's certainly expensive for what you get. The cellar wine bar is fine, and there you can drink sensible, sensibly-priced varietal wines (or cocktails/beers/softs) in fair comfort. The main restaurant I didn't experience at dinner as we were a private party but food and service in a private room were good.
Unhappily the sensible cellar wine list doesn't carry over into the restaurant and here the list is absurdly over-elaborate - and appears over-priced. Unless you really know wine, really really, you will be lost, and at £40 + for most bottles [little below £30] a mistake is going to hurt! So you ask the sommelier - but assuming he knows his stuff, does he know your tastes? And of course he and the cellarage are part of the reason you are paying so much.
Noise aside, the room was nice, tidy, clean, nicely decorated but quite small and wouldn't do well for a business stay. Whatever else, this isn't a business hotel.
Breakfast [eyes held open by matchsticks!] didn't greatly impress, as to content or presentation, particularly at the price. A pot of tea was slow to arrive, not very hot and seemed made with not enough - and cheap - tea-bags. Crockery industrial. Jam in communal jars. Hmm!
I am trying to be positive! Staff friendly, trompe l'oeil murals fun. [Has the painted girly in reception with her skirt open still got her nicks on or not?] Library settee comfy, some good books! But I'd much have preferred a quiet bed!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Eric51_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here . There is a wine bar and an easy style about the hotel . It is located on the main street in Cambridge and is within easy reach of all the colleges and local points of interest . The staff are a bit uneven but appear to have a strong core who pick up and correct the weak links . We were snubbed at check out and made to wait 25 minutes for our valet but the follow up was excellent and we left in good spirit , well done front desk .

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lacosteman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2011

Fantastic location in a wonderful city. Welcome reception and well appointed interior. However, the restaurant service was appalling. On arriving for dinner on time my fiancee and i discovered that our table had been given away. We were asked to wait downstairs in the bar for half an hour until another became available. Again, on returning our replacement table was sold on again so a further ten minutes wait. When finally seated, on selecting our white wine the sommelier presented the bottle then i watched him walk off with it across the restaurant, look around then open it and proceed to pour himself a small glass and drank it! On returning he was most affronted when i asked him for a fresh unopened bottle please! He claimed he was "testing it" for us then begrudgingly uncorked a new one in front of us this time. He then conducted his role for the rest of the meal in a supercilious sulk. With no apology and much arrogance, this behaviour tainted what was otherwise a marvellous weekend to celebrate our engagement. Along with that bottle costing five times high-street shop price, we expected sky-high service for sky-high prices.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hilly23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2010

Just a one night stay but it was excellent. The room was first class with all the usual extras. The staff were very welcoming and there were just no complaints or problems

One or two aspects:

There is no where to park and unload. However, people just seem to park right outside on double yellow lines! The web site doesn't tell you but there is valet parking. Within less than a minute your car is taken away and parked. This cost £16. However, this is almost a bargain because it is cheaper than the near by shopping car park charges.


I have suspected that you tend to get the poorest room if you book through a hotel booking site. In this case the hotel's web site was cheaper and I booked directly with it and the room was great.

Breakfast isn't included in many prices. Don't pay high prices just go next door to Brown's, a legendary restaurant in it's own right, and get breakfast for half the price

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woodc0te
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews