We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very dissapointing” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant 22

Restaurant 22
Ranked #52 of 678 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$43 - US$119
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very dissapointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We went to Restaurant 22 with very high hopes based on other reviews. Instead of experiencing a perfect evening it turned out to be quite a stressful experience. The restaurant is tired, the décor old and not looking great. Tables are so closed that we had to climb out of our chairs. There is no drinks menu so I had just orange juice and they do not serve cocktails. If you want to drink something, you need to each time ask member of staff if they have it, which is highly annoying. The food is just average and hugely overpriced and the service is very slow. The starter (pigeon) was just OK but the chicken in the main was dry and tasteless and the cake on the end was dry and tasteless too. The cutlery was old and knifes not sharp enough, the glasses were not clean properly. The waitress serving us knocked with her bottom our drinks and they spilled all over the table, and she even did not apologize. We wanted another table but we were told they are full and they do not have spare table. It took them quite a while to clean this one but the man who was doing this was really rude like it was our fault. They lady's loo was quite dirty and smelly. They try to be fancy, posh restaurant but at the best they are just amateurish. The staff is extremely rude, it is too noisy there and too squeeze. I surly will not go there again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Carys77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArmandoTommaso, Owner at Restaurant 22, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Carys.........Sorry Carys and Edward B -May I firstly say that I have never seen reviews from the SAME TABLE so I shall reply to you both. We obviously fell very short on both of your expectations and I can ensure you (and anybody reading this) that we try to maintain a high level of both food and service at all times. The waitress did indeed knock over the drink on your table and she was very upset that she did so - she come over with a complimentary drink and an apology - we could not move you to another table as we were indeed fully booked for that evening. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your evening here with us. Armando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    70
    45
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“a spoilt evening”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

a very disappointing evening...tables so close together we had to climb out of our chairs...food was merely average but with pretensions...the waitress serving an adjacent table knocked my companions drinks over...i had to insist the table was re-laid...at best the service was enthusiastically amateurish...on paying, the card machine would not connect because the other one was in use...a very poor experience and not to be repeated...a total waste of £128....

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArmandoTommaso, Owner at Restaurant 22, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Carys.........Sorry Carys and Edward B -May I firstly say that I have never seen reviews from the SAME TABLE so I shall reply to you both. We obviously fell very short on both of your expectations and I can ensure you (and anybody reading this) that we try to maintain a high level of both food and service at all times. The waitress did indeed knock over the drink on your table and she was very upset that she did so - she come over with a complimentary drink and an apology - we could not move you to another table as we were indeed fully booked for that evening. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your evening here with us. Armando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic dinner experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We had a lovely evening at Restaurant 22 after being recommended by a work colleague.

A unique setting in a Georgian house' lounge room - ambience warmed as it filled, and it did fill and I bet it always does.

Food was fantastic, wine was great, service good too. It seemed a single seating to take your time, and we were in no hurry to leave.

I'm delighted they have a monthly menu change, gives us an excuse to go back again!

Our best dinner in Cambridge to date!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bradley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Excellent meal. I really enjoyed my swordfish carpaccio and pressed rabbit. My wife loved her chocolate and lavender dessert. Will definitely go again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RDSCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Unexpected surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Visited with friends for dinner on Saturday night and chose this restaurant to try it out. I was pleasantly surprised at how it was. We were upstairs by the window and the service was welcoming and attentive with great food and good wines. Very good evening and will definitely come again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jostony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant 22 also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Restaurant 22? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing