We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New menu and a spruce up”
Review of Browns-Cambridge

Browns-Cambridge
Ranked #161 of 689 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: US$9 - US$31
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At Browns, we believe there's no better cuisine in the world than British cooking, done well. That's why we're dedicated to serving and celebrating the very best of British food and drink. To help you discover and enjoy the great variety and quality of food that exists right here, on our doorstep. We've combed the British Isles for the finest ingredients, dishes and produce available. From north to south, from farm to seaside, from the past to the present.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“New menu and a spruce up”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Came here for lunch last week, determined to give the place one last chance after a particularly poor breakfast experience a couple of months ago. We'd complained on that previous occasion and were given a discount to use on our next visit, so along we went. A note had been made in their diary that we had complained so it's probably not surprising that the staff were overly attentive and trying hard to keep us happy. I'd hope that they pay that much attention to all their diners but, from previous experience, I'll reserve judgement.

However, the dining area definitely looks spruced-up and the menu is new (variations on the previous theme of course). We received the aforementioned attentive service and ate lovely tasty food, although they did mess up our order. One of us ordered from the set lunch menu but the waitress misunderstood and brought a similar sounding starter dish instead. Initially, we just thought the dish was a bit small for a lunch but half way through realised that it must be a mistake. The waitress confirmed the mistake.

It was all dealt with adequately (rather than well) but we had to question the bill at the end of the meal because it didn't seem right considering our discount. It's a shame that the mistakes happened because it would have been a good meal otherwise- it's also a little worrying that these things happen even when the staff are being especially attentive. Makes you wonder how many mistakes are made when it's busy...

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ck0001054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    465
    305
    210
    156
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Excellent food and efficient friendly service. We had Pork Belly and Fish cakes, both meals were lovely. Excellent Wine selection too. I agree with an earlier reviewer that the only slight issue is that we were a little crammed in. Overall experience very good though.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevla11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Awlad M, Manager at Browns-Cambridge, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Hi,
Thank you so much for your review! I am glad to hear you had a good time here at Browns Cambridge. The food on the new menu is lovely and the salted pork belly is a personal favourite of mine. We do appreciate the feedback on the table layouts and are working on this to make sure you will have plenty of space next time.
Thank you again for the encouraging comments and we hope to see you again soon!
Kind regards,
Awlad Miah
Manager
Browns Cambridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield Heath, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hadn't been for a while...”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Gave Brown's a miss for a couple of years after one average meal followed by a terrible one. Surprised to say at how different it was. All new menu for food and drinks, with a wide range of choice all sourced locally. Service was good again but that has never changed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Awlad M, Manager at Browns-Cambridge, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Joe,
Thank you so much for your review! It is so lovely to hear you had a good time with us. I am glad you gave us another try. We are working very hard to make sure we get this menu right every time.
I am also happy to hear that you recognized the hard work our servers put in so that you can always have a lovely time at Browns Cambridge. I will pass this on to the team and they will be very happy for your feedback.
Hope to see you again soon!
Kind regards,
Awlad Miah
Manager
Browns Cambridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Seating areas”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Booked a couple of days before.On arrival had drinks in the bar served by a very cheerfull and efficient young lady. Went to the desk to sign in, we were then taken back to a table on the bar area! My husband asked for another table in the restaurant and we were quickly shown to one. If we had not booked and had just walked in off the street, and had really wanted to eat there at such a busy time, and had been given this table, it would have been acceptable even though it's in an awkward position.We noticed a couple who came in after us did get seated there they did not seem too happy! However the meal and service were great. The selection of breads and dips on a sharing platter were delicious.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Awlad M, Manager at Browns-Cambridge, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Rebecca,
Thank you so much for your comments. I am pleased to hear you had a good visit with us and enjoyed the food and drink.
I am sorry about the issues you had with seating. We do try our best to accommodate you if you wish to change the table that was allocated to you. Also, if you make a request as to where you would like to sit when you book we will do our best to make that happen.
I hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Awlad Miah
Manager
Browns Cambridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food just a bit more space please”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Myself and a friend had dinner at Browns last night. Our waiter was great and v helpful, we enjoyed a couple of the lovely cocktails. I had the cod cheeks for starter which were really good and then the pork belly for main which I have to say was really very good. My friend had the pate and soup to start and the beetroot and goats cheese tatin for main and she was really pleased with both. The food was great and the service was also very good.

The only thing which we were not really happy about was the space, were we were sat was quite cramped and I could not sit opposite my friend as there was not enough room because of the table behind us. So if going, it's probably best to book in advance and ask for a table with a bit more space, alternatively Browns, you could just ditch a table or two?

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marisek19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Awlad M, Manager at Browns-Cambridge, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Hi!

Thank you so much for your very kind comments! I am so pleased that you enjoyed our food and company. We do work very hard here to make sure that our servers look after you well and our chefs prepare great food for you and your guests to enjoy. It is a shame that your seats would let the experience down.

It is a good point and we will have a look at maybe reshuffling a couple of the tables; the last thing we want is for you not to have enough space to enjoy your time with us!
I hope to see you again soon and do please ask if you would like to change tables when you come in. There are times when this is not possible (on a particularly busy night or if someone has already requested a particular table), but our team will try to make sure you are happy.

Many thanks again!
Kind regards,
Awlad Miah
Manager
Browns Cambridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Browns-Cambridge also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Browns-Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing