We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent enough” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wrestlers Pub

Wrestlers Pub
Ranked #12 of 677 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$16
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Decent enough”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

This pub is a on a busy road by the superstores and doesn't look like much from the outside, but we received a friendly welcome when visiting for lunch midweek.

The thai food menu was pretty extensive. Beer was decent, and the food arrived quickly. I enjoyed the prawn crackers, and the food wasn't bad though the chicken tasted a bit weird and flavourless. I would have preferred it if it would have been authentically stir fried. I would go back but its not 5*

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    163
    30
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful Thai food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

My husband and I stopped here for lunch after church one Sunday. The atmosphere of the pub was quiet at the time, but it began to fill up during our meal. The restaurant was clean and the employees were extremely kind.

We both ordered the Chicken Stir Fry with Chilli and absolutely loved it! My plate was entirely clean after the meal. We did not order beer for this particular meal, but noticed they have a great selection. The only drawback we saw was that the beer is rather expensive; however, we are American and are still getting used to the price differences for products in the UK. So it may be priced reasonably for the area. The portion size of food is generous and every plate we saw come out of the kitchen looked tasty.

The service was timely and the food was delicious. This is a great option for couples, friends and families (the have several kids meals to chose from)!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nathan-Lindsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level Contributor
104 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Yum !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I hadn't been to this place in ages but was really pleased with the quality of the food and the portions were really nice . It is a rare achievement to have been going all of these years and still serving up good food at decent prices, also the prawn crackers are a must , spicy as hell, no mass produced rubbish here

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank casarob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Top shelf Thai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

My husband and I visited the "Wrestler's Pub" last night for dinner. On our walk up we noticed the sign on the outside of the building "Cask Ales and Thai Kitchen". which I think is a great combo but one we would never see in Canada I don't think! :) Their website says that they were the first pub in Cambridge to serve Thai food.
The lady at the Bar was very friendly and we ordered our drinks and meals. Prawn Pud Thai , (we say Pad, they say Pud, tom-a-to, tom-ah-to) , and Chicken Panang Curry. The food took a little longer to arrive at the table than we are used to and we commented at the time that it would be worth it if it were cooked fresh and tasty....and.....it was. The serving portions were large. We shared both dishes and still had enough for lunch for one the next day. Lots of chicken in the Panang with coconut milk, basil leaves and onions, really nice dish. The Pud Thai was probably the best I've ever had. The noodles were cooked to perfection and had the smoky taste of the grill/wok, crisp and colourful vegetables definitely prepared with care.
For two dishes and two pints (one cider/one beer) the bill came to about $50 Canadian which is a bit more than we usually pay in Canada, but....it was very, very good and we'd totally go back.The cooks in the kitchen deserve a bow.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Decent (and Reasonably Priced) Thai Food in Cambridge, Handy for League 2 Football”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Decent Thai food (prepared by Thai staff).
Reasonably priced (better value than the Bangkok City restaurant).
Handy location for any hungry football fans en route to Cambridge United FC

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank willmeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wrestlers Pub also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Wrestlers Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing